We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't do it..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Ozona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Ozona
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ozona
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't do it..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Hello & thank you in advance for your time. Earlier this year, we stayed at this hotel. The receptionist was QUITE nice. Unfortunately, I encountered the following:
The carpet in my room was so filthy the bottoms of our socks were almost black.
An 18-Wheeler parked just outside of our room and kept the engine running ALL NIGHT.
The bed was old and in poor shape.
The room, itself, was old and dark.
The bathroom was so dirty that we left the next morning without even showering

The charge on my credit card slips shows "Circle Bar Motel"; was this really a Super 8?

In my 30+ yrs of travel I've never stayed at a hotel that was in such poor shape. That's too bad, because my current travels require another stay in the Ozona area. This experience has put such a bad taste in my mouth that I doubt I can trust any other Super 8 for my travel needs. Should I?

Please let me know if this is the 'norm' with regard to any and all Super 8's.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    15
    21
    46
See reviews for
36
21
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

This is a Super-8 motel at a truck stop. Parking lot is rutted and muddy. Checked in after driving 9 hours and the elderly lady working the desk took another 30 minutes to complete the checkin process.

The room was below standards, even for Super-8. Did not expect five stars, but did expect more than I got. Carpet was ratty, as were the furnishings. Internet does NOT work, which was later acknowledged by management.

The good news is that Holiday Inn Express is building in Ozona, opening Spring '09. Don't spend your money on this Super-8.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet in nearby restaurant.
  • Disliked — Absolutely everything else. Would have been better off in a rest area.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ETXEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Pros: The pool was wonderful, the bathroom was extremely clean, the room was perfectly neat when we got there, and there is a convenience store as well as a steakhouse next to the motel.

Cons: Beds could have been more comfortable (not that they were bad), no high-speed internet, and the motel's breakfast was only coffee, muffins, and hot cocoa.

In all, I think this motel has the best value of all the motels in Ozona, TX

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamolton_The_Pigdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

The property appeared to be constructed in the early 70's, with perhaps a half-hearted renovation 10+ years ago. The furnishings, carpet, and linens were well-worn. The beds were hard. The carpet was dirty. The A/C unit was loud. I'd find myself cranking the A/C low while I was away to get the temperature down, only to turn it to the Fan Only mode while I slept.

The hotel isn't even in Ozona; its about 7-8 miles East of Ozona and the place is a mecca for truckers. The passing trucks were quite loud as they'd rev-up their engines on the county road to get up to speed for the interstate.

Earwigs, earwigs, earwigs! Earwigs kept finding their way into the room.

The sliding glass door to the interior opened to a small semi-private wooden deck, and beyond that, a nice-looking (at first glance) landscaped indoor pool. The hot tub was out of commission. The ceiling tiles/panels above the indoor pool area were sagging and hanging down.

The hotel breakfast consisted of only muffins. Sometimes coffee and orange juice was there, sometimes it wasn't. I got the impression that they didn't care or want you to eat their breakfast and use the nearby restaurant (where they gave you 10% off coupons).

The nearby restaurant smelled both of smoke, and burnt 30-year-old grease. The service was slow, the food wasn't that great, and overpriced. I left there feeling like my innards were scraped with a dirty, rusty, greasy spoon.

Avoid this place. Nearby Sonora (about 30 minutes East) has better choices.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything, especially the rude front desk staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gideon_Krasmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ozona hotels
10.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ozona
9.9 km away
Travelodge Ozona
Travelodge Ozona
#1 of 8 in Ozona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 8 in Ozona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
11.4 km away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#4 of 8 in Ozona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ozona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ozona

Property: Super 8 Ozona
Address: 3331 I 10 East, I-10 & Taylor Box Road, Ozona, TX 76943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Ozona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ozona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ozona 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Super 8 Ozona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ozona Super 8
Ozona Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing