We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$134
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Inn & Suites(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$1,119
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort at Schlitterbahn(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
9
0
1
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
0
1
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2016

This is a great location if you are going to Gruene hall. It's not the nicest place to stay. The breakfast is only store bought snacks. The room where we stayed is a renovated storage room with the bathroom across the hall. It's not very private, certainly not nice or well decorated, and extremely over priced. They have the market cornered on location but quality is lacking. The owner will tell you all about herself if you don't know how to walk away. But the trip was fun and we had fun at Gruene Hall and San Antonio.

Room Tip: Try the room across the street at the other Bed and Breakfast.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2016

I read all the reviews on our way to Gruene and thought "oh, it can't be that bad." Although the place has great curb appeal and a wonderful location, the owner Cheryle is obnoxious and way too talkative. If you say "blue squirrel", she's going to have a 20 minute story about one. There were additional charges we were not expecting, there is NO fine china as she states in her website, she DOES join you for breakfast and dominates the conversation so you are unable to relax and enjoy your time outside on the patio, and beware that the taxes are now 16% not 13% on website. She accused us of ruining towels but what was on them came from her own bathroom floors.....we will NEVER stay here again. Red Brick Inn was wayyy more comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sean0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016

We booked Valentine's weekend and contacted the Owner when we arrived in town regarding parking. We never heard from the Owner. We knocked on the cottage door, rang the door bell, and called the Owner's phone twice and never received an answer. We found it very odd for an owner not to be home or answer their phone. We walked down to a restaurant for an early dinner when the Owner called demanding we return to the cottage to checkin immediately because she haven't ate all day! Owner was aggressive, rude and very unprofessional.

With this strange behavior, we informed the Owner that we declined to stay at the B&B and she said, "whatever y'all want to do." Another strange response from an Owner of a B&B. Immediately, we were overcharged for the room (that we didn't stay in). We were willing to take a financial hit to keep from experiencing this Owner, but not be overcharged! Not to mention, we noticed the hot tub with dead weeds sticking out of it.

Big problem is the Owner. Can't really say what the B&B itself is like inside.

Room Tip: Didn't experience the rooms so can't really say.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 939carltonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2015

I made reservations in March for a stay in October, and they double booked. Then they would not even help us find a room. They were too busy. Then she hung up and would not return my calls. Completely unacceptable.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2015

My best friend, her mother, and I visited Gruene and stayed at Antoinette's Cottage. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but it turned out to be a perfect place to stay.
The house was charming and quaint, the bedroom a mix of antiques and shabby chic with the most comfortable beds! The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious. The front porch faces the main street, and is tastefully decorated with wicker furniture and a new porch swing. '
Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely return.
Thanks so much,
Steffenie, Lola, and Madge

Room Tip: We stayed in Ernst room, and it was great.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffenie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews