We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Health and Safety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Best Negresco
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Health and Safety”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Best Negresco
TO: 1 More1 recipientCC: recipientsYou MoreBCC: recipientsYou
Hide Details FROM:J EDWARDS TO:info@besthotels.es Message flagged Friday, 16 December 2011, 18:21Message BodyWe stayed at the Best Negresco last summer and was shocked at the way the fire evacuation was carried out.
I complained the following day and the representative from Thompson said that they were doing their best.
I was given the same answer 10 days later at the end of the holiday.

1.The fire alarm went off at 2am and it could not be heard clearly from within the room.
2.The emergency fire exit was locked and we were unable to exit.
3.The fire doors did not close on the first floor so would not have protected us from smoke or fire.
4.All the fire drill insructions are not readable on any floor due to poor lighting.
5.All the light bulbs were removed on every floor that would have illuminated these instructions.
6.When we all assembled in the reception area we were told to return to our rooms with the alarms still sounding.

I was appalled with the responce of Reps and management.

10 days later I was still told by the management that they were still holding meetings and they were doing their best.

This is not acceptable fed up of chasing this but will defnately not stay in this hotel again.
Even though I had a wonderful time the health and safety is not top of the priority list.

If you are not concerned about health and safety this hotel is brilliant.

Room Tip: Just ask and demand the best. As you are as important as anyone else regardless of whether you wear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    432
    252
    125
    74
See reviews for
595
383
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

a very nice place to spend a holiday the choice of food great the restaurant staff very good the bar staff once they got to know you were very good.thats as far as it goes,we were given room 1001--awful--it is right over a flat roof over looking large rubbish bins-bottle store-staff car park.room not secure i could open the balcony door when it was locked from the outside,we would put the room table against the door at night to make us feel secure,the rep did her best to get us moved but no luck,so if you get given 1001 or near it stand you ground ,say no to this and rooms (say) upto 1008.

Room Tip: make sure you get a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucebeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

October 2011. My husband and I have been staying at his hotel for over 10 years now. It used be a 4star. It is still a lovely hotel with spotless rooms most of which have beautiful views over the sea.

Negresco is sitting on the rocks at the end of the Platja Llarga beach about 20 minutes out of
Salou. The location alone is part of the attraction and the beach is pristine and beautiful.
We stayed on a half board basis in a room on the fifth floors with views out over salou, down to
the south and over the pine woods of Platja Llarga. The food in the hotel was excellent with choices for everyone. If you want " home on holidays", you can even get the revolting chips and beans laid on. The staff as usual were outstanding and very helpful.

There is no traffic as this is a pedestrianised zone with walks and a boardwalk into Salou. Bus stop at the top of the road to get to Tarragona, Reus, Barcelona or Salou.

The only downside, and it didn't bother us too much, was the entertainment. Dire.

This is a lovley hotel and we would recomment to holidaymakers who want to see Costa Dorada.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anniemike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Enjoyed our stay meals were ok nothing great but we always managed to find something to eat. Staff were very nice and rooms were cleaned every day. Only downside was I had requested a sea view and also sent an email to the hotel for same but we never got one and when I asked at reception was told we hadn't paid for a sea view and those rooms had to be kept for the customers who were paying for them e.g. French etc. When I booked and also when I e-mailed the Hotel I was not advised of any extra payment. When the receptionist told us this I really felt like a 2nd class citizen who was getting a free holiday so should be thanksful for what we got.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags17Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Satyed at this hotel first week in October2011 and boy did it show it was the end of there season.
Food in dinning room looked the part but stone cold all the time so we had to eat out to get decent food.
Told Rep but all she said was you cant expect hot food in a hot country well there hot and raw and believe me it was rough.
Plates stone cold so when you went to where they were cooking it was still cold by the time you got to the table thats when you could get to the table full of Spanish,Russian. and Germans, eating like dogs plates piled high with cold food.
No chance of a decent breakfast as que for coffee machine absolutelly rediculous and sausages to make you sick as this too stone cold.
As for hotel its isolated down a step hill and coach will not go down so you have to drag casses down and back up.
no local bars or places to eat everything a route march.
Place wants shutting down as its dated and caters for the other guest apart from English.
So please dont waste your money book somewhere in Salou as its nice there but as far as cap salou is concerned forget it unless your a mountain goat who does not want to be entertained .
They even managed to spoil the pool with turning the music off as it seemed the foreign guests did not like english music and a fight broke out.
As for night entertainement non exsistant never had a drink in the place as typical Spanish crap served up behind the bar. all in all a thourorly dissapointing hotel be warned.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hi All. Stayed here end of September 2011, and cannot give one complaint about hotel, staff or The food. The Food, endless amounts of everything, Beautiful pool and having the Med sea beside you is a fantastic bonus. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

good location of the hotel, the room offers a beautiful view of the sea. near the beach, not large but very comfortable. The kitchen in the hotel is very good, varied, cater for all tastes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svetlanavaskelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#50 of 93 in Salou
852 reviews
2.5 km away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,008 reviews
0.4 km away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
423 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
#43 of 93 in Salou
529 reviews
0.4 km away
Cala Font Hotel
Cala Font Hotel
#29 of 93 in Salou
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Negresco

Property: Hotel Best Negresco
Address: Carrer dels Replanells, 12-14, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Negresco 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea, at only 100m. from Playa Larga beach which is accessible through a new promenade. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning fridge and optional safe-deposit box. Outdoor swimming pool for adults and children with a large terrace solarium and snack-bar. Gym, games area, children’s area and kid’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Best Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Complejo Best Negresco Hotel Salou
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing