We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Other Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Other Place
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Best river location in New Braunfels. Had the whole family there renting a 2 bedroom unit. Grounds are well kept. Lots of shade in the common area for sitting and visiting and eating out. Nice playground for the kids. Immediate access to the Comal River for swimming and tubing. Staff was very helpful. There were a couple of down sides. There is no daily maid service and the room (at least the unit I stayed in) was noisy. This particular building had 4 units (2 upstairs and 2 downstairs). You could hear walking from above and next door constantly. Not a big deal during the day, but it was loud enough to keep people awake at night. Just normal foot traffic, but no sound proofing at all. Still, enjoyed our stay very much and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    13
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
31
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Other Place best feature is it's location. We had a two bedrooms (two queen bed in both rooms) and two bathrooms which would sleep 12 conformably. Rooms appear to be used most frequently and have a dinning room table and kitchen. The balcony overlooks the river which is very active. The common areas are nicely kept and well maintained. The include many clean coal barbecue grills, a playground for the kids and a volleyball court. The staff was courteous and willing to please. Improvements, i would recommend more parking and updating the furniture in the rooms. We enjoyed and will return. Tips, go tubing during the week, weekends are very, very crowded and PG13 because of the drinking (kids). Internet wasn't working but the WiFi was, just couldn't get the server...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bapmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

This has been our 2nd 2-month stay at The Other Place. We have been very happy here with a cozy unit, precious staff in office, and very friendly folks coming back each year to enjoy warmth and Southern hospitality. If we ever need anything, the staff is always there to accomodate and help to make us comfortable. The owner even has a BBQ for all the residents with lots of prizes and fun. This Resort is situated on a peninsula of the beautiful Comal River that one can tube or swim. Lots of activities and sights in the area. We'll be back again!!!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boerne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

rent 10 plus rooms for 4 days and can't getr a parking permit for a handicaped family member. been staying here for over 30 yrs, NEVER AGAIN.... owners are rude and all they care about is getting your money..will go some where else from now on.... would not recommend this "place" to anyone......hope they go broke........

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unhappycamper005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Rustic, old fashioned, comfortable, convenient, friendly, quiet, and clean, like Grandma's house in the country. I've stayed in a place that was too rowdy and loud and unsafe for kids, in the past. This place is family friendly and relaxing, nestled away from the traffic. Horseshoes, volleyball, and easy in and out of the river. The shuttle bus comes through often to give you and your toob a ride to the park to begin your float. I will definitely return to The Gruene Outpost.... It is a cabin setting surrounded by TREES and a RIVER. very relaxing environment.. I believe the staff have made great improvements to the outpost and i would just like to thank you

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainMo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Our family has been holding a reunion at The Other Place for years. It is hard to beat because believe me we would love to find another place to go. It is a great setup in many ways for these reasons:
the playground in the middle,
the new handicap equipped unit
the River Room for group gatherings
arrangement of cabins around the common area is convenient for family groups
proximity to river, restaurants, shopping, entertainment for all ages.
They did put in some new sofas in the last few years.
The kitchen equipped cabins are convenient too.
I did notice that they swept the volleyball court of leaves and debris so it was usable.

The two bedroom units (2 full beds in each room plus a bathroom) are great for family groups and have large tables for eating.

On the downside. This is a very old and rustic place. No conveniences such as phones, TVs, microwaves, office service etc. The towels are paper thin. Bathrooms are very old. The walls are paper thin. The playground equipment is old and past its prime,,,maybe even dangerous.

Our unit this year smelled of pesticides. I have a headache and my daughter has a headache upon our return. I hope we were not exposed to anything dangerous.

Basically the owners have not put any money into this place in years. You can see many opportunities to improve on the property with just a little effort but that seems to be beyond their scope.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank txfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosenberg, tx
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

the view of the camal was not great from our room, but ok due to the fact were in the woods... our shower had no hot water, so who needs hot water when you've got the camal... a bit pricey, but i'll go back pretty soon... had fun and after all your in the woods...

  • Liked — the outdoors. the camal
  • Disliked — the shower, rm 141
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perktrich001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.7 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Other Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Place

Property: The Other Place
Address: 385 Other Place Dr., New Braunfels, TX 78130
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Other Place New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing