We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cottage, great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruene Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gruene Cottages
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice cottage, great customer service”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The best thing about our cottage was the comfortable King size bed (a comfortable bed is our top priority when on vacation!) and the large jetted tub in the bathroom. The cottage was clean and well-kept. The futon sofa in the living area wasn't too comfortable but not a deal breaker. (We didn't use it as a bed, only as a sofa.) They had nice TVs but no DVD players. We didn't use the pool or playground because of the weather, but they looked nice and well-kept. We had an issue with the hot water heater while we were there, but the owner impressed us with her sincere apologies and a discount for our stay not being perfect the whole time. We would stay there again, despite the water issue, because of the way she handled it. Excellent customer service in the face of unexpected problems makes all the difference...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Clean cottages with comfy beds. Pool is excellent for learning swimmers-- 5ft at the deepest and 3ft on the ends. We were in Pecos, offering a full kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, etc. You *could* sleep 4, but I don't recommend it. The futon is like sleeping on the floor, so avoid it if you have back problems. Tub is large enough for a full size (over 6ft) man. Outside was very nice and well-kept. It's in walking distance from downtown Gruene, with shopping and Gruene Hall for live music.

Room Tip: Take two people off their listing for accomodation-- if it says 6, it's 4 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TexasWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband and I met up with family and stayed for several days here. Both our cottage (the smaller Sonoma cottage) and the larger cottage with a kitchen where the rest of my family stayed (Comfort) were cozy, clean and had very original/well-thought out decorative details without being over-the-top or too kitch. The property had some great amenities, including a pool and playground for kids and multiple bbq pits. It was also close enough to walk to downtown Gruene without being right in the middle of all of the noise-- I slept very soundly the entire time I was there. It's also a great central location from which to explore the hill country. While there's no restaurant on the property, it is close to lots of good places (it is run by the same family that runs the Gruene Mansion Inn, and you can arrange to have breakfast there). There are refrigerators or kitchens in all of the rooms, and we found it really convenient to be able to cook and keep our own food. Everyone in my family-- from granny to my toddler nephew-- was quite happy with the place and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessacondesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I rode my bicycle from North Central San Antonio to Gruene, TX and stayed at the Gruene Cottages. I stayed overnight in the "Sage" guestroom. The friendly staff at the Gruene Mansion Inn (which owns & operates Gruene Cottages) allowed me to check-in early and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring I had a great stay. My guestroom is one of the smallest available but it had wonderful charm and I enjoyed a relaxing evening after a long bicycle ride. Free WIFI allowed me to stay connected to friends/family. The cottages are located south of downtown Gruene so it's a decent walk if you want to go back into town. That distance from the hustle and bustle of Gruene, especially on a weekend when parking and traffic congestion can become an issue, provided the perfect opportunity to enjoy some tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.4 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
106 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 32 in New Braunfels
488 reviews
5.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 32 in New Braunfels
623 reviews
9.5 km away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
1.4 km away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#2 of 17 in New Braunfels
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Cottages

Property: Gruene Cottages
Address: 1950 Hunter Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3041
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruene Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit historic Gruene, Texas and relax in the privacy of one of our two-story rock guest houses with its antique furnishings. The guest houses are replicas of the Fredericksburg Sunday houses that were built in the 1800's. Relax and take a restful journey back in time by spending a few days with us in historical Gruene. Gruene Cottages is managed by the Gruene Mansion Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gruene Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene Cottages Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing