We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Super food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Ranked #17 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

we have just come back from 2 weeks at the Riu Palmeras we thought the food and service excellent, waiting staff seem permanently cheerful. The reception staff helpful and the whole hotel spotless . The location isn't great as it stands back from the beach but the gardens are pretty and there are always plenty of loungers and seating to accommodate everyone. This was our first experience of a Riu Hotel, but were told all Riu Hotels are run equally efficiently. We shall certainly look out for a Riu Hotel at other resorts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    203
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
105
219
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We just stayed here for a weeks winter break and had high expectations reading the reviews on here.
Agreed that the location is good - close to shops restaurants and 10 minutes to the beach and great walks on the dunes.
Rooms are clean all with balcony and pool view.
The food is of a high standard for buffet fare, plenty of choice but we did decide to have a couple of meals out towards the end of our week.
Guess the only thing that let it down was inconsistent levels of service. In particular the checkout was really poor and we didn't find the staff to be friendly as reported on here but the were overall professional. We felt quite constrained that you are assigned to a particular sitting And table for dinner and it seemed like a hassle to the hotel staff and hard work when we asked if we could swap sittings one night as we were told it was busy but there seemed to be plenty of space. Guess though these arrangements suit some guests more than others.
Overall though it didn't impact on our holiday and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsnicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, South Wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Riu Palmeras and would thoroughly recommend it.

The staff are excellent, very friendly and attentive. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant is good quality. My only criticism is that the exercise equipment is looking rather tired and the lack of showers & water dispenser in the gym area lets it down. I would say that the hotel attracts an older crowd, maybe 80% German, 20% British. Pool area & Bar are also lovely.The Palmeras is in a good location in the heart of Play del Ingles. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Riu Palmeras in Playa del Ingles. What a wonderful holiday! The Staff are so efficient and willing to do all they can to give you a good holiday, so much so, that everyone commented from day one that they can't keep this up for a fortnight, but they did. My room was beautifully furnished and kept very clean each day by a lovely room maid.

The food is so good with lots of choice. If you cannot find food you want then you do not deserve to eat, it is better than most 5 star Hotels. I want to go back immediately please.

I travelled with SAGA.

Room Tip: All rooms face south. Try to get a high floor, so that the trees do not obscure the view, but on sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shirley12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We found the staff so nice.Everything in this hotel was excellent.We would like to say a big Thank You especially to the Director that was on duty on Nov 20th and 21st (I am sorry I did not get his name) Our flight was late and we missed dinner and the Director invited us to lunch the following day.During our stay he took the time to stop and talk to each table at dinner and the wonderful lunch we had.Nothing was too much for him and his staff.The food was brilliant.
We look forward to our next visit.I am sorry I did not get a chance to thank him and say goodbye but we will be back.Keep uop the good work in Hotel Riu Palmeras.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deroscoachtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We just come back from Gran Canaria on 24th October, staying in RIU , Palmeras.
Hotel is very clean, nice food, good entertainment every night. Close to the beach ( 5 minutes walk from hotel).Swimming pool is clean and very organised. We had a premium island tour organised by the hotel which was excellent. 59Euro per person ( lunch included) which was worth a trip.
The only thing which were not happy was the check in at the reception. When we arrived we were told that we have only one room booked. We booked two rooms ( 1 for 2 people and 1 for single occupancy). Our hotel accommodation vouchers confirmed this. We were stressed at that point. After few minutes, the middle age man at the reception checked it again and told us that, he found another room for us.
We have requested " higher floors, sea view, rooms close to each other". we did not get any of these. we were told by this gentleman, that this is our request, but they will give at their availability. So, what is the point of putting special request in when we choose this hotel.
There are 7 floors in this hotel, we were given rooms on 3rd Floor.
We can see sea through trees from 3rd floor. You need to be at least on 4th Floor to see a glimpse of sea. I asked him, if We can pay extra to get better rooms. He said "No". That was our only disappointment with this hotel.
Most staff in this hotel are nice and helpful, especially Jonathan at the reception. This young man is lovely. Answer all our queries and no job too small or big for him.
Apart from the mentioned above, we enjoyed the trip.
According to Accu Weather, we should have rain two days during our 7 days holiday. But, rain was so light and lasted only few minutes. We can't even call this rain, more of a drizzle than rain.
Supermarket in front of hotel has many good restaurants .Weather was Sunny most days at the temperature between 22.C to 25.C.
We walked towards Maspolomas sand dunes every morning or afternoon.Good exercise and it is pedestrian only walk area. Beautiful.We will go back to GC again, but will try different RIU Hotel next visit. Our rooms are on 3rd Floor close to outdoor entertainment area, so we can hear the music until late every night. We can only go to sleep after entertainment completed.
Dr K H S

Room Tip: At least on 4th Floor and not in the middle. Avoid rooms 119,219,319,419,519,619, and 719. Right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank khin hla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I went to Gran Canaria in August 2011 with my sister. We chose to stay at Riu Palmeras ando enjoy a lot: very clean, nice staf, very good food, nice pool, beatiful gardens and good service, close to beach, supermarket, bars ando shops.
I'm very happy for chosing this hotel e will certaly chose it again.

Sisters wth 31 and 27 years old.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RubinaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.2 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.1 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,836 reviews
0.1 km away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.8 km away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Property: Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America,1 | Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palmeras/Riu Palmitos is located in Gran Canaria, Spain, and is ideal for enjoying holidays as a family, couple or with friends and soaking up the good atmosphere radiated by the island. In the calm and central resort of Playa del Ingles beach, you will find this comfortable 4 star complex that offers the service and quality that can be expected of RIU Hotels & Resorts. Everything you could need for relaxing and fun-filled holidays is within easy reach. It includes a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace and a gym as well as many water sports and two golf courses. In the surrounding area you can also rent a bike, play squash, mini golf or tennis.Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing