We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butlins in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 12 June 2011

If you have kids this place is fine ,but if you are going away as a couple forget it ! we went in school term to avoid children but failed . it wasn,t just English though ,apart from a few hundred of those many large groups of spanish children seemed to swarm in especially at weekends .Also every morning a swimming club decended on the place and you were all expected to get out of the pool for them to train ! there are two pools but this was not right and on one morning led to some guests just jumping in with inflatables to make a point . It was generally a nice place all you would expect from a 3 star we had a nice enough room with sea view and the maid was in every day ,food was ok but we have had better .The hill is steep up from the front but no problem .for us it was just the kids, entertainment was all centred around them as well, they have a good area outside with a stage out there it was bearable but early evening in the only bar and function room it was so noisy the reps seemed to love making the kids scream .
we have been to these hotels with our kids but we dont want it now why cant they say when you book how many you are likely to encounter .we wont be returning and if you are a couple i would give it a miss

Room Tip: go in Bali 2 all rooms have see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,067 - 2,073 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

For the price i paid (55€ double with breakfast) i would recommend definately this hotel. Located in a steep hill near the center of benalmadena costa with many reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Superb breakfast with a lot of varieties. Small rooms with insufficent soundproofing (Not too loud though, for me). Nice pool areas (2), though water was bit cold. Huge hotel complex so rooms may vary a lot. Not anything bad to say, but not top notch either.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in the Bali at end of December through new year, hotel was clean and tidy, staff were always nice to us. The only drawback is the hotel is on a bit of a hill, so if any of your party have walking difficulties it might be best to avoid this area of Benalmadena. Lovely place and reasonably quiet as it was off season but could tell it will be quite noisy when we go back in the summer months. all in all you get your moneys worth, close to local bars and pubs etc and beach is at the bottom of the hill. The shopping centre/ marina is quite something with crystal clear water and some amazing boats/yachts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwenMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

after years of watching "shows" been delivered by bought in acts It was a great suprise to find the good old animation team. They provided the best entertainment I have seen in ages, although the parrot show and similar was still on. Hill might be a prob for some its steep but on 150 yards long at the most. We got a taxi from airport and back for our flights and it was 25 euro each way. We stayed in bali 2 facing the see and the lower ground pool which i would say is the most used area as its nearest the day time snack bar. Food - same 3 star spanish hotel food, although icecream not in tubs hooray! on a down side i thought other than chips and maybe puzza there was no childrens section in the restaraunt - maybe in season this will change but dont get me wrong the re was grilled chicken and fish etc which most kids should eat. my 2 critisisms would be
1- no music around pool downstairs so atmosphere quite limp
2 - snack bar only served burger, hotdogs MINUS chips - chips had to be paid for although we ordered them one day and got a ginormous portion and didnt pay so not sure what the deal is there!!!
staff were very friendly, the harbour is 5-10 mins walk as is the 24 hour square. bali 2 seemed to have hairdryers in the rooms but bali one where we used courtesy room didnt . Would defo go back. outdoor play area, games room and kiddy club means good for kids too.

Room Tip: as for pool and sea view or bali 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sambrow46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

just got back from a week inclusive service was very good the staff very nice in the restaurant , the food wasnt really to our liken but was ok snacks were good apart from you had to pay to get chips which i thought was wrong ,the rooms were cleaned very well , the entetainment medplaya team very good and enjoyed all the shows they all work very hard,my 7yr old went to thompson kids club which she really enjoyed , on our last night the thompson kids club did a party night and one of the staff called sam told my 7 year old daughter that because it was her last night sam would give my daughter a present , so a bit later she said she had but it under our door , no present very upset 7yr old and mum and dad , thought that was very wrong, so would we go back to the hotel again yes we would , would we use thompson kids club defo not

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmjdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This was the second time we've stayed at the 'Bali' It Is a friendly place all the staff are pleasant,the food is good, plenty of variety although some day's a bit repetative, but always well cooked and hot. a good choice of salads as well. All inclusive option is good local beers as well as branded served in glass pint glasses as well as spirits,{can't stand plastic squashy glasses] and you will be served more than one drink at a time,Clean rooms,3 pools and good entertainment,although they need to work on the 'Karaoke' system. Will be going again.
Good base for day trip to Gibralta

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winkleDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have just arrived back from a weeks stay at the Bali.We had a fantastic holiday.After reading reviews on here you go wondering what you are going to, but I can say 100% they must be very fussy and hard to please.When arriving last Saturday morning at 1.30 we were asked if we would like the kitchen to be opened for us to have something to eat.The room was very comfortable,very clean and had everything you could need including a sewing kit !!! The bar and entertainment was very good and the kids loved it.The restaurant was very well run and there was a large choice of food.It ways hot and plentiful.The cleanliness was very good everywhere you went inside and outside by the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.9 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
640 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,243 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,958 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,342 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: $63 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing