We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Gumbo is absolutely the best”

The Schooner Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Nederland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Family run business with attention to customer satisfaction. The food is well prepared and served by an outstanding staff. The seafood gumbo is a must try, salads are always fresh and crisp, and the garlic toast is the best around.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickjhuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

First, the excellent. Our server, Madison, was both fast & friendly. Quick with the drink refills & very attentive. Brought the salad in just a couple of minutes, along with toasted croutons.
Next, the reason for the "average" rating, which was the food quality. Both the salad & the dressing were OK. Not great, but acceptable. I ordered fried oysters, which were very overdone. They were on the small side, which would have been fine, except they were dry & crispy. My side was potatoes augratin--basically twice baked potatoes served in a cup. Tasty enough, but barely warm.
My wife had fried shrimp & trout. The shrimp were fine. Medium-large & cooked just right. The trout, like the oysters, was overdone, as well as being very salty. Even though she is a fish lover, my wife felt the fish wasn't tasty enough to even finish.
The quality of the food, coupled with the price of $17 per meal, isn't enough to tempt me to return, even though everyone was very nice & friendly. I'd like to finish on a positive note, and say that the portions were large. If the cooks were trained to be as good as the servers, this could be a five star destination!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank pafontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016

We eat here often and it is ALWAYS GREAT. We like to get onion rings for an appetizer and they are to die for! We will be back soon!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2016

Always love going to the Schooner!! The oysters are very good and the price is even better. We always eat one of the platters as we cannot make up our mind which dish is better

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

Had the red snapper with loaded potato, salad and house cabernet. Very good meal. Friendly staff. Prompt service. Lots of parking. On freeway frontage road. Easy off and on access. Good quality for the money. They had a menu with numerous choices. Bayou food, along with routine favorites. Decent wine list and bar service if that is your desire.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Schooner Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Arthur, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Arthur, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Schooner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing