We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return to paradise”
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“return to paradise”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

third visit to the sol tenerife.all inclusive is great value .careful wording of special requests will ensure position of room is to your taste. the staff,position,and food are this hotels strengths.balcony views tremendous both day and night.have allready booked our next visit craig and maureen.

Room Tip: high and poolview are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Craig & Maureen,

thank you for spending your valuable time in publishing your positive experience of your last stay in our Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy our food and our staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again your next stay.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    1,103
    798
    399
    307
See reviews for
552
1,631
133
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When we arrived we were Greeted by a lovely receptionist who checked us in!! Room was lovely, great view of beach, sea!! We went all inclusive, which was fantastic, need more range of cocktails available on all inclusive tho ;-) entertainment was good, bar staff and waiters always helpful!!! Overall fantastic however there was a lot of noise at night but what Do u expect when it's located in the middle of clubbing central!!! Shame about the weather was a bit cold and very cloudy for February!! Would definately recommend this hotel and planning our next trip!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenners111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review about your last stay with us.

We are really happy to know that you could enjoy your stay and our staff was helpful to make your stay fantastic.

We take note of your comment about our AI service.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed two weeks in this hotel. Those two weeks were the most terrible weeks of all my numerous travels including a dozen trips to Tenerife. We could not sleep at all before 6:00 am due to the tremendous noise that the nightclubs in Veronica call 'music', We changed rooms with no apparent result. The furniture in the rooms was dirty and shabby, not of a four-star hotel. Half of the sunbeds were like 'black holes' the rest dirty. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it. Regarding to your comments about sunbeds are cleaned in a regular basis but we are ckecking every sunbed and we replace sunbeds canves if they are in bad condition.

Once again thank you for writing your comments.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our flight was delayed for 12 hours due to a technical fault and we were put up in the Sol Tenerife by Iberia. This in no respect refelcted on the stay though as they were quick in sorting out the hotel, so well done to them. The hotel was dire through.

The hotel was built ~1979 and it showed. The food was poor (a Harvester salad was better than this, so not saying much) and the worst point by far was the banging night club nearby that ran through the night until 0500 hrs in the morning, so kept us all awake - the other guests also complained come morning.

The room was basic and how this hotel dares to display four stars, I just don't know ? In 1979, then okay, not 30 plus years later - Scandalous. If you go home and say you holiday in a four star, forget it. Think two star UK and you will be on the money.

If you have children, you would pull your hair out with the surrounding night time noise (we were there in Feb 12) so only knows what peak times are like.

Teenagers would revel with the location though, but if you want a nights sleep, then save up and pay extra to stay some where else like Adeje. If you want descent food, even visiting the McDonalds up the road (it was that poor) would be preferable.

Good luck.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fordy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing your impressions about your visit.

We are very sorry that you left our Hotel with such a negative impression. Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it.

Once again thank you for writing and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from a great week away in the Sol Tenerife.

We had no problems at all, all staff very friendly, had a fab quiet room overlooking the pool with a sea view to boot, how? I called the hotel in advance with my requests knowing full well one aspect of this hotel faced outdoor nightclubs that go on till 4am, so please, speak to reception if you want a quiet room, they're not mind readers!

The food was fantastic, both Canaries and international style, the only moans i heard where from a British couple who felt there was nothing but chips for them.

The vast majority of those staying at this hotel are German, Italian, Spanish and Scandinavian, Brits only account for about 1% so be prepare for a queue jumping bonanza in the bar and restaurant and a rush for the sunbeds.

Would stay again, give it a try.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your comments about your stay in Sol Tenerife.

We are please to know that you could enjoy your stay and your evaluation about food is fantastic.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 6 to 13 Feb 2012

Negatives first:
Staff on reception are utterly useless. They pretend not to see you standing waiting to be attended to, as they shuffle papers or talk to each other.

The (supposedly prohibited) reservation of sun loungers is off the scale ridiculous in this hotel!! We (I hate to admit this!) had to set our alarm for 7am, go down with our towels to lay on beds then go back to bed for couple hours, otherwise we would have been without a bed all day. I think there are not enough beds in relation to the amount of guests/rooms and since the beach isn't great the pool beds are in high demand.

Be aware!!! If you are placed in a room in tower B, you will not sleep because you will be subject to the intolerable noise from the surrounding bars and venues which have REALLY LOUD music and singing till very late. I usually don't mind (and in fact expect) a bit of noise in a busy resort such as Las Americas but this is beyond what most people would find acceptable.

The choice of in room TV channels is rubbish. Only British channel is BBC news 24. I know you don't go on holiday to watch tv but I like it on during that period of coming up from pool and getting ready for dinner / going out.

Positives:
Hotel is in a great location - couple minutes walk from restaurants, bars, etc

Hotel backs onto a sort of promenade that runs all the way to Los Christianos and is crammed with nice little bars, cafes and shops. It really is a lovely walk, with lots to see and is constantly bustling with loads of people. Its a really good vibe. If tennis is your thing there are 6 courts within 150 mts of hotel (along promenade) which can be rented by time.

The food was very good. Everything you can possibly imagine for breakfast was on offer - buffet style. Dinner was just as good - always lots of salad, veg, fish and at least 3 types of meat. If pizza, chips and chicken nuggets is your thing - that is also available every night. All in all, food was of a great standard.

The level of cleanliness throughout the hotel was superb. Room meticulously cleaned every day. Fresh towels regularly supplied and never a speck of dust anywhere.

In summary, I would probably stay here again. I felt it was good value for money, and although the negatives were annoying, they were not deal breakers. Having said that, in regard to the noise, I would certainly remember to take my ear plugs with me next time!!

Room Tip: Rooms in Tower A are quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVESAUSAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments and for sharing your experience during your stay at our Hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay has been generally pleasant. We have taken note of your comments about reception service, sunbeds, and English TV channels choice

Comments such as yours are always very helpful for us in order to improve facilities and service we are striving for. Once again thank you for taking your time in publishing your comments.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helier
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Steer clear of this hotel, although it would have been a prime 4 star property back in the 1980's the managements policy of dealing with overbooking has a lot to be desired. We were a group of 8 who each had booked individual rooms via the hotel web site. Upon arrival at 6.45pm we were told by the surly male receptionist that our bookings been released as we needed to check in before 6pm...there was no mention of this on our booking confirmation and the male receptionist could not show us any literature to prove this !! The receptionist conveniently said that he would however move us to their "sister hotel" on the same terms....it turned out this hotel had no association with the Sol Tenerife we had just been booked out and made to feel like we had not read the fine print. We later found out that this is a common practice they employ and they regularly book out group parties as they are easier to relocate ! Steer well clear of this hotel and their dodgy overbooking pratices !

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank whiskeyandcoke69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Whiskeyandcoke69,

Thank you for have given us the opportunity to welcome you at the Sol Tenerife. We really appreciate your comment because it teaches us how to enrich our services day to day and, furthermore, it helps us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the Sol Tenerife to provide you with the best of our attention for recover your trust in us and make your stay an unforgettable and very special experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.1 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.5 km away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.9 km away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing