We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will definately stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will definately stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a ski holiday, staying at the Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc. The hotel is ideally positioned near to the ski lift which was a pleasant 5 minute stroll away. The ski bus stops outside the hotel if you prefer not to walk and ran frequently throughout the day. We were very pleased with the hotel room, although small, we had a private balcony which was great as the weather was sunny every day. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and a wonderful hairdryer in the bathroom which was excellent. I always take a small travel dryer on holiday as I am never impressed with the fitted ones usually installed in hotels, but I never used it! Frederick the hotel manager was extremely helpful and friendly throughout out stay and kindly organised a day out for us to the Vallee Blanche with a Megeve ski guide who collected and dropped us off at the hotel. Frederick was extremely knowledgeable about the whole area and always had time to chat with us. We had opted for the half board option which we were extremely glad we had taken. The food was wonderful! with a good choice of local dishes all of which were beautifully cooked and presented. Frederick even arranged for a special birthday cake for me on our last night - Myrtle tarte complete with candle! Absolutely gorgeous with the lightest pastry ever. We sampled the local Red and Rose wines which were very good. Thank you Frederick and your wonderful chef. We were both very impressed with the ski lockers in the basement which are all allocated to your room number, so your room key fits the lockers. Inside there was enough room for two sets of skis and poles and heated boot warmers for 2 sets of boots. As the weather was so good, we both used the outside jacuzzi on returning to the hotel after skiing. Very relaxing and great for tired legs at the end of the day. We are both looking forward to returning to the Hotel Liberty again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    91
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
45
88
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend of skitouring in the area. The hotel is simple and the rooms small, but it is clean and has some good features, like a boot drier in the ski locker.
Saint Gervais is a good alternative to Chamonix if you want a smaller, more village like place to stay. There are a few good bars and restaurants in town. The hotel is a short walk from "downtown" Saint Gervais.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very friendly, clean and warm. Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast hit the mark. Within 5 minutes walk to the main lift station and 10 minutes walk into town in the evening. Excellent for family orientated holiday. Pool table in the lounge to keep kids amused, friendly bar area for the adults. Good boot room for ski and boot storage. Handy ski hire shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodyoung47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

we stayed 4 nights and were very pleased. We felt it was better than we expected for a 2 star hotel. The rooms were small but very pleasant with wooden floors and ceilings and a very comfortable bed. The whole place had a quaint authentic French atmosphere and Frederick, the manager, was friendly and chatty. He allowed us to change our room arrangement when we arrived and we ate half board. The food was very tasty and Varied. Some typically French dishes but also some British too. I would recommend this option as it was easy and tasty. there is a little boulangerie across the road from the hotel where we bought our lunch each day and the staff were delightfully cheerful. they allowed us to try our pigeon French which was very amusing. The hotel was about 2 to 3 minutes from the ski lift and we hired our skis from the middle station at Bettex above the village where we also had a locker. This worked very well. We would happily return next year and the sking range available was excellent. A hidden gem.

Room Tip: Front rooms had a bath with overhead shower, room at back of hotel had shower only. Some street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The hotel is in a nice part of Saint Gervais. It has a parking space and an indoor swimming pool and sauna. There was the possibility to have breakfast but we chose for the room-only formula.
The room is quite small but clean and tidy. Bathroom is clean and functional. I would say that the overall stay was positive. Chamonix is only 20 minutes driving from the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a clean plainly furnished (pine wood and tiled floor). It was a reasonable size and our bathroom was a decent size. There is a nice pool area with great views of the overlooking mountains. There's also a small comfortable bar area. The breakfast was good and the packed lunch for our trek they provided was good. The staff were helpful. As a 2 star I would rate it as a 4

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have been several times to this hotel because Frederick the manager always makes us very welcome. He speaks English fluently having been to college in England. Since he arrived he has started to upgrade the rooms each year.

We always have a double room on the top floor overlooking Mont Blanc, so noise has nver been an issue. The shower is always powerful and hot after a day of skiing. The room is small but perfectly adequate and there is now BBC and ITV on the flat screen tvs. The 3 course meal each night in the restaurant is very good and we always choose a local wine from their list. The breakfast is excellent with fresh orange juice, fresh bread and croissants, meats, cheeses and bolied eggs.

The hotel is an excellent position - two minutes walk to the cable car (which connects you to the Megeve ski area) and walking distane into town. Plus it is only 1 hour 20 from Geneva airport.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.3 km away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#2 of 17 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#4 of 17 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#9 of 17 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#3 of 17 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
#7 of 17 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 km away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 17 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc

Property: Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Address: 734 avenue du Mont D Arbois, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 stars with bar, restaurant, lounge, sauna, swimming pool, garden and private car park. Ideal for skiing, Sites seeing Mountain biking, hiking, Spa vacations and other mountain activities. Located at 250 meters of the hiking footpaths and gondola of the Evasion Mount Blanc (445 km of slopes) and 5 min with foot from the village of St Gervais. The rooms all are equipped with shower or bathroom, LCD TV with satellite and DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mont Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing