We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Year Running - can't wait for next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Second Year Running - can't wait for next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was our second stay at The Hotel Riviera, and we loved every minute! After the success of last year we booked straight away to come back. They've started updating the rooms, a lick of paint and the carpets have been replaced with modern laminate. The place is still really clean and the food is excellent - so much choice and everything tastes so good!
The other hotel guests remembered us from last year - considering we are young enough to be their grandchildren it's great that we get on with them so well! Everyone is friendly and wants to chat and offer recommendations about the resort. Every morning at breakfast they want to hear our stories from the night before - we'd just be getting in and they're just getting up!
The staff are great at the hotel too, and this year we even livened up the entertainment with a bit of dancing in the hotel bar before we hit the bars and clubs!
If you're looking for a laid back, friendly holiday then I would definitely say this is the place for you! We're already talking about going back to see our old friends next year!

Room Tip: We end up in the rooms facing the car park as we don't really require a view - but they're q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    568
    176
    42
    23
See reviews for
115
1,225
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have recently returned from our second visit this year to the Riviera Hotel in Benalmadena and we were not disappointed. l asked if possible for a room with a west facing aspect and we were pleasantly surprised when checking we were informed that we had such a room, l suspect that the hotel was not that full and they were able to do this without difficulty, it makes such a difference especially this time of year. We had booked half board which is very good value, the meals and choices were excellent. This is a very comfortable hotel, child free - excellent !! and is very central, with the bus right outside the door. l can highly recommend the Riviera.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marysmgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed for a 4 night stay and we had a superior room...nothing special although we had a room that overlooked the sea......
We booked this hotel as it doesnt allow children but realised when we arrived that we were the youngest staying as it caters for the over 60`s...
We booked half board but didnt eat in as we didnt fancy eating in the restaurant which to be honest had no atmosphere....the hotel entertainment was cabaret singers and ballroom dancing...if this is what you are looking for in your hotel stay then you will love it here....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

we booked this hotel because it was adults only ....... what we didnt expect was to find the hotel mainly filled with the over 70s who are returning customers !!!!!! some had been returning for 20years i would say this hotel catered for these people ,the food was what i would term as "safe " nothing much of spain to try here ... very repetitive food all week ..i became fed up with "tin peaches ,ice cream and dream topping .. breakfast was "English "with tin peaches !! .the hotel was clean and in a great location and the food was well presented .the evening entertainment was grim ... ballroom dancing every night with even a customer bringing his own ballroom c .d to play nightly ... we all dont like big band music ,again it was accomadating the regular returning customer and he was ... a select few seem to dominate this hotel in my
personal opinion only ...i think thomsons should have a 60+ included in some of these hotels as they would for 18-30s holidays . we wont be returning sadly .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunseekerIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear SunseekerIsleOfWight,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience from your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are sorry to hear that you did not entirely enjoy your stay. Our hotel has a base of regular customers who enjoy this place with its great location, friendly and personalized treatment of the hotel staff. We strive to give the best service to all our customers, meet their needs, hoping to see all of them again.

Thanks again for your comment.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level Contributor
322 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is our third visit to the Riviera and changes are happening to the stained carpeted rooms. They are now in the process of laying laminate which is cleaner and looks better. The food is still excellent and the staff very obliging in all departments.
Some reviewers are quick to mention the busy road but unless you are used to living in a field the noise is debatable. The hotel carries a 4* status and it lives up to the expectations. People should remember that Benalmadena is a seaside resort and as at home coastal hotels are well used!
If you want plush 4* establishments then look closer to home within towns and cities.
Another excellent stay at the Riviera.

Room Tip: All rooms do have sea views but I would suggest a room overlooking the new marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelmanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Booked this hotel only a week before travelling. On arrival, we were allocated a room on the 1st floor near a very noisy road. Asked to move but told no rooms available. We offered to pay more and were upgraded to a Superior room which was same as first but had a lovely sea view and was away from the road This cost about 100 euro but was worth it to get away from noisy road . Room was Spotless and comfortable enough but very tired, rather small and quite Basic with no special touches.The room had a hair drier ample hangers in Wardrobe. There was no fridge, no tea making facility or Mini Bar. We had to pay to use the safe (only 12 euro for the week)

Staff were always very Friendly and usually helpful

Reception and entertainment area nice, Dining room tired, Pool area Lovely & looking onto the beach with no guests reserving beds with towels at 7 am.

Outdoor pool nice looking but was too cold to use in March . Very small heated indoor pool a bit grubby. There was a basic gym, and a sauna for which you had to pay Pool bar was closed (it is March) and there was no waiter service in the pool area. Upstairs from the pool area, There was a vending machine for cold dinks at 1.70 Euro per can

There are two very small and very slow lifts serving the building. As about 90% of the guests were elderly this caused large queues at meal times and when entertainemet had finished. There is also a lift down to the Beach promenade

The Hotels location is its selling point. In our opinion, It's probably the best central location in Benalmadena. Public transport is very cheap & reliable,There are bus stops right outside the hotel, although I would reccomend that you walk 2 stops up towards Torremolinos if you want a seat

Food was varied with a good selection but the quality varied day by day from Average to Very good. It was usually OK, Always edible if not very hot. The Waiting staff were very friendly and efficient. Nice selection of wine to purchase

Great choice for breakfast (but take your own teabags !)

Like the food, the entertainment was hit and miss ranging from Average to good with singers doing the same songs with the same backing tracks but had an excellent Flamenco show one night. The entertainment was aimed at, and apparently enjoyed by the elderly guests who outnumbered the under 70's by about 20 to 1


The Bar staff were great, although I was a little embarassed when I was at the back of the long queue at the bar when the waiter who we had been tipping well ignored everyone in front of me and insisted on taking my order first even though I refused pointing out the people in front of me.

Overall, We enjoyed our week here but would have been happier with the hotel if it had been advertised as a 3 star and we had paid about £200 less for the week but we expected a lot more from a 4 star hotel. Many of the guests we met were elderly and were staying for up to 3 months and were happy with the hotel for which they were paying considerably less than what we had paid.


We went with Thomson . Phil the rep was great and has a natural talent for dealing with people .

Tip

Thomson offered a great selection of excursions but they are extremely expensive . There is a Travel agent called Arman tours about 100 yards up the hill (Cardiac Hill) to the side of the Noor Mahal (opposite to the hotel) who does all of the excursions that Thomson offer (Gibraltar shopping and Tours , Ronda, Nirja, Mijas, Fuengerola Markets Seville, etc for up to half the price)
The only thing I would add when booking a trip, is to ask how long the journey takes including pick ups and drop offs. We were told that our trip to Ronda would take 2 hours each way. But that was after a further 1 and a half hours each way to pick up and drop off at other peoples hotels. It was a long day on a bus .



Tip

Spanish Public Transport is Great

Buses Cheap and Reliable 1.50 euro each way to Mijas takes about 40 minutes but a lovely scenic ride. There are bus stops outside the hotel but Buses get full in the mornings. If you want to get a seat , walk up two bus stops (towards the harbour) to where there is a roundabout with a glass structure on it. You can buy tour ticket at the Kiosk.

Trains are cheap and regular too if you want to go to Malaga, Fuengirola, Torremolinos and Beyond

Room Tip: If you would like to sit out on your balcony in the evening, Ask for a Room on the sunny side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Rivierra. Couldn't fault it. The rooms are slightly dated but who hangs around in their rooms other than to sleep! We had a pool view room which didn't get the sun but was hardly in to be bothered. Lack of a fridge would have been a problem in the summer.
Food was great, loads of choice, well cooked and hot! Can't remember the last holiday I went on where we ate in every night. Waiting staff were brilliant, very friendly, always a smile for you.
Pool area was good, the pool itself was freezing, but what do you expect in March. I think I was the only person mad enough to try it out!
Entertainment on a night is patchy and aimed at the older end, this hotel is noted as a dance hotel and there were a lot of Modern Sequence and Ballroom dancers around.
The hotel is perfectly located on the front, easy access to the beach. A 10 minute walk to the Marina and 15 to 20 minute walk to Torremolenos.
My only moan about the resort is its absolutely totally dead on an evening, and I mean more or less shut!
I would highly recommend this hotel for an early or late season 2nd holiday. Not sure I'd want my main holiday here! We will be back.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.3 km away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.0 km away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 km away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing