We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Gruene and the hospitality was amazing”

Antoinette's Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antoinette's Cottage
Ranked #12 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2016

My husband and I stayed at Antoinette's Cottage in the 1840's room which had it's own entrance and was separate from the rest of the house. We felt that we lucked out with this room because it had the most privacy. We were in walking distance to Gruene Hall, Rock n'R floats, wineries and all of the other great tourist attractions that made Gruene a great weekend get away. Breakfast was served at 9:00 am and was absolutely delicious! My favorite was the quiche Gina made and the creme brulee coffee.... so good!!!!!!!

Had we not hit it off immediately with Bob and Gina, we would have spent more time off the property, lol. They were taking care of the bed and breakfast while the owner was recovering from an injury. Instead we literally hung out on the beautiful patio every night listening to music from the streets of Gruene and drinking wine with Gina and Bob until one in the morning! We even went to dinner together Saturday night! They made us feel at home and made our trip special! We are really thankful for meeting new friends like Bob and Gina that will last a lifetime! They will make your stay enjoyable, relaxing and one you will never forget! You may even make a friendship that will last a lifetime like us too!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful, 1840 is the most private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016

This is a great location if you are going to Gruene hall. It's not the nicest place to stay. The breakfast is only store bought snacks. The room where we stayed is a renovated storage room with the bathroom across the hall. It's not very private, certainly not nice or well decorated, and extremely over priced. They have the market cornered on location but quality is lacking. The owner will tell you all about herself if you don't know how to walk away. But the trip was fun and we had fun at Gruene Hall and San Antonio.

Room Tip: Try the room across the street at the other Bed and Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I read all the reviews on our way to Gruene and thought "oh, it can't be that bad." Although the place has great curb appeal and a wonderful location, the owner Cheryle is obnoxious and way too talkative. If you say "blue squirrel", she's going to have a 20 minute story about one. There were additional charges we were not expecting, there is NO fine china as she states in her website, she DOES join you for breakfast and dominates the conversation so you are unable to relax and enjoy your time outside on the patio, and beware that the taxes are now 16% not 13% on website. She accused us of ruining towels but what was on them came from her own bathroom floors.....we will NEVER stay here again. Red Brick Inn was wayyy more comfortable, relaxing and affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sean0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We booked Valentine's weekend and contacted the Owner when we arrived in town regarding parking. We never heard from the Owner. We knocked on the cottage door, rang the door bell, and called the Owner's phone twice and never received an answer. We found it very odd for an owner not to be home or answer their phone. We walked down to a restaurant for an early dinner when the Owner called demanding we return to the cottage to checkin immediately because she haven't ate all day! Owner was aggressive, rude and very unprofessional.

With this strange behavior, we informed the Owner that we declined to stay at the B&B and she said, "whatever y'all want to do." Another strange response from an Owner of a B&B. Immediately, we were overcharged for the room (that we didn't stay in). We were willing to take a financial hit to keep from experiencing this Owner, but not be overcharged! Not to mention, we noticed the hot tub with dead weeds sticking out of it.

Big problem is the Owner. Can't really say what the B&B itself is like inside.

Room Tip: Didn't experience the rooms so can't really say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 939carltonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

I made reservations in March for a stay in October, and they double booked. Then they would not even help us find a room. They were too busy. Then she hung up and would not return my calls. Completely unacceptable.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Antoinette's Cottage could be an awesome place to stay. Could be!Great location, walking distance to shopping, dining, and music but there is a lot to be desired. With the right owner, some remodeling, and pride in ownership this cottage would be outstanding.I gave it a three simply because of the location. There is no kitchen available to the guests. I have never stayed in a BB where the kitchen was off limits and guest had no access to snacks, coffee, or the like. Breakfast was served on paper plates outside in the heat on a lopsided table with rickety chairs. The website shows blue and white bone china. Really! We were told breakfast would be served at 9:00 am but did not eat until after 10:30 one morning. And to top it off, the owner just plopped herself down to join us without an invite from us! We were served coffee in paper cups while she drank hers from a real mug. So unprofessional for the owner to sit with her guests (in a dirty shirt) and complain about her personal problems. We are on vacation and were not there to listen to her woes of running a business, disliking past guest, and talking about her hired help. Aside from these annoyances, there seems to be structural issues. I realize this is a very old home and was expecting that sort of surroundings but the shower door would not close, electrical outlets had no covers, and one of the light fixtures showed charring from over heating. There was a broken mirror, crumbling wall paper, drawers filled with all kind of left over items. With the price of this BB, I certainly expected more. So disappointing. I could continue, but I believe I made my point. GO SOME WHERE ELSE TO STAY!!!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank texasroadrunner5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

My best friend, her mother, and I visited Gruene and stayed at Antoinette's Cottage. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but it turned out to be a perfect place to stay.
The house was charming and quaint, the bedroom a mix of antiques and shabby chic with the most comfortable beds! The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious. The front porch faces the main street, and is tastefully decorated with wicker furniture and a new porch swing. '
Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely return.
Thanks so much,
Steffenie, Lola, and Madge

Room Tip: We stayed in Ernst room, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffenie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.3 km away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
89 reviews
0.2 km away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.3 km away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#5 of 12 in New Braunfels
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gruene River Inn
Gruene River Inn
#7 of 12 in New Braunfels
102 reviews
3.5 km away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#3 of 33 in New Braunfels
791 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette's Cottage

Address: 1258 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3004
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: $289 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, delicious food in oldest house in Gruene. WIFI, fridge, robes, hairdryers. A furnished porch and a pergola in the garden are ideal for visiting friends or just relaxing. Hot tub area, secure storage for bikes. Welcome to your new favorite place to stay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing