We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Family Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Great Family Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have just returned from a great week's family holiday at the Calypso - great fun, great company, great atmosphere, great value and fabulous staff..

The good points
1. The staff were charming and the dining room staff in particular fussed over our two (delightful) grandsons.
2. Bar service was very good - Jose at the pool bar was a gem (though Manuel was less cheery).
3. The restaurant buffet food was good; we were on the Queen Victoria and their buffet was not much better. People who say they could not eat the food should not be let out of the country (and probably denied the franchise as well).
4. The 'Al Fresco' pool restaurant was a valuable alternative to the dining room at lunch time, serving grills, fish and a (very tasty) hot dish of the day, plus burgers and hot dogs. Salads, chips, deserts and ice cream were available at the same time.
4. The rooms took three beds quite comfortably - important when using free child places.

There were some bad points
1. The behaviour of a minority of Brits was appalling, there for the beer and holding it not too well. The management should not accept single sex groups in a family hotel.
2. While Spanish pensioners were charming, some were a menace in the dining room and the lifts. The odd 'Buenos dias' went a long way.
3. The evening entertainment was on too late; no great loss, as my one pass through was my last.
4. The pools in May are cool - all are shaded for part of the day.
5. The bedroom walls are thin. We were glad the rest of our family were next door. But it just means people have to be considerate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, facing the road. They are quieter. Pool facing rooms get the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Larry194710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    686
    411
    152
    194
See reviews for
1,087
441
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the calypso with my wife and 3 kids and found it really disappointing overall. The place was over flowing with Spanish pensioners who we found to be quite rude as they just went in front of you in cues at dinner and especially the lifts. We went all inclusive for a week and I wouldn't do it again at this hotel as the food was catered just for the Spanish people and nothing there that my kids could enjoy so they had a plate of chips at lunch and dinner only but found this awful so we had to eat out in local restaurants so as our kids could eat something they might like other than skinny chips and this was even having an all inclusive holiday. The rooms were pretty basic too with mattresses as thin and hard as a prison mattress and the pillows were so thin u woke up every morning with sore back and neck. The walls too are so thin we could here the people next door snore or sneeze and if my kids talked to each other after 10pm they would have banged on the wall, absolute joke. The all inclusive drinks were limited to San Miguel beer only and a house cocktail called calypso along with the usuall soft drinks which get quite sickening after 2 or 3 nights and the bar closed every night at 11.30 so if you fancy a late drink forget about it.
If you take my advice and you want to go to salou on an all inclusive holiday with your family find another hotel because this one disappointed in every way.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just back from Hotel Calypso in Salou,food was terrible ( not a fussy person) staff on reception very unhelpfull,spanish pensioners all over hotel,were rude pushed in front of you in dinner line,
did not like the British im afraid.We were made to show our pass everytime we went for dinner until the very last day,spanish did not have to show at all,the food was bland,lack of choice and of a poor qualty.Please take my advise if you go to Salou spend a few pounds more and go 4 Star especially if you are all inclusive.The pensioners also were found to be quite aggresive if they did not have their own way,E.g. we oprned a fire exit ( not alarmed) and bar staff said it was ok) they went and shut it in a temper.Went back to re-oprn the door they then wanted to fight with us,informed the bar staff they did did not want to know,told us to go to another bar even though we were buying drinks and they were sitting playing cards not spending a penny.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andytheplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Meath
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I travelled to the Calypso with a group of young students. The hotel staff were friendly but the students were left outside the main door until all the business of room allocation was completed. I felt they should have been invited inside. The staff were hospitable and I found the food varied and good. Feeding teenagers is not easy and they were less than impressed, much preferring a burger bar. There was a free nightly disco organised on the premises in the Apple Bar, which was a delight when other student groups arrived and there was a security guard on the premises as students were shepherded back to their triple rooms. A noisy time if it were not for the fact that our entire block seemed to be for students and we were not expecting sleep anyway. The rooms were a good size, each with own balcony and ample hot water. There was a games room for teenagers to congregate in and the pool was open with a lifeguard called in eventually. I found the rooms very hard to open - definitely an issue in the block we were in. The hotel appeared very busy with seniors who enjoyed dancing and playing cards in the other bar and filled the restaurant nightly. It is close to Reus, Tarragona, Port Aventura and less than two hours from Barcelona. I may well visit again without students.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from a week A/I in this hotel. It is a typical 3 * hotel but sadly we felt let down by a very limited selection of food in the restaurant at all meal times. We've been to many hotels in Salou over the years:-San Diego, Salou Park, Sol Costa Daurada, Da Vinci, Jaime 1 etc and this hotel's food selection was by far the poorest.
The rooms are fine, the hotel areas are fine, the staff are friendly and helpful but that's about it
The entertainment in the evenings was still geared to local pensioners, dancing to old music like tango, waltz etc. There was a games area but it didn't open until mid afternoon which wasn't much good anyway. Goodness knows what families with children would do during the day and in the evenings.
Remember this was Easter holiday time and the hotel was still geared up only to elderly people, who occupied the bars every day playing card games .
I am not one to complain at all, read any of my previous reviews, but seriously I couldn't recommend this hotel nor would I visit it again
The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the main areas and beach, that was fine for us, the Plana bus stops right outside the hotel if you don't fancy the walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a fortnight with my wife. The entertainment was extremely good. Good food and staff were friendly. Only criticism was the main pool could become crowded, although we didn't explore the large pool area behind building b. I agree that the negative reviews must be extremely fussy. A very good value holiday. So much so we are repeating the holiday this June 2012. Mr & Mrs Ablett

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Booked this last minute and was happy with the price we paid for all inclusive. Travelled with a 2 year old and an 8 year old.
We were upgraded to a superior room after eventually being able to check in. Room was pleasant enough but was small, so would have liked to have seen the standard room!
We quickly realised that the hotel was mainly occupied by Spanish pensioners. Not that much of an issue until you realise that they believe they have more of a right to their holiday than you have to yours. They really seem to not even acknowledge your presence, and clearly believe they have a priority to lifts, dining queues etc. We were one of two other British families and was expecting some entertainment for the kids. There was nothing! Due to this we spent most of our time away from the hotel. There is a Spanish bar called fordies in the next street which is friendly and cheap and the food is lovely. There is a British pub called the rovers return just down the street and the main shopping area with bars, restaurants and the beautiful beach is a 10 minute walk from this hotel.

I imagine this hotel would be totally different in the summer months. It has two big pools, a play area and an arcade. Be aware that there is a bar in the hotel called the apple bar which opens until 0100. Totally fine if your in there enjoying yourself not great if your room is directly above it and your trying to get your kids off to sleep.

Would we return to this hotel...possibly but never in April!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laffinfew2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.6 km away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.4 km away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#33 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.5 km away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#21 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 km away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing