We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous (”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterranean Suites
Ranked #80 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Well we arrived on the 28th july 2010. all was fine, thought the apartments were a bit dodgy(wobbly balcony fences, sliding doors dodgy) . 2 days pass and there is no problems, but that night me and my friends gather in one apartment for drinks before heading out to diner/club. one of our group goes down to get her bag and finds that the apartment has been broken into by a sliding door that was broken. ipods phones cash.. all gone. when the rest of us go and check our own apartment we find that ours was broken into too. over 1500€ cash was gone. the burglars got in once again throught the balcony. As we run downstairs to reception to tell them glasses are flung down the stairs smashing everywhere, this was the burgalrs creating a distraction to just walk out the front door but my 2 friends spot the man and then he drops a bag (containing laptops cash and ipods) and runs we chase after him along with 2 trained security men from the apartment who manage to run about 30 meters before they stop and turn around to go back. after we retrieve ipod and a phone that another tourist saw being flung into a bush by the burglar we head back to the apartment to see if friends are ok etc. we find that the apartment has 1 cctv camera that doesnt work, no insurance, and security gaurds that dont run after robbers. we tell the reception that the door had been broken and everything was not our fault and that we were going to the police to tell them this. at the police staion the day after we were told the police that doors were broken and the camera was not working. thay followed us to the apartment only to find that everything in the aprtments were fixed and then the staff tell the police that everything was not broken at all but the police refuse to believe them and confirm it was the hotels fault. After this we decide to leave and to receive a full refund but the staff begin talking about that they recieve 20% of what booking.com charges on its site. which is an utter lie. they then tweek this number to 5%. lies lies lies. they then have the cheek to give out to us and sayin that our 2 apartments were the only 2 broken into. even though we know for a fact after talking to other people that they were robbed too that night. after they keep telling us that the manager was on his way, and he never did which drove us mad. unfortunalty we had to stay there for the next 6 nights because they would not refund us , therefore could not afford to move anywhere else. second lat night and we hear that 2 apartmnets in our block have been robbed of laptops phones ipods and cash(all adding to over 4000€). these people had only been here for 2 days when this happened. Our group, family and people we met all belive that it was an inside job. And it was confirmed that it was by a person i met at a bar with fiends who told us that it happens all the time at our "medeterraenean suites". I know that many people do not really take others reviews into account but PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE. take my word for it. just do yourslef a favour an d spend they extra 20-50€ on the better hotel. TRUST ME. don't be as stubborn as we were, becasue you may well pay more than you expect. Don't hesitate to email me.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Darren50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

Just returned from 1 week in Salou, and was very sceptical on this hotel as a few of the write up's were pretty bad and where do u start....Let's try getting off the plane and the Thomas Cook rep telling you the Podium(which is what it was advertised at) don't exist and they have never heard of it. After being dropped 50 yards away and paying my deposit for the room (50 euros a week) i got into my dirty room, with dirty sheets and an old pair of shoes still on the drawer - nice.
Location is only 5 minutes from the beach which is the only positive here, but this place is noisy beyond belief (& they put a reminder under ur door b4 u leave to tell u noise is forbidden after 10) as the nearby hotels are proper loud and the walls are made of paper mache. Staff are too busy playin on their PC out back to even acknowledge ur alive. Didn't sleep more than 2 hours a night due to noise levels, they never changed my sheets once in a week and this is easily the worst hotel i have ever stayed in and i have travelled plenty of times to Spain - Stay anywhere else as Salou is gorgeous - Good Luck!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmac_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

If you want a horror holiday, choose this appartment. A balcony of glass, destroyed and taped at the 6th floor. If you bump, you will fall down. Everything was destroyed: the kitchen, the toilet, the furniture, in and outside, the electricity box, the walls, etc.
Fraud: If you destroy something, you will not get back the money warranty. Though the warranty is E 200 or E 300, you wont get your money back for the same destruction.
The people of the appartment, unhelpfull and unfriendly. Very noisy appartment, because of the young people, coming home in the morning.
Everything is old, destroyed and shabby. The airco is a few hundred years old.
Mice faeces on the balcony. The pool is so little, that only a few people can swim.
If you have not booked yet, DON T.
Get another appartment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nietsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

we stayed in the Podium apartments for 2 weeks a few years ago and it was terrible - the beds were 2 single when we were told it would be a double - the floor was dirty and the cooking facilities kept fusing the lights every time you switched in on. would not go back - it was great to check out!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

just returned from honeymoon, was expecting a tip of a hotel after reading reviews, to be honest it was very basic, just had what you needed. staff was nice and friendly, wouldnt take children there though, no entertainment for them at all, ideal for quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna4derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

we booked this apartment last minute as somewhere to sleep and shower after 7 nights of camping at benicassim festival, and that's what we did. the apartment had air con which worked.... great, and a nice pool which was very quiet considering it was July. short walk into the centre of Salou so good for nightlife but not too noisy. not that cheap considering the rooms were a bit tired and lack in lightbulbs!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su3anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I have just come back from MEDITERRANEAN SUITES,i went with my husband and two young children. the location was excellent, could not have asked for better, shops, restaurants and were all within about 5 minutes walking distance with Port Adventura abou 15 minutes walk or a five minute bus ride. The appartments wre basic but clean and had everything we needed. The appartment was a good size and the air con worked brilliantly, the balcony was also quite big . The pool was small but big enough, the kids didnt complain and there was always plenty of sun beds. The bar is really nice but not much goes on there. The receptionist was really helpful. The hotel is old and could do with a makeover but for the price its really good value for money. Its not the best place ive been to but its certaintly not the worst.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellec_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
1.6 km away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,895 reviews
1.4 km away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Evenia President
Hotel Evenia President
#54 of 93 in Salou
127 reviews
0.9 km away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#32 of 93 in Salou
270 reviews
0.3 km away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#61 of 93 in Salou
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Suites

Address: C/ Joanot Martorell S/N | Vacationals Tutistics Houses, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range: $44 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing