We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst holiday of our life”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterranean Suites
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Salou
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worst holiday of our life”
Reviewed 18 October 2009

we stayed in the Podium apartments for 2 weeks a few years ago and it was terrible - the beds were 2 single when we were told it would be a double - the floor was dirty and the cooking facilities kept fusing the lights every time you switched in on. would not go back - it was great to check out!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    19
    16
    74
See reviews for
50
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derry
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

just returned from honeymoon, was expecting a tip of a hotel after reading reviews, to be honest it was very basic, just had what you needed. staff was nice and friendly, wouldnt take children there though, no entertainment for them at all, ideal for quiet holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nafferton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

we booked this apartment last minute as somewhere to sleep and shower after 7 nights of camping at benicassim festival, and that's what we did. the apartment had air con which worked.... great, and a nice pool which was very quiet considering it was July. short walk into the centre of Salou so good for nightlife but not too noisy. not that cheap considering the rooms were a bit tired and lack in lightbulbs!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I have just come back from MEDITERRANEAN SUITES,i went with my husband and two young children. the location was excellent, could not have asked for better, shops, restaurants and were all within about 5 minutes walking distance with Port Adventura abou 15 minutes walk or a five minute bus ride. The appartments wre basic but clean and had everything we needed. The appartment was a good size and the air con worked brilliantly, the balcony was also quite big . The pool was small but big enough, the kids didnt complain and there was always plenty of sun beds. The bar is really nice but not much goes on there. The receptionist was really helpful. The hotel is old and could do with a makeover but for the price its really good value for money. Its not the best place ive been to but its certaintly not the worst.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Golden Port NOT the Mediterranean Suits, but one of our pool's was on the other side of there small pool, and what a nightmare the guest's at this hotel are!!. It is full of drunk teenagers, making as much noise, and problem's possible. This is the second time we stayed at the Hotel Golden Port, and the Mediterranean Suit's attract a low life crowd, which is surprising because our hotel, and this hotel were the same amount of money to book, but we got 2 meals a day and ours was a 4 star!!!???. I saw familys on balconys with young children, and felt soooo...sorry for them, but we thanked GOD we had a better hotel, and experience!. We walked around to take a look at this hotel, and it is gross, we couldn't believe the standard we had, and the standard this hotel had were two opposites. Stay at the Golden Port for a relaxing holiday!!!!.....guests at the Mediteranean Suit's were looking of there balcony's with pure jelousy or regret the didn't book ours!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Mediterranean Suites isn't the worst hotel ever its just very far from the best. One nice receptionist the others are incredibly rude and unhelpful. You have to hire everything kettle etc. You get new towels and loo roll one a week. The smell of the bins outside the hotel is pretty horrific. These are emptied once a day around 6pm where they can fester all day under the hot sun. You have to empty your own bins everyday and do your own cleaning. You can forgive this if it was not for the constant music and shouting coming from the outside the whole time. However once you buy your ear plugs this is not too much of a concern.

On the upside the balcony of our room was absolutely enormous. the beds were comfortable as well. Good places to eat (for breaky are Uncle Sams and Chippies).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I went on holiday with my fiance and stayed in the Mediterranean Suites. We had the worst experience ever. This accommodation was absolutely disgraceful. It should not even be referred to as a hotel. I think a hostel would definitely take preference over this place any day!! When we arrived the apartment was filthy, the toilet and shower were dirty and the overall apartment was just filthy. The reception staff were ignorant, unhelpful and could not understand a word of English. We were asked for €100 deposit on arrival just in case we damaged anything in the apartment. The apartment was not even worth €100 to say the least. We also had to pay a €25 deposit for a safety deposit box along with €22 for the safety deposit box itself. What a joke!!! We had to constantly ask for towels and toilet roll and eventually got them 3 days later!! The apartment was never cleaned, it was like living in the dark ages. The pool was never cleaned either, and the games room was also filthy. The overall building was run down and derelict inside and the external surrounding area was just an eye sore. We were told by the staff in reception that there was no cleaning service available and that we would have to take our rubbish out on to a bin in the street!!!! THIS HOTEL (AKA KIP) WAS HORRENDOUS!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO A DOG!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
0.9 km away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#31 of 93 in Salou
258 reviews
1.4 km away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#58 of 93 in Salou
353 reviews
1.6 km away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#71 of 93 in Salou
1,859 reviews
1.1 km away
Complejo Riviera
Complejo Riviera
#73 of 93 in Salou
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mediterranean Suites

Property: Mediterranean Suites
Address: C/ Joanot Martorell S/N | Vacationals Tutistics Houses, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing