We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Islay room was great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greshornish House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Islay room was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This former Laird's manor was in a great setting. We stayed in the Islay room and would stay there again. We did not eat dinner there as it seemed expensive.

The living area was cozy but the chairs could have taken a re-stuffing (but perhaps that is the style). We definitely enjoyed the snooker table. The photos on their web site represented the public areas well.

This was the most expensive B&B we stayed at and I think the value was not as high as others.

Room Tip: Islay room- though it was not cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdchick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    30
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned home after a wedding in Skye. The Greshornish did us proud, Neil and Rosemary were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them and the food was brilliant. The setting was ideal for your wedding photographs

Room Tip: You can log on to the Greshornish web site and pick your own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Echt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

lovely manor; lovely hosts. I preferred the breakfast - outstanding homemade marmalade

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mal678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I have never used this site before but felt I needed to express how disappointed I was with this 'hotel'/b&b/someones home. The fact is its not a hotel or b&b - this is a couples home and guests are not made to feel atall welcome. I am upset that I spent London prices and left with a very sour taste. I am always happy to pay when I feel its deserved - fact is you couldnt pay me to stay here after this experience. The owners are rude full stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wallllessss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Our room was enormous and very comfortable. The building and grounds exume charm. But, like others, we did not feel welcome; the hosts, it seems to me belong in a different business. And the food was good but certainly not extraordinary and the prices were mindbending. As a minor example we made one local phone call and were charged 1.50 lbs.

Room Tip: And you'll find that it's difficult to acquire the wifi password, then it won't reach to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LonnieDRockport_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Further to the previous reviews I can say that my wife and I spent two nights at Greshornish in September 2011. The house and the room were faultless and in general we enjoyed our stay.

As to the comments regarding the severe attitude of the hosts. We have to agree that the booking process, the strict check in times and the strong references to the cancellation policies on the web site set our nerves on edge as to what we had let ourselves in for. However our arrival to settle into the Islay room was without problem. Sadly we arrived on a Tuesday so no dinner facilities were on offer as it was the chef's night off. This was told to us on booking. We were offered good advice to go to the local pub in Edinbane where we enjoyed a good meal and some impromptu celtic music.

When we returned we enjoyed a night cap with Neil and found his company both convivial and entertaining. As he is a retired school teacher of classic subjects perhaps some connection with the running of a prep school and the running of Greshornish might be understandable. Also the house literature clearly states, as some posters found, that Greshornish is a home, not a hotel. The problem is that it looks more like a hotel so it is equally understanable that customers might find the two policies conflicting.

On the second night we ate in and enjoyed an excellent meal with an excellent choice of wine. The meal was prepared and served to a high standard but cost only a few pounds more than the local Inn had charged for 'pub grub' the night before. It is worth bearing in mind that everything on Skye is priced for the tourist market.

Our breakfasts on both days were enjoyable but we did feel that some comodities were rather measured out than supplied without limit. However askjng for extra juice or other items produced no objeciton.

All in all if you approach Greshornish with the view that you are a paying guest of Neil and Rosemary in their magnificent home then you will enjoy your stay. Approach it with the expectation of freedoms normally associated with corporate four star accomodation and you will find yourself bemused with the product on offer.

We enjoyed our stay and would return. We wish Rosemary and Neil well and thank them for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BoeingBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed for four nights in August with our family and were frustrated by this place. If it had been all bad, that would have been simple but it was a lovely hotel with a certain issues.

On the plus side, the house was lovely, the setting fabulous and the food delicious. On the minus side, we were made to feel as if we were a huge bother to our hosts. The many rules were enforced with such rigidity that in the end we could not wait to leave. The room and dinner were very expensive, which would have been Ok if we had felt welcome, but from the moment we arrived we seemed to inconvenience Neil and Rosemary. We were made to feel as if we were staying in their home, not a hotel, and that, as house guests, we should do as we were told. It was not a B&B (we have stayed in many who made us feel more welcome than this expensive hotel) so we were disappointed at this attitude.

Skye was great but we had an uncomfortable few days stay here for our family trip. Why are these people running a hotel? They obviously do not like having guests staying with them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
0.2 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
17.8 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
21.6 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.0 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.2 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
43.0 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greshornish House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greshornish House Hotel

Property: Greshornish House Hotel
Address: Edinbane IV51 9PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greshornish House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Greshornish House Hotel Edinbane, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing