We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infestation of cockroaches --- Don't stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Infestation of cockroaches --- Don't stay there”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This place was just awful. I stayed here with my best friend for 12 days and we hated it. The first night we saw cockroaches, but we thought that it might just be a random incident. Well, boy was I wrong...The next day when we came back from the beach, we saw three cockroaches in different areas of the room; one on the floor, one in the bathroom, and one on the stove of the little kitchenette. We went to the reception to address the issue and the clerk just smirked and said: "You didn't know that Tenerife is the capital of cockroaches?" We were shocked by his response and seeming unconcern for our complaint. When we asked him to change rooms, he said that there were no other rooms available until the next day and that all he could do was send someone to kill the cockroaches. Even though we did not want to stay in a room that was infested with cockroaches, we had to agree to spend another night since that was our only option. We went back to our room and about 10minutes later the guy who was supposed to get rid of the roaches showed up with a spray can. He sprayed directly onto the roaches, but they just flew away. After about 5 minutes of this spectacle and no success, the guy got angry and stepped on them with his steel toe boots. However, even that did not kill them immediately. It took him another three times to eventually kill one. By that time, the two others had already crawled back behind the kitchenette and the cabinet, so that he could not reach them anymore. My friend and I decided that we could not stay any second longer in this room, so we decided to sleep on the beach instead and come back the next day when a room would be available. When we returned the next morning to the reception after a sleepless night, we were given a new room as promised. After first inspection the second room seemed to be ok. But when my friend went to the bathroom and picked up the toilet paper roll on the toilet tank, she found another roach--this one already dead. I don't know what was worse: that this room obviously also had roaches or that the cleaning service obviously sucked since they had missed a dead roach. We went back to the reception again to state how unsatisfied we were with the hotel. The guy at the reception called the manager and he moved us to another room. When we were on the way there, the two girls that had been staying in the room we were about to get approached us and advised that we don't stay in this room because it was full of bed bugs. The girls' arms were covered with red dots, easily recognizable as bed bug bites. Appalled by this audacity we went back to the lobby and told the manager that we wanted our money back since we had not been able to enjoy a single second of our trip. The manager told us that this was not possible but that he was going to move us again to a much nicer room. He said that those rooms are usually more expensive, but he will move us there without additional costs. Even though, I appreciate his effort of moving us to a "better" room, it sounded like we should be grateful to receive a more expensive room for no additional money...Ridiculous! Any money paid so far had already been too much! About 2 hours later we moved to our 4th room. It was definitively nicer than the previous ones and after careful inspection we did not find any more cockroaches. However, we just couldn't feel comfortable anymore. We also made sure to close the door ever night before the sun set because at night the cockroaches would swarm to the little balcony that our window door opened to. Since our room did not have AC nor a ceiling fan, we would be sweating all night. Like I said, we just couldn't get comfortable anymore. We tried to spend the least amount of time in our room, but even the little time we were there was not relaxing.
I also want to mention that our room(s) wasn't the only one infested with cockroaches. A mother and daughter sitting sitting next to us at dinner stated that their room was full of cockroaches as well and when she complained the hotel was unwilling to move her. She put up with it until one morning when she got woken up by a cockroach crawling up her arm. After that horrible incident she packed her stuff and moved to a different hotel. Being students, my friend and I unfortunately did not have the money to do that.
I think the only plus was the food. Even though, it was not great, it was ok and decent for the price. I would have expected worse from a place like this.
All in all, I would never in my life stay here again. Not even for free. Not even if you pay me.
I don't know, the place might have changed (stayed there few years back, but would not let me go back further than Jan2011) and improved -the buffet and dining area sure looks great now- but this experience has traumatized me when it comes to cheap hotels. I was not expecting luxury, but if you pay any kind of money you can expect a clean and bug free room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jule628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    138
    110
    55
    70
See reviews for
104
172
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

After reading negative reviews for this hotel i was wondering what we had let ourselves in for. The apartment we were allocated was clean and had not long been renovated and had all you would expect for self catering including an electric toaster. We were situated a little way from the pool/bar which meant it was nice and quiet. Maid sevice was good and a couple of minor repairs required (kitchen cabinet door handle & loo seat) were attended to promptly. Having visited Las Americas over the last 15 years this is the best value for money i have had in Tenerife and will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil120Loughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

my husband and i just back from 9 days at this hotel was very wary about going after reading reviews we had a great time at phase 3 main block room was great quiet what we wanted good maid service clean toilet plenty of hot water 5 mins down road to beach and walk to main bars and restaurants pool area was nice and relaxing and reception staff very nice ate at pool bar several times for lunch no complaints .all in all we had very pleasant stay would defo go back for another winter break .

Room Tip: we were in room 87 g in which sun shone all day plus sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Everyone who has gave this hotel a negative comment ignore it if you are like me. I am a down to earth 43 year old woman and my children are teenagers. I visited the hotel for 5 nights with my 16 year old daughter. The service at this hotel is excellent. The food is nice but if you do not like the food at dinner or breakfast you can go to the bar and order anything you want off the menu, The sausages are tasty!! If your quite young and ready to party there is many bars and clubs with great entertainment just around the corner from the hotel open till late. There is things to do for people of all ages including the fact that the main water park in Tenerife is only a ten minute walk. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the maids also do a great job cleaning the room every day apart from just emptying the bins in the room 2 days a week. I disagree that the hotel has been rated 3* i believe it should be upgraded for the standard of the hotel. Also there is a rep on hand all day and all night and plus the entertainment is constant day and night too. Overall i enjoyed my trip in early December and i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are better when not close to bar and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I don't normally leave reviews but felt I should as alot of people have written very negative reviews. We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Paraiso Del Sol phase 3 appartments. We were a bit nervous after reading the reviews but we were pleasantly suprised! :) All staff were very friendly and helpful. Reception staff were very helpful and gave us a courtesy room for a shower before we left for our flight. Beach/bars/restaurants - 5 min walk away. Great weather and met some lovely people! Only downfall was that the kitchen area had alot of ant type things running around - but this didnt bother us too much as we ate out alot. Good value for a nice but cheap last min deal! We felt very safe and weren't bothered by the noise. Good experience! :D

Room Tip: phase 3 appartments are in the main block - we found this fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Paraiso del Sol and had a wonderful time, we had a really nice first floor room, 1 bedroom, kitchen/bedroom for the children, bathroom with mixer shower with boiling hot water, nice balcony, great cleaner 5 days a week, very clean room, few broken tiles but so what. Food very good for the whole 2 weeks, fish, meat, pasta, salad, soup, everything you need and a microwave if you wanted it a little hotter, bar staff very friendly, drinks very good, if a little strong, but we got ourselves separate coke to water it down a bit sometimes, lovely coffee, made in big pint plastic cups when we got back from beach, no complaints with food or drink at all.
Hotel 5 minutes walk from a lovely beach which is all sand and rocks round the edge good for snorkelling but the waves were so big all the time we were there we just surfed the waves. 10 minutes walk to Siam water park, £128 for 4 to get in but if you go back again half price so we thought may as well go twice.
Receptionist told us to be careful with belongings when we got there, we knew 4 people who had been mugged late at night in the town so do be careful, but we stayed in the Hotel for 2 weeks and met some great people and had a great time, Bingo will never be forgotten, Elvis the new rep didnt really speak English so it was very amusing, they had one Jamaican Singer once a week who was really good, this is the only complaint, they do need more professional acts as all the other nights it was bird/reptile/animal shows, which do not cost the hotel anything as they want you to buy the pictures, but we had a really great time, pool reallyl warm, I think it was heated on the second week, would definately stay there again as ideal location to the beach and really good food, we were all inclusive.

Room Tip: We stayed in Phase 3 make sure you stay there as there are another 4 hotels this is the main hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Don´t know what to say. Everything was quite OK. We are very satisfaction to our visit.

We liked Your helpfull staff and get on very well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.2 km away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 km away
Aparthotel Udalla Park
Aparthotel Udalla Park
#38 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 km away
Bungalows Barranco
Bungalows Barranco
#19 of 31 in Arona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.8 km away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
0.5 km away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso del Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso del Sol Apartments

Property: Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Address: Avenida V Centenario, 7, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paraiso del Sol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This pleasant low rise complex enjoys an excellent location in the very heart of Playa de Las Americas. The complex is formed by two floor bungalows surrounded by bright flowers and shrubs. New and very pleasant buffet restaurant with show cooking and nice terrace. Reception area and main bar have been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Paraiso del Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Sol Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Paraiso Del Sol Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing