We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, good internet, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fischen im Allgau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I stayed here during a recent retreat for business. Overall I was really impressed and enjoyed the hotel. It’s part of a chain of hotels (Explorer) which I have never heard of or stayed at before, but for sure would consider in the future. Had the location been slightly better would have given it 5 stars.

In terms of service, I found it very great. Check-in/check-out was a breeze and there is a good bar with friendly service from staff who were willing to stay open late even though we were the only group there. There’s a good range of top local beers as well! Also it seems they do bike rentals in the summer - I saw some very modern looking mountain bikes hanging in lockers, and if I'd had some more time this would have been high on my to do list.

The rooms are very clean, well laid out with a strong Wi-Fi connection. I stayed on the top floor and there was a nifty rooftop window which gave really nice light and had electronic shutters that ensured a good dark room despite early morning light. Shower pressure was great (sometimes a problem in Europe on multi-level buildings) and the bed comfortable.

For those without a car, the location may be a little out of the way. But you're within 5-15 minutes driving of all attractions, so its pretty convenient. There's also a McDonalds right next door which may or may not be an advantage depending on your culinary tastes.

Overall, a good hotel for a reasonable price. If I'm back in the area I would for sure consider staying here again and will look out for the Explorer chain of hotels in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hello,
thank you so much for your great review and your nice words about hotel and staff. We are happy that you like the concept of the Explorer hotels and enjoyed your stay with us.
The Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf is situated between Oberstdorf and Fischen and a great spot to start in lots of outdoor activities. If you are looking for a bike to rent, the perfect hike route or another adventure we are happy to help and find something special for everyone.
We are looking forward to welcome you again, warm regards,
Stephanie and the Explorer Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed 3 nights for a business seminar; loved the relaxed and sporty atmosphere; everything has been thought through to be simple, functional, eco friendly yet nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly, at the reception, the bar, the kitchen and the cleaning ladies. They organise some fun and clever team building activities. A very good spot!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 90FAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hello,

thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your seminar in Oberstdorf.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Stephanie and the Explorer Hotel Buddies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel in the middle of Allgäu mountains
This hotel is mainly for biking freaks in Summer and for skining in winter
Very modern hotel nice rooms
Good breakfast you can cook and fry yous eggs/Omlet alone
Very friendly staff, i will come again here for sure

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank OZG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Dear OZG80,

thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time with us.
Hope to see you soon, best regards,

Stephanie and the Explorer Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Really nice hotel. Simple and stylish design. Love the colors: grey, green, violet. Rooms are rather small, but it was fine since we stayed only 2 nights
Guys at reception are fantastic and super friendly: you feel at home right after the arrival. Location very good: on the road leading to skiing area (some 5-10 minutes drive from the hotel). 5 minutes drive to the town center.
In case I ever come to Oberstdorf, will not be looking for another accommodation - for sure booking Explorer again-)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CroCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Greetings from Oberstdorf ;)
Thank you so much for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time skiing. By the way, Oberstdorf-Kleinwalsertal is the biggest skiing area in Germany.
See you soon, best regards,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I stayed here with my son for a snowboarding vacation. The place is very stylish and has a modern look which I liked very much. The lobby and bar area are nice to bring people together. Kids were able to play computer games together. Not sure why people comment on the lack of a true restaurant because the hotel does not claim there is one. You can have a drink at the bar and get sandwiches. I saw families receiving pizza orders from places in Town which they ate in the bar area.

We were probably lucky to have a room which gives to the backside. Not sure what the noise level is on the other side. Parking is not an issue, staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very nice and offers a great choice. Being able to fry your own eggs and bacon is a fun feat.

I will not give an "excellent" rating for the following reasons:
- location - not walking distance from resorts (but easy to reach via car or bus stop at the hotel)
- fitness room only has 3 cardio equipment, no weights or exercise machines (but there is a gym called In Form just 5 minutes by car which you can use for 10 Euro)
- price is upper end to me

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Dear Chris,

thank you for your great review. Perfect, that you and your son enjoyed your stay and had a good time at the hotel.
Hope to see you soon,
Stephi and the Explorer Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

The hotel delivers what it promises and if all 3 star hotels were the same, that would be great. Located a bit outside the city, so car is essential. The room was clean, tidy and quiet. In fact I hardly heard any of the other guests. Hotel seeks to be stylish and achieves it with a low key, simple and modern design. Breakfast Buffett was ok, too - if you fancy a typical German breakfast, you won't miss a lot, not even different types of breads.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citruschill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Guest,

we are really glad about your positive feedback. Yes, you’re right we have german breakfast with 70 regional products.
One of our products are the many sorts of german bread.
We hope to see you soon in one of our explorer hotels.
Yours faithfully
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Explorer hotel was perfect for us! Unpretenitous, washing machine was available, clean, interactive big screens in the foyer, kind of self-service at the breakfast. Backpacker style, with comfort ! We recommend the nearby spectacular gorge Breitachklamm, www.breitachklamm.com

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Einar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina H, Leiter Front Office at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hi and Hello,
Thanks for the review, great that you liked it here. Is you are right the Breitachklamm is great for a hike.

See you soon Carina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fischen im Allgau
4 km away
Hotel Rosenstock
Hotel Rosenstock
#3 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
47 reviews
2 km away
Sonnenbichl Hotel am Rotfischbach
Sonnenbichl Hotel am Rotfischbac...
#9 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
49 reviews
3.1 km away
Berghotel Maderhalm
Berghotel Maderhalm
#8 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Alpenhotel Oberstdorf
Alpenhotel Oberstdorf
#12 of 48 in Oberstdorf
141 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bergruh
Hotel Bergruh
#1 of 48 in Oberstdorf
256 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Forellenbach
Hotel Forellenbach
#10 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf

Address: An der Breitach 3 | bei Oberstdorf, 87538 Fischen im Allgau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fischen im Allgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fischen im Allgau
Price Range: C$134 - C$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf is a trendy budget hotel with a casual and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing