We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Noisy & Irritating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greshornish House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Edinbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Noisy & Irritating”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We've visited Skye several times over the last couple of years and stayed in several different B&Bs. This year we decided to try something different and decided on Greshornish House Hotel which is located about 25 minutes from Portree close to Dunvegan. This beautiful house is set in a stunning location and sat right on the edge of Loch Greshornish.

Checking in was nice and simple and our bags were taken to our room. When I spoke to the proprietor on the phone to book the room, he enquired if we would require a meal on our first night and I said we'd be eating in Portree and if we did require a meal on subsequent evenings, I would give him plenty of notice. Despite this, he did ask again when we arrived (This was now the second time he'd asked.....).

We had one of the rooms to the rear of the house (Oronsay) and it was clean and cosy and It appeared to have been refurbished fairly recently. Bathroom was a good size and spotless. No separate shower cubicle though.... you have to climb and stand in the bath to make use of it.

The strangest feature was the bed. A lovely large comfortable bed that appears to have been placed the wrong way around..... I may be wrong but it did seem slightly strange! There were tea & coffee facilities in the room along with a couple of pieces of homemade shortbread which had clearly been sitting there for several days / weeks / months uncovered (and was still sitting there when we left)

The next morning breakfast was nice with plenty of choice and no problems asking for additional toast. Upon leaving the dining room, we were again asked if we'd require a meal that evening and again, we declined (number three!). Again the following morning we were asked (number 4) and when I replied we'd not be requiring a meal, the owner curtly asked 'WHY' we didn't want to eat in the restaurant! I've never been asked to justify something like that before!

In the evenings, the room was comfortable to relax in. The TV was old and temperamental (not hugely important, although in a hotel costing this much, you'd expect better). This was however marred by the fact the house was noisy. There was a barking dog below our room, which started up well after 11pm and other guest's noise was clearly audible.

I've rated this poor overall because it's of a standard I wouldn't expect in a £140 a night hotel on Skye, in London or anywhere else in the world. Three things stood out as good.... the Room, the Breakfast and the nice guy who took our bags to the room and served breakfast. The rest of it, quite frankly, was seriously lacking.

The continual harassment to eat in the restaurant was just irritating. If the owner was to read the reviews on this site about his restaurant, he'd realise why we (and other guests we talked to) didn't want to eat there. On an island of a 1001 quality places to eat we certainly weren't going to waste our time or money eating there. I was also unfortunate enough to witness the owner's wife ripping into a supplier on the telephone while she infront of guests, again, something I really wouldn't expect in a hotel such as this.

So in summary... Greshornish House Hotel has such massive potential and could really be one of Skye's gems but in my opinion, the owners let it down. Please don't get me wrong, they are perfectly polite and cordial, I just feel they are out of touch with the pulse of the Island. At £140 a night it's grossly overpriced for the standard offered and there are far far better places to stay on Skye for the same (or less) money.. ask me if you'd like a recommendation.

Needless to say we won't be going back to what could have been something special. Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Goldfishrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    30
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Another wonderful stay with Neil and Rosemary. The Islay room was ever bit as comfortable as before and the views and hospitality were great. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and we enjoyed every bite. This was our second visit in the last three years and we would come again for sure. Our Hosts are very congenial and we would tell them not to change a thing. Its money well spent!!!!!

Room Tip: The views from the Islay room are wonderful Goofed, There is no fitness center except the 2.5 mile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tighegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Although slightly nervous after reading some of the reviews, we decided to go to Greshornish House for a couple of nights with our children (14 and 12). It’s probably important to be aware of the hotel’s way of doing things – rather limited dining hours for example – and also to bear in mind that they would have to charge a good deal more if they offered the kind of service you would find at a more conventional, corporate hotel.

The house is located in a remote and extremely picturesque corner of Skye, an excellent base for the island, particularly its beautiful northern coastline. It is a little like staying in a scaled down National Trust property, with dark wood panelling, old fashioned, elegant wall paper and many interesting paintings and ornaments. Our bedrooms were both extremely attractive and spacious. Our room, Jura, had a wonderful view. Downstairs there is a rather old fashioned bar and reception area - the drawing room and snooker room are much more elegant – both great places to read, relax or play games. There is a recently added conservatory, where tea and breakfast are served, and a very pleasant dining room which was more contemporary in style.

Breakfast was delicious - memorable marmalade - and a nice bonus is free afternoon tea, laid out as a matter of course each day with a choice of homemade cakes and biscuits. Dinners were slightly uneven in quality - the style isn’t terribly sophisticated, and one or two choices, such as the lamb, were a bit disappointing – the best dishes were simple, and relied on very good local ingredients – tasty pate, excellent steak, some of the most delicious mussels I’ve ever had and absolutely wonderful cheese, particularly the Caboc. I can see why some have found the food a little overpriced, but there are extra difficulties involved in running a kitchen in such a remote location – and we all enjoyed the overall experience. The wines were good too.

Despite the negative comments from some reviewers, the owners are friendly and knowledgeable – it’s probably worth having a discussion about bedroom choice (these vary considerably in style and price) and making sure you wouldn’t prefer staying somewhere more completely conventional. Overall this was a most memorable and enjoyable stay – and reasonable value considering what a special house and location this is.

Room Tip: Jura is a very pleasant, large room with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CambridgeSarahBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in the Islay room, which was large, roomy and comfortable. You could happily spend time in here beyond just sleeping. But with the lounge, the bar and the snooker room downstairs, not to mention the beautiful grounds, you're spoilt for choice for where to hang out!

The public areas could maybe be a little bit tidier (OK, just one corner of the snooker room) but overall, I really enjoyed this place.

It was expensive, but was very nice, with an excellent breakfast served too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Islay - the laird's bedroom in days of old. Very nice and spacious with views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This former Laird's manor was in a great setting. We stayed in the Islay room and would stay there again. We did not eat dinner there as it seemed expensive.

The living area was cozy but the chairs could have taken a re-stuffing (but perhaps that is the style). We definitely enjoyed the snooker table. The photos on their web site represented the public areas well.

This was the most expensive B&B we stayed at and I think the value was not as high as others.

Room Tip: Islay room- though it was not cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdchick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned home after a wedding in Skye. The Greshornish did us proud, Neil and Rosemary were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them and the food was brilliant. The setting was ideal for your wedding photographs

Room Tip: You can log on to the Greshornish web site and pick your own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Echt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

lovely manor; lovely hosts. I preferred the breakfast - outstanding homemade marmalade

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mal678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinbane
0.0 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
168 reviews
0.0 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
0.0 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.0 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
376 reviews
0.0 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greshornish House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greshornish House Hotel

Property: Greshornish House Hotel
Address: Edinbane IV51 9PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Edinbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Edinbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greshornish House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Greshornish House Hotel Edinbane, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing