We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish i had better things to say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Avenida Suites
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wish i had better things to say”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were there from the 19th to 29th may will say its a nice hotel room was a great size my daughter 2 yr old grandson and myself. We were finding that our room wasnt being cleaned towels were being changed every day beds were only changed the ONCE in 10 days there is a lot of isuses on that matter which is now in the hands on Thomsons head office We found that the recepionist had a very bad attitude we did invlove the head Rep and the issues were not sorted.The childrens reps that done the creche were totaly amazing my grandson loved going to see them and the soft play area is great we did spent a lot of time in the indoor pool which we all loved.The bar staff were very friendly we didnt go down for the night entertainment as the wee man was shattered. The food was ok there was plenty to choose from but did get very repetative and on a few occasions we had to clear a table ourselves it was it took the staff ages to clear tables more so at breakfast time and u barley got a smile from any of the waitresses Last year we had went to the Golden Port it was a far better holiday in our opion we were so looking forward to going to the Avienda but as i said were very dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotsgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    472
    163
    50
    15
See reviews for
1,055
141
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skegness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our little family have just returned back from a fantastic week here.

This will be a very honest review of the place.

Hotel - Fantastic. Very clean and rooms were spacious and the new decor made it feel great.

Food - Lovely. Always fresh and hot. Varied choices and all 3 sittings had the option to be 'healthy' or 'greedy' depending on what you fancied :-)

Location - Brilliant. Less than 5 mins walk to the shops and a maximum of 10 minutes to the beautiful beach. Lots of shops of all kinds.

Hotel Staff - Great. Extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much bother.

Bar/Staff - Fantastic! Even though the hotel was full we never waited more than a few moments to order and often the staff would bring the drinks over to your table or lounger if you was out on the poolside.

Entertainment/Thomson Staff - Absolutely fantastic! My son had the most amazing time and they all remembered his name. Would always give a 'high five' and he was continually occupied by them and their crazy behaviour! Ooooossssh and Shabba is now his favourite words! We saw 3 professional shows in 1 week and they were brilliant. So much skill!

Facilites - Spot on! Indoor pool & Jacuzzi. Outdoor pool & Jacuzzi. 2 play park/areas. Lots of games going on in and out the pool. Kids clubs, drop in kids club, creche etc. Small amusements.


The only negative is that we were on Level 1 over the bar area. We would usually go to bed around 11pm but between then and around 12.30am ish, all you could hear was the chairs scraping across the floor and then the same thing happened every morning from 7am when the cleaners arrived. We did get moved to another room on day 3 which was brilliant but it is something to bear in mind. I am a light sleeper though!

Would I return - Absolutely yes!
Would I recommend - Absolutely yes!

Go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room and avoid level 1 over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sambodidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is very good if you have children. There is lots of entertainment for them and the Thomson Team are great, they are very friendly. Entertainment for the adults is also good. Food is varied and good value. Room overlooking swimming pool with a large balcony was kept clean and tidy. Hotel staff were very helpful. The downside to this hotel is they allow guests to leave there towels on sun loungers at 8.30am (which states on there hotel rules that this practice is not allowed) On severa occasions these selfish guests did not return to there loungers until 11 am and sometimes 2.00pm. There are pleny of loungers but not aroung the pool area.The hotels is only a five minute walk to shops, so very handy.

Room Tip: Rooms above the dining room overlooking the pool are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from an absolutely brilliant holiday!
The Hotel was lovely, clean and tidy and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful!
We were all inclusive so ate in the restaurant most of the time. It was always fresh and the quality, variety and taste was great.
The Thompson staff were fantastic (and bonkers!!). The kids club was wonderful and both our children loved going and asked to go to the drop in sessions too! It's all they are talking about now we're home!
The entertainment was great fun and the entertainment team deserve a medal for their enthusiasm and energy! They had everyone joining in with some very random games (chuck the chicken anyone?) and the evening entertainment was enjoyed by young and old!
The Holiday Reps were so lovely and nothing was a bother - not that we had any problems that needing sorting but I'm sure if we did they would have been sorted immediately.
The only problem I found was the bed was a too hard for my liking but for me, if that's the only complaint then it was money VERY well spent!

Room Tip: We requested a pool facing room as had heard the road facing rooms had more traffic noise and found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

myself,my partner and 2 childrean age 10 and 3,stayed here 11-25th may 2012,had a fantastic 2 weeks,just cant find no fault with the the hotel,rooms are great had everythink we needed for our stay,we was half board,had a great selection of food for everyone,entertainment was fantastic for the childrean,sunny sarah and smashin ash were our favourites,everone who works at the hotel were so friendly,so much for the childrean to do,the entertainment team and the kids club work so hard,thought they was much better then last year,maids came in everyday very clean hotel,pool is great,my little girl loved the little pool on the sun terrace,will be returning again nexy year,cant wait

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

just returned from our second visit to this hotel 2 adults 2 kids 8&5 self catering, new rooms are great 2 singles and 1 double sofa bed which was quite comfy, fridge 2 ring cooker micovawe toaster kettle and good hairdryer in bathroom pretty much everything you need our room 219 overlooked the road by the traffic lights and the noise is nowhere near as bad as some of the complaints ive heard on other reviews, we ate in hotel resturant twice and food is excellent new kids pool is great, hotel staff are very helpful and friendly, kids club still the best kids club in salou,we have stayed in quite a few different hotels in salou over the past few years and have found the Golden Avenida Suites to be the best, the only thing we did not like this time round was the fact that thomson have completly taken over the hotel and have changed the entertainment programme to save money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shellymacN_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Myself, my partner and our 3 year old son stayed here 18-25th May 2012 and had a great week.
We stayed self catering and didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on food. Pool side bar was reasonable tho and would brings food/drinks out to you round pool.

Pool area was nice,although had usual reserving sun beds and not returning all day! Kids pool with slides was loved by my little boy,and although the pools were really cold once you got in you soon adjusted to it! Kids pool up on terrace was also nice especially as was toys up there although the floor got very hot up there! Plenty of umbrella's round pool though which was good. And found daytime entertainment to be just right,not too in face and annoying!

Rooms we found to be great,our little boy slept in separate room and us in the living room,meant we didn't have to tip toe in silence once he was in bed! Good amount of plates,bowls etc and full size fridge. Maids came in everyday and changed sheets couple times on beds,also changed towels everyday.

Location wise it was around 10mins to beach (little longer if little one walking) and 5mins to shops maybe less.
We didn't use the coach but in a taxi cost is less than 30euros and took around 15mins. Saved us time at arrival and departure!

Would definitely return next year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammisld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 km away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.6 km away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.8 km away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#8 of 93 in Salou
1,609 reviews
1.1 km away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,973 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Avenida Suites

Property: TUI Family Life Avenida Suites
Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Golden Avenida Suites)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#3 Family Hotel in Salou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Family Life Avenida Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI Family Life Avenida Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing