We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$128
US$112
View deal
SAVE US$16
Free cancellation until 21-07-02
Expedia.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-03
PricelineUS$124
eDreamsUS$112
getaroom.comUS$128
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveller rating
363
383
263
150
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
363
383
263
150
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fun pub bar staff good size san miguel large balcony plenty of choice fresh towels food was lovely rooms were cleaned buffet style plenty of sunbeds fridge entertainment holiday adults euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

This Hotel can't be faulted for cleanliness, location, but the food left a lot of doubt in my mind, also the entertainment was OK for children but the adult part was poor, I don't think this Hotel is 4 star, the medplaya calypso just up the road is only a 3 star yet it is much better as is the Medplaya Bali in Benalmadena. I can't see myself revisiting the Pyramide Hotel in future unless I can get it for half the price I paid in October, Visiting the Bali in January and I know that the food will be spot on. Roll on the January.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityMedPlaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at MedPlaya hotel Pirámide. We are very sorry to hear that on this occasion this particular MedPlaya Hotel did not meet with your expectations.

We appriciate your kind comments with regards to cleanliness of our hotel and the entertainment for children, but we are sorry to hear that there were other aspects that were not to your liking.

Rest assured that I have addressed your constructive comments with our teams accordingly.
Thank you again for your feedback, and whilst we appreciate you would not be willing to visit hotel Piramide again, we sincerely hope we would be able to alter your current perception and showcase our true "MedPlaya hospitality" during your next visit to MedPlaya hotel Bali in Benalmadena.

Warmest regards and see you soon,
Loyalty & Community manager, MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2019

Having not long returned from 2 weeks at this hotel, having stayed at six Medplaya hotels in the past and some more than once, we must say that we were so disappointed in this one,as we arrived early our room was not ready, we were shown where the luggage room was, 2 euro for a locker, which was non returnable, as we had such an early flight we decided to wait in the bar, 9 euro for 2 drinks !! this is when we wished we had booked All Inclusive, when our room was ready we were amazed to find that there was no tea/coffee making facilities, but hey ! you can hire a kettle at reception for 10 euro, but again that is also non returnable.

Our room was lovely and spacious, with a large balcony and a real comfy bed, a small fridge and the safe was included, the room like the rest of the hotel it really needs a refurbishment, the food to say the least was mediocre, and was never really hot, but there was plenty of choice, the staff in the restaurant worked so hard, especially at the week end when the hotel was full due to local holidays.

We took up the prices at the bar with the front of house Manager David, he assured us that all Medplaya hotels charge the same, which is totally not true, we also asked him why there was no Happy Hour in his hotel, like other Medplaya Hotels, his answer was that it is illegal in Spain to have Happy Hours again totally untrue, having spoken to our tour rep Chloe and the Medplaya Amigo rep Katrina we did get an apology from the Manager admitting he got it wrong.

We would also agree that 10pm at night is a bit late for the evening entertainment to start, and it was the usual hotel entertainment, some good and some downright awful.

This was our first trip to Salou, having over the years visited many Spanish resorts, but we found this one to be so expensive, and many hotel guests were saying the same, whether it was eating out, or just having a drink and even the cost of goods in the shops, the prices were atrocious, and personally we will not be returning.

Finally, a bit of advice If you do book the Hotel Piramide make sure you choose ALL INCLUSIVE.

Room tip: Pool view on high floor very sunny PM
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank losprados2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityMedPlaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at MedPlaya hotel Pirámide. We are very sorry to hear that on this occasion neither this particular MedPlaya Hotel nor the Salou resort in general were to your liking.

Whilst we were of course very pleased to a positive comment about our spacious rooms, we were indeed truly sorry to read that you felt let down by several aspects of your stay, such as prices for drinks in our bar.

Altough we are a chain hotel with 16 hotels along the mediterrenean coasts of mainland Spain, prices and value change accodingly to different provinces where the hotels are located and its varied standards of living.

Moreover, the regulations differ from province to province, like the happy hours. We apologize for the misunderstanding, while this is not a general rule in Spain, in Catalonia happy hours are forbidden by law since 2009.

Thank you again for your feedback, and whilst we appreciate you would not be willing to visit hotel Piramide again, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to other MedPlaya hotels,

Kind regards,
Loyalty & Community manager, MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2019 via mobile

This was our first time in Salou and we enjoyed our stay in this hotel but there were some problems in different areas
Reception:
The staff are very kind and will help you with any problems and our quite efficient. There is nothing bad to say about reception really.
Room:
Negatives: There were issues with the room:
The first would be the writing on the wall and the dirty marks on the wall in the main room. It looked as if a touch of paint would have covered this up. Second was that there was black mould in some of the grout in the bathroom. Also there was no fan in the bathroom which left it very warm and steamy in there. Next would be that there was a missing slide door on the cupboard which left one side open and also door had a crack on the mirror in the corner. The air con didn’t really work as the room would not cool down with it on which left the room very humid and leaving us to open the door through the day to bring air in.
Positives: the bed was very comfy to sleep in and the floors were all clean. The outside balcony was nice. It was very quiet at night and we heard no disturbances.
Food and drink:
Positives: a big range of food and breakfast lunch and dinner. Also with all inclusive you could have food at the snack but but this closed through the week as it was end of season. There was a freezer in the bar mestral which had food that you could ask someone to heat up for you as well. There were microwaves in the food place.
Negatives: sometimes the food could be a bit mix and Match and would not go with the food you would be eating. The food wasn’t always hot which I don’t mind but some people don’t like. Fruit didn’t look very appetising some nights as it looked like it had gone off and we had an apple and had seen the inside had gone bad.
Entertainment:
Positives: the day time entertainment such a football, ping pong, etc were good for people to do throughout the day if they stayed in the hotel
Negatives: night time entertainment started at 10 which was too late for us and sadly we never got to watch any.
Location:
The location was very good and no traffic noise was heard through the night. It was quick to walk to the beach past all the shops.
Pool:
it wasn’t too busy in there, it was nice to lie by the pool when the sun was shining down.
Staff:
The staff were polite through the day and would help with any issues

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank matrixstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityMedPlaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Hello matrixstyle,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the MedPlaya hotel Pirámide.

Whilst we were of course very pleased to hear about your positive impressions of our facilites and friendly service from our team members, we were indeed very concerned and truly sorry to read about the issues you encountered in your room.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive and constructive comments with us, which I trust will assist our teams in raising our levels of service and improving the guest experience.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with the perfect visit.

Best regards,
Loyalty & Community manager, MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2019 via mobile

THE GOOD.
Very friendly staff, happy to oblige with any questions you may have and always smiling.
Good position, close enough to all amenities and the beach.
Good size rooms and balcony and free WiFi fridge and safe.
THE NOT SO GOOD
The evening entertainment didn’t start until 10pm and finished
about 10.45. Both me and my wife are in our late seventies and
we prefer to stay in the hotel in the evenings so found this unacceptable.
As mentioned in previous reviews the food is of a good standard but is often lukewarm, there are no plate warmers so the food is placed on cold plates.
We also found that the staff had been cut down to a minimum
meaning they had to multi task,I realise it is the end of the season but standards should be maintained.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jasperManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityMedPlaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Hello jasperManchester,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at MedPlaya hotel Pirámide.

Whilst we were of course very pleased to see many positive comments about our facilities,as well as service provided from our friendly staff, we were indeed very concerned and truly sorry to read that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations and that you felt let down by several aspects of your stay.

Rest assured that we have addressed the different elements of your feedback with the relevant teams accordingly.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to MedPlaya hotels, at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with a seamless experience.


Best regards,
Loyalty & Community manager, MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2019

Obviously there is good and poor points, but I think majority of people writing very bad reviews are fussy!

First of all, check in was quick and easy, reception team was friendly and explained everything. Got to our room (4th floor) clean and cosy, balcony was big! Rooms were cleaned everyday, we always see the cleaning ladies on every floor, trolleys stacked with fresh towels, sheets, toilet paper etc... if you forget to remove your “do not disturb” door hanger on the handle when you leave your room for the day then they will not clean your room, obviously. Also we never had an issue with our key card.

The bar.... it was inside the building near the pool, it didn’t really feel like a “bar atmosphere” but it was fine. Bar staff were friendly and served in good time. Lots of chairs, tv on the wall playing sports or music which was a nice touch. Cocktails were nice, but weak. I’m a lightweight and i couldn’t get drunk on these. Local spirits and beer which was San Miguel was great! Only problem, they had a sign to say any drunken people wouldn’t be tolerated or served, there was one man who was drunk every single day all day, he’d sit near all the women and just stare at them making us all feel very uncomfortable, but the bar staff didn’t do anything and continued to serve him... maybe cause he was paying for all his drinks and the hotel would obviously take his money.

Pool area.... Plenty of sun beds! Never ever had an issue getting the beds we wanted. Pool was big, but only issue is that it was that freezing it was nearly impossible to get in or stay in for more than 10 minutes, but it was nice to lounge around the pool in the sun.

Food & restaurant.... quick to get in, lots of choice! Always meat and fish dishes, some vegetarian options. Food was lovely! Nothing to complain about, breakfast I wasn’t keen on as the eggs weren’t ever cooked properly, but other than that it was great. Fresh salad, fresh pasta and other condiments. Bread was ok, sometimes hard as it was left out. The snack corner in the bar was ok, chicken nuggets, burgers, hot dogs, rolls etc... great for when your peckish.

Entertainment.... throughout the day we was offered to play pool, exercise, bingo, archery, and more. If you won any of the games you get a certificate at the end of the day! Night time entertainment was great, we had dancers, singers, comedians... only thing I didn’t like was the bar was far away from the entertainment room to get a drink, and the fun pub which was inside the entertainment room was only open Fridays and Saturdays 8:30pm till 11:00pm. Loved it in there, it was very stylish and modern, it just wasn’t open enough.

Also a massive shout out to Lamin! Amazing entertainer, very funny and nice to speak to. He got to know us from the first day we arrived and always stopped to chat every day when he see us, lovely guy! Thanks Medplaya Piramide for making our holiday relaxing and easy! Would recommend :)

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharnaxball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityMedPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay in our MedPlaya Pirámide Hotel. Feedback like this one makes us happier and more motivated to work hard and continue providing excellent service to our guests, so thank you! We hope to see you back for your next visit to Salou.

Kind regards,
Loyalty and Community Manager MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews