We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pierre Lys(Quillan)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
La Chaumiere(Quillan)
US$80
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cartier(Quillan)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Les Arcades(Limoux)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
244
128
41
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
128
41
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivermedieval castlecentral courtyardboth nightsset menumain coursespiral staircaseexpensive hotelswimming pool isno elevatoran excellent restaurantair conditioningmodern comfortstraditional frenchhot weatherevening mealstone walls
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 429 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

We visited this hotel for the first time for our wedding anniversary and we were delighted with our stay! WE stayed in a tower room (108) with huge thick walls. Decor in the room was dark wood and in keeping with the theme. Bathroom was large, modern and bright. This hotel is such a treat for anyone interested in architecture and history. Beautiful courtyard which we were able to dine in for the evening. Food quality and service: outstanding. We were absolutely thrilled with the menu choice and the wines as suggested from our host (the owner). Service perfectly attentive but never overbearing. Breakfast was of a high quality with everything you could need and more. This was served inside due to drizzle but the room was themed and bright. The swimming pool is very modern with extremely comfortable sun loungers by the river. We were initially a little concerned that there may be traffic noise from the main road but this was not the case, even though our room was on the road side of the castle but with a nice view of the Aude river. A real treat and it has a wine cave where you can find some excellent local wines to take away. We would highly recommend a stay here. Very friendly on reception too.

Room Tip: 108 tower room is full of atmosphere - and a little scary at night so you need to be brave!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent N, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Jon E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are very sensible to your enthusiastic comments and are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful castle.
We sincerely hope to welcome you on another occasion and wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Old castle converted to modern hotel, but old characteristics and architecture are maintained.
Outdoor swimming pool for the kids to enjoy.
Romantic atmosphere.
Dinner is served in an old dining hall with vaulted ceilings. Lovely, true ancient setting.
Breakfast is served in the courtyard weather permitting.
Food served of high quality. Michelin standard.
Service level highly professional.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dag W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent N, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Dear Dag W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome your again soon.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

We've just returned from our second stay at the Chateau. As before we were welcomed in and instantly relaxed. The food was delicious and breakfasts are a vast array of options , all delicious and fresh. The pool is clean and tidy with loungers in or out of the blazing sun. We had a room overlooking the river and this led to a soothing night with the water burbling in the background. If you were ever a guest at the owners previous hotel ,The Roseraie in Montignac, Dordogne ,do go hear as you wont be disappointed !

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent N, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Dear sueaconstable,

thank you for your wonderful review.
we hope to see you again next year.
wishing you a pleasant summer.
yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Beautiful place: the castle is authentic and yet very comfortable. The owners provide an excellent welcome and many good advises in several European languages. The restaurant is as good as the hotel, which is a great asset in the region.

Room Tip: No air conditioning in the rooms can be an issue in hot summer conditions.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank franckenforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent N, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016
Google Translation

Dear franckenforce,

Nous tenons à vous remercier sincèrement pour ce chaleureux commentaire.
Encore merci de nous être fidèle et au plaisir de vous accueillir pour votre prochain séjour.

Cordialement.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Though I found the grounds to be lovely with the river running along side the property, I cannot recommend the Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse. The front desk greeter emphatically told us we must have dinner at the Chateau, as there were no other restaurants in town or nearby. That was absolutely false! We dined at the Chateau and were disappointed in the lack of flavor in our meals. The Chateau needs to train its staff on honesty.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
2  Thank bodo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent N, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear bodo77,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.
We are taking care of all our guests. Indeed as we are refusing tables every night in our Restaurant during this main holliday period, we are trying to avoid any disappointment of not finding another restaurant in our Couiza...
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews