We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Ranked #64 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Las Faluas was suggested as a last-minute alternative since the apartments we originally booked were unavailable. While very basic, the accommodations were a pleasant surprise to my friend and I. The location is ideal - 5 minutes from the beach, around the corner from the bus stop and walking distance to all the restaurants and clubs. The pool area was clean and relaxing and we enjoyed the view from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    45
    47
    24
    19
See reviews for
24
55
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington Surrey UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Booked this apartment after the one we wanted was fully booked so we were aprehensive but thought oh well its only a week..

Stayed from 20-27th Feb 10 in a self catering apartment.

On arrival the apartment was basic and clean and during the stay we saw no cock roaches thankfully. If you stay self catering and expect to do any cooking there is only a two ring hob so any food can only be cooked in a pan/saucepan which are provided. There is no kettle but its not to much of a problem to boil water in a saucepan. We had always planned to eat out so it didn't bother us but could be a problem for those who wanted to cook their own food.

We booked this apartment as we knew that we would not spend too much time in the room and it was adequate for the amount of time we spent there sleeping/showering and was value for money if thats all you need. The bathroom did occasionaly smell of sewage especially in the mornings but I have had this before when I have been to the canaries so I don't think it is unusual.

The towels were changed most days but the sheets were not changed at all. The apartment does not have air conditioning and in Feb was not a problem as it was not that hot at night - but it could be a problem in the summer.

Our apartment was towards the road side so we could hear the traffic and people walking along shouting in the early hours of the morning. If possible it would be better to request a pool view which would cut down the noise.

Pool area was clean with plenty of sun beds but could become over crowded in the height of the summer as the sun shines on the pool area all day. Sun beds do get reserved so probably if you didnt get down to the pool area until late morning there would be none left.

The apartment is ideally located for shops and bars in a short walking distance. There is a supermarket directly across the road and also a bar with the Kasbar and Yumbo 10/15 min walk away.

If you turn left out of the apartment and take the first left along the road which runs along the apartments this will take you to the beach about 15 min walk but there is a lot of steps down to the beach. There are various shops and Bars here and there are two buffet style chinese restaurants which are 6.95 euros for eat as much as you eat. We tried the one called Asian buffet which was 58 different chinese dishes including ice cream and fresh fruit for pudding if you wanted it, as you can see the food in the window and could see the heat coming off the food which was great value for money and really nice.

From the beach we walked right, along the beach towards Maspalomas which took about an hour and a quarter but it is advisable to wear shoes because it becomes stoney and does hurt your feet. As you walk along you will find a long stretch which then becomes the nudist beach. In Maspalomas there are several nice shops and bars and we decided to get the bus back 2.40 euros for two which stops in the road which runs down the side of the hotel.

Drinks can be expensive but there are bars that do do deals. In the Yumbo at Diamonds bar they do different cocktails each night which were 2.95 euros each and quite nice.

The restaurant as you come in to the main entrance on the Yumbo on the first floor which has blue cain seats, which I think was called MIRADOR, was really nice and we ate here a couple of times as well as having a few jugs of Sangria.

It really wasn't that bad the weather started of a bit cloudy but the rest of the week was sunny, but the week before there had been lots of rain and the week after we left was meant to be rainy as well- so I suppose we were fortunate with the weather and its the luck of the draw with the weather if you go to the canaries in Feb.

We would probably stay here again but we would make sure we had a room facing the pool to reduce the noise and anyone that has read the previous reviews don't be put off but bear in mind that when the weather is hot the cock roaches do come out as I have been to Tenerife in the height of the summer and saw loads, so things may be different at different times of the year.

Hope this helps all of that are maybe thinking of going here its not four star but clean and tidy and adequate if you just want a room as a base- you get what you pay for and it is value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunnylazyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I came across recent reviews of Las Faluas and whilst my stay was a few years ago, the recent poor reviews ring all too true.

On the face of it the hotel looks quite nice. However, there were many cockroaches in the apartment and the door could often be opened without using the card-key, I think this was due to the sun shining on the doors and the heat jamming the mechanism. Staff seemed unconcerned by the security risk that this posed.

There is was no air conditioning and the heat at night was unbearable in the rooms.

I checked out of La Faluas early and my recommendation would be to try one of the many other hotels in Gran Canaria, its worth paying a little extra.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelGuestVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

basingstoke england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2009

me and my girlfriend stayed here for a week or not. when we first got 2 the hotel it looked ok ish from the outside but then when we got showed to our rooms we was discusted there was poo in the hall area and it smelt of sewage every where then when the gentleman opened our room door there was cock roaches running around our apartment. the waiters were rude and no 1 was helpful in any way. in the end we checked out of there. the only plus we got from staying here was that there was a lovely hotel opposite named buernaventura we stayed here in the end and would stongley recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orientsupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

i stayed in these apartments in june 2005 on the advice of a friend.(who also came on holiday with me)
On arrival it looked fine from outside - however on opening the door to my room ...putting on the light....i was treated to the sight of about 7 large cockroaches scuttling all over the walls and floors.
They were everywhere...in the bed....on the towels...in the wardrobes....coming up from the shower....i killed about 15 the first night. Went to reception and asked but got no satisfactory response. He said it was because of "heat "......no effort was made to take the situation seriously . No air con in rooms made worse by the windows not opening at 30 degrees C.!
the following morning was the icing on the cake......was showering and pulled towel off rack to dry and 6 massive roaches fell off towel on bathroom floor!I immediately checked out and checked in to a hotel called the riu palace hotel...was a lt dearer but so worth it. Its a pity about the faluas because if they dealt with their infestation problem it would be OK(ish)...but according to someone i know who went there recently..problem still the same.......

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cockroaches.
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go cheap- try to get a good deal on 4 star accomodation. r
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cortober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.3 km away
Apartamentos Montemar
Apartamentos Montemar
#90 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
139 reviews
1.0 km away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#58 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
230 reviews
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#59 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Guinea Apartments
Guinea Apartments
#65 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
198 reviews
0.3 km away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#126 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
61 reviews
0.1 km away
Jardin del Atlantico
Jardin del Atlantico
#124 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Las Faluas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Las Faluas

Property: Apartamentos Las Faluas
Address: Avenida Tenerife 9 | Playa del Ingles, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Las Faluas 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Las Faluas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Las Faluas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Las Faluas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing