We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gsreed1445
Bremen, IN

Sleek, modern, friendly

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 24, 2018via mobile
This family run hotel/restaurant in the heart of the Black Forest region is Euro-modern. The owners value local sourcing and sustainability and have incorporated that into the refurbishment of this hotel. Wood floors and furniture are locally made and left natural colored. No carpeting or A/C in rooms contributes to environmentally friendly consciousness.

Decor is crisp, clean, neutral. Bed is king sized, split with dual controls for raising and lowering head/foot. Bathroom has a frosted wall separating it from living area, nice open corner shower, and a countertop stone oval basin sink.

Dinner was well prepared and presented with friendly smiles by owner/chef and wife. Breakfast offered many choices of cereals, meats, yogurt, cute little canning jars filled with fruit, a great kaffee/cappuccino machine, and eggs cooked to your order...and delivered to the table!

If you want ‘luxury’ Zum Storchen is not for you. If friendly locals, clean, environmentally friendly decor, well prepared meals, and a genuine appreciation of your presence....this is the place in Waldkirch for you.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.9 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
Free Wifi
Room service
HIRSCHENSTUBE - Gästehaus Gehri
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.6 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
    Restaurant
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    3.3 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$166
    • Booking.com
    3.5 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Einzige Ablage ist gerade beim Eingang
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    0.9 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$148
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 km from Restaurant Hotel Zum Storchen
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Waldkirch
    Reviews (113)
    Filter reviews
    113 results
    Traveller rating
    91
    16
    2
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    91
    16
    2
    2
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 113 reviews
    Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

    This small hotel is very spare in it's furnishings which I would describe as
    budget Scandinavian . Definitely not a "cozy-comfort" type accommodation. Dinner was a disappointment: the tomato soup was good but the boiled beef was over cooked and tasteless; dessert was fine. The staff was very pleasant. If you are traveling for pleasure , I would not stay here unless you are young and low-maintenance ; it is very clean.

    Date of stay: August 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank dicknida
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 11, 2017

    I stayed here as part of a tour group on a two week trip through Germany. This was a fantastic place to stay... Perfect location, nice rooms; comfortable bed, clean, nice shower and amenities. No A/C but I appreciate this because you can open the windows and the weather was mild. Very nice attached restaurant and bar. We had dinner here and breakfast on two mornings, all excellent! I highly recommend and hope to stay here again!! Everything is only a couple of blocks away. Waldkirch is a quite and lovely town.

    Date of stay: July 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank iuhas5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed April 19, 2017

    Just had 5 nights at this hotel. It is our third visit and really is a treat to stay. A warm welcome, on site parking, quiet room with comfortable bed for a good nights sleep and a quality breakfast make it a real haven. Will be back !

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank 2012Val
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

    Nice Hotel, modern & sound proof rooms.
    The Family running the Hotel is very kind.
    Excellent breakfast, but the highlight was the new year's eve dinner, absolutlely "great" outstanding dishes. Great cook!

    Date of stay: January 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Xandrea
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 30, 2016

    Returned here for a long weekend. A warm welcome, comfortable bed and delicious breakfast - absolutely spot on ! The owners and reception staff are so charming and helpful, the hotel is spotless and the position is very convenient for the station - we will be back.

    Date of stay: November 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank 2012Val
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews