We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Condo - other issues tho” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulf Shores Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Shores Condominiums
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Condo - other issues tho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Have just returned from a stay in Condo 302. Interior of #302 was beautiful. Great view of the beach/ocean and very close to water. There were a few issues with the management. Inexperienced with minimal knowledge. Beware that this is an older condo complex tho. The exterior really needs some major TLC and updating. Also the owner of #202 directly below us happened to be in their condo and complained continuously that we were making too much noise and interrupting her sleep. Found this a little upsetting since we were adults in our 40/50's staying there and found her complaints hard to believe!!! Guess we didn't realize we were such party animals!! So beware the walls and floor must be very thin and if this will bother you then you might want to stay at another condo complex.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glenrose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
45
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for Fall Break Oct 2011. We stayed in room 303. The view was perfect! The layout of the condo is convenient and nice. The staff was friendly when making reservations and while we were there. The one problem I had with this place is that I was told on the phone when making reservations that the pool was heated. This was a KEY selling point. When we got there, the pool was ICE COLD! So naturally I asked about this because this feature was what sealed the deal for me and I was very disappointed about it. It is NOT advertised on their website as heated, nor has it been in the past. The clerk I spoke to had lied to me, because she truly didn't know and she was never there for me to talk to during my stay. The staff there was nice about it though and not rude at all. I would completely reccomend it otherwise. It truly is "ON THE BEACH". I did expect it to be better stocked with kitchen items. Take your own skillet for breakfast, whick I had done. Towels are nice bigger towels, not little motel towels. It was not noisy at all. They have plenty of carts for loading and unloading your belongings. The elevators work great. The game room is very small but usable if you need a few minutes in there. I will stay again!

Room Tip: Stay on at least level 3 for the view! My room was 303. Updated and nice decor. Tile floors, and gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visit Port A 3-4 times a year. This is our 5th or 6th time staying at GS. We like its location - it really is the closest to the beach of all the condos (could not be built today because of changes in the laws protecting the coastal dunes...). We try to stay in end units because they have decks on both the beach and the bay sides.

Management is slipping, rapidly. Frankly, they've just gotten rude and unhelpful. At $220+ a night, it's not too much to ask for a bit of friendliness and service. For example: The coin-operated laundry area has no change machine ("oh, we had to remove that"), yet the office keeps no change on hand if you'd like to do a load of wash! ("most people drive to the convenience store and buy something - they'll give you some change if you do"). It is not really difficult to keep a couple of rolls of quarters in a cash box ....

Facilities are just aging. The interior of Unit 501 was quite spare (monochromatic) and the living room furniture was very uncomfortable. Good bed, though. Deck furniture was uncomfortable.

There are some good units there, but the attitude of management has made us decide to go elsewhere in February when we return... Too bad. It could be a real gem

Room Tip: Go for the end units and look online to see what the units look like before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deep_in_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The room, 605, was great. The management staff sucks! I've been going to this place for 15 years. Three years ago we put up with rude staff and for the next two years went to Cancun and South Padre Island. Decided to come back this year. Made the reservations in July, told we could get an AARP discount, paid the required deposit. When we got there, the price had gone up, "they didn't do AARP discounts and the person who told us there was one no longer worked there". Also, there was an owner doing construction work, very loud drilling, in the middle of the day, when we would have liked to relax. "Management" told us we would have to put up with it for the next 2-3 days. No offer to move us to another unit, etc. Since they value their rooms so highly and provide terrible customer service, I will try another condominium the next time I go to Port A.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this condo for Sand Fest in Port Aransas back in April and we were 100% pleased with our experience! We learned quickly that if you stay in any of the condos on either end of the building, you get a large front deck in addition to the awesome deck that faces the beach. We stayed in Room 609 and will try to stay here every time in the future! Beautifully decorated...PLENTY of room for 3 adults and three children, and entertained other family members while visiting and still had lots of room! The wall that faces the beach is ALL windows. The deck overlooking the beach was fantastic and we were secure enough with it's construction that we would let our toddlers hang out there whenever they wanted! The patio furniture was great and the chairs were high enough to where you could relax and still see over the railing.

The kitchen was awesome and stocked with everything we needed to cook dinners each night. We would HIGHLY recommend this place! A jewel in Port Aransas, where we've had some real duds when staying at other places!

Room Tip: Book the end rooms on each floor. Get front balcony with door that closes off from walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great location and right on the beach. Condo was nothing to brag about, it was average. The coffee pot did not work that great, the fridge was not that cold and the pool was hot/warm all the time. If you are looking for a condo on the beach though, this place is nice. It is a few steps from the beach and they have water stations to clean your feet, beach chairs, etc.. off which is really a nice feature. I have stayed at several condo's in Port A and this is one of the better ones. One suggestion for this property, please consider a fan or something for the elevator. It is very hot in there and the elevator is slow, so you can get better warm in there at times when stopping at several floors.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Had a wonderful five days. The unit was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Right on the beach. We brought our own beach chairs, but they had upright chairs available if necessary. A car is necessary to reach Port Aransas and a great selection of restaurants. Reasonably prices.

One downer: we checked out at 11 a.m. as required but stayed on the beach and washed off in the pool before leaving around 1 p.m. The guy at the front desk was exceptionally rude, reminding us that we had already checked out. Nice southern hospitality. Owners take note! Select your management carefully.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Aransas
7.2 km away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
18.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#39 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#21 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
10.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
8.3 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Condominiums

Property: Gulf Shores Condominiums
Address: 6021 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4854
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*11/1/2015 Gulf Shores is Under New Management* Gulf Shores Condos in Port Aransas, TX hosts 52 units that all have beach views. Gulf Shores is the closest to the water of any of the units on the island! Each unit is individually owned, and decorated and maintained by the individual unit owner. Pictures of each unit can be viewed online at Gulf Shores Website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing