We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #12 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have just returned for a weeks holiday at the Buenos Aires hotel.

The hotel was booked through hotels4u.com who came out cheaper than other hotel websites. The website (and others) claim this is a 3* hotel however I would say it is more 2* and this is confirmed with the official 2* rating at the main entrance.

Firstly as mentioned in previous reviews the location is excellent. Next door to the Yumbo Centre (a gay hot spot) and about a 10 minute walk from the beach.

The apartment itself was compact but well equipped and very clean. We asked for a double bedroom but they only had a twin room apartment and as the hotel was full we were unable to change rooms. The beds were rather firm and we found it more comfortable to sleep on the sofa bed - for some reason I always find this when staying in Gran Canaria! The shower was very powerful and usually lovely and warm although on a few occasions it wasn't however I assume this is because everybody tried to shower at the same time. Only one small bar of soap is provided to remember to bring your toiletries especially as they are more expensive over in Gran Canaria.

The pool area is nice with plenty of sunbeds/umbrellas and is quite protected from the wind. Thankfully there was no need to wake up early to run down with your towel to get a bed. It was a nice touch that the pool was heated although beware that one side is very deep.

The hotel was mainly full of older (45+) straight couples, although speaking to friends who visit Gran Canaria often this is very common in January.

We booked half board and wished we had gone self catering. The food was served buffet style and was of an OK standard however it just simply was not hot enough - even if you went to the restaurant as soon as the buffet opened! A previous review mentioned that there was a microwave to heat food but the plates were too big to fit in (I tried!) and this should not be necessary. The small older lady who waited on the tables in the evening was lovely.

It was very frustrating that we wanted a late check out but were told everyday to come back the next day to organise it only to be told on the last day that it was not possible. Not sure why they could not tell us this from the beginning?

In January the weather was very mild (20 degrees most days) so the room was always at a pleasant temperature however the hotel does not have air conditioning or ceiling fans so I'm not sure how comfortable it would be to stay in the hot summer months. Bear this in mind when booking.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you choose a self catering option and are not looking for a romantic get away - after all Playa del Ingles is great to party!

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so it does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talktomarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

It was several years since we last stayed at The Buenos Airies aparthotel which has since undergone a complete refit. Whilst the rooms are quite small, everything is well fitted and kept spotlessly clean. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and the public areas were kept to a very high standard. The location of this apart hotel is on the corner of the Yumbo Centre and conveniently situated for restaurants, shops and bus services to all parts of the island. However, if you are looking for a quiet holiday, this location would probably not suit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here in July 2011 and can say i was aprehensive as to what the accomadtion was like because we only paid 200 pound for the week. I have stayed in gran canaria before but over the other side of playa des ingles and couldnt find the yumbo centre. Upon arrival i was pleasently suprised it was a superb hotel rooms were spacious and had everything you needed for self catering. Maid cleaned everyday it was spotless and they even did the washing up. The pool area was perfect and was always plenty of sunbeds. All staff were really friendly. Because this hotel is right next to the yumbo centre which is where the gay nightlife happens there are gay people staying here but they are the most nicest politest people you can meet. Have just tried to book up to go back in March but it is fully booked :(. Highly reccomened and if you stay here pay a visit to the red cow accross the road and shenanigans underneath the red cow. If you fancy a tatoo there is an immaculate tatto shop in the red cow prestint veryyyy verryyy clean. Best holiday ever.

Room Tip: every room looks onto the pool so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danielle159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I visited the Aparthotel Buenos Aires on my first (and last) gay version of a "Lads' holiday". We chose the Buenos Aires apartments as they were directly opposite the Yumbo Centre, which is where all the gay bars/clubs are, so we were well placed for stumbling home in the wee hours… it seemed this was also the reason that 75% of the other residents of Buenos Aires apartments had chosen to stay there too!

The apartment FAR exceeded my expectations… it was incredibly clean, and had a really good shower. The daily maid service was a real treat too - we didn't have to wash up once! The beds were far from comfortable, though this was only an issue on the two evenings we chose to stay in - the other nights we were far too tired (read as: tipsy) to be concerned! I would say that if you're planning to stay at xxx and have several nights in, just be aware… the building hallways (which all the bedrooms have a window directly on to) are incredibly noisy during the night, with other residents drunkenly returning home at all hours. If you're doing the same, obviously it's not a problem, but I wouldn't advise staying here if you were planning on having any early or peaceful nights.

The pool and surrounding area were always clean, and we never had a problem getting sun beds. All apartment also come with foam cushions for the sun beds which made them a bit more comfortable!

The free wifi was another major plus of the apartments… wasn't the speediest but worked well and also worked by the pool!

If I DID for some reason end up going back to Gran Can, and it was to have a similar 'partying' type holiday, then I'd definitely stay at the Buenos Aires apartments again.

Room Tip: I'd perhaps try and go for a room towards the end of a corridor, further from the lifts, so fewe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TCLDN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We booked a 2 week half board holiday. The apartment has a twin bedroom with separate kitchen/lounge and good sized balcony. The kitchen is well equiped with 2 ring hob, microwave, fridge and kettle, there are plenty of glasses, cutlery and crockery. The shower room has a very powerful shower but no toiletories are provided. This hotel is right beside the very busy Yumbo centre but there is virtually no noise from this. The food is fine, although at times not hot enough, but there is a microwave. I like cereal and toast for breakfast, the fruit in the morning is melon, I didn't like the coffee or orange juice. The hot breakfast was not that good. It is central and a good stroll to the beach/dunes. There is a sofa bed in the lounge. This apart/hotel was renovated and refurbished a couple of years ago and is a long way better than most other hotels I have stayed in in Playa del Ingles.

Room Tip: a high room we were on 4th floor, there are 5 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

A little bit over average level.
Good and friendly staff. Cosy rooms with good beds, all facing pool. Needed a bit renovating...
CLEAN!
Ok smallish pool with jacuzzi. Pool bar worked ok.
Breakfast was pretty good.

Only problem we experienced was noise. We were on second floor so noise from traffic and drunk people disturbed. Take ear plugs with you or ask for higher level.

Hard Rock cafe closed. That is minus also.

A lot of gay men around but it did not bother too much....

Overall ok clean hotel with friendly service.

Room Tip: Upper floors = more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Once again the holiday ever, The Hotel is a very comfy hotel the staff are great and can not do enough for you. The Hotel is just across the road from The Red Cow where you can eat at good prices also you have the fun bar just under the red cow.
Playa del ingles is the place to go. So is Buenos Aires. Red Cow & Shenengains.

Room Tip: They are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elphick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.4 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,692 reviews
0.7 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,278 reviews
0.4 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
998 reviews
0.1 km away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#13 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,326 reviews
3.1 km away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida Alfereces Provisionales 29, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $66 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Buenos Aires Hotel Playa Del Ingles
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing