We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fire at candlewood” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Round Rock
athens, tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fire at candlewood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

The morning after my stay the fire alarms started going off. When we got downstairs the staff were in their own little corner. no concern for the guests at all. Finnally we were allowed to go get our belongings and the staff wouldn't do it for me. I have been sick, as has my daughter and no one seems to care. here's the kicker, this same fire happened less than a month ago so they are putting lives at rjsk because they are lazy. i must say a very bad choice!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbiwils311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_CSRR, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Candlewood Suites. I am very sorry that you experienced such problems during your stay. I understand it must have been frustrating as well as scary to have to be in an emergency situation in an unfamiliar place with no direction given to you. Unfortunately the hotel did suffer a small fire in February and thankfully nobody was hurt. There were some electrical issues with our employee dryer that were immediately corrected. I would like you to know that your comments are being taken very seriously by myself and the hotel team as a whole. We have re-evaluated our emergency procedures and have begun to make it a point to practice drills atleast two times a month. I understand this does not make up for the experience you had while with us, but in response we have been working diligently to resolve any issues we had at the time of your stay and to ensure an incident such as the one you experienced does not happen again.

Again, I sincerely apologize for the problems you experiened during your stay. Your comments are very important to us. It is the feedback we receive from our valued guests, such as you, that helps us to better pinpoint any problem areas the hotel may have. With this knowledge we are better able to take the necessary steps to ensure similar situations do not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    24
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
25
20
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

Stayed here in Dec 07 for 1.5 months. This is a pretty good hotel. No frills but you get a decent 1 bedroom suite with a good kitchen. Excellent for long stays. Very good location. Lots of entertainment around. The rooms are super clean and the staff very helpful. No breakfast though.

Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 602UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

First off the hotel is not by any means comfortable. It offers no room service, meaning not even clean towels are brought to your room or trash cans are emptied. When I asked about this, they said they offered weekly cleaning. Yet the rate is $123.00 per night. At checkout, I was charged an incorrect rate and then when I tried to fix the rate, the manager said he was going to charge me $50.00 for cleaning services due to dirty towels and trash from packages that I received from UPS and opened so that I could pack items in luggage. Also, in one pic packing materials that I did not scatter were scattered purposely so that room would look like trash had been scattered throughout instead of being left in one spot under the table by trash can as I left it. I have never in all my travels encountered such awful service. I guess I was expected to take my trash with me and wash their towels. Unbelievable. I was then sent pics by the manager to confirm. Yes, it confirmed that their were dirty towels left by the toilet in restroom, boxes and trash by the trash can and some packing material that fell out of boxes. Oh sorry, also I did not clean up the kitchen counter before leaving, Incredible!!!!!!! If you stay here, make sure you bring a broom and cleaning items so that you may not be charged for cleaning services which you did not even benefit of during your stay.

  • Disliked — Management, taken advantage of
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yeni5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

For a modest price, this hotel provides free internet access, a full kitchen, free washer and dryer, free movies to borrow, free coffee, a convenience store, and a great staff. HOWEVER, you need to stay at least 4 nights and the beds are awful for more than one person. They are 5 inchess from a wall and impossible to get in that side without crawling over another person or having them get up. Even the maids complain about how hard it is to make the bed. With so much positive, the beds are a serious negative.

  • Liked — All the freebes
  • Disliked — The beds were awful
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rainy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

We had a "clean, comfortable room" for our one-night stay at this hotel - but the 3-star price we paid definitely wasn't a good value.

The decor was extremely spartan, along the lines of Super 8: bare walls, ultra-inexpensive-looking furnishings with TVs perched on top, fluorescent lighting throughout.

The mechanical flaws: bedside lamps which could only be turned off by unscrewing the bulbs, a broken switch for the overhead bedroom light, and an improperly-installed shower faucet which could deliver either too-hot or too-cold water but not warm water.

In fairness to the hotel, we didn't request maintenance or a room change and so can't speak to how quickly or well the broken lights and faucet might have been resolved. When I reported the problems next morning at checkout, the very pleasant desk clerk told me the bedside lamp problem was property-wide and in the process of being renovated; she took note of the other problems.

With its mini-kitchen, ample space, and a heavily-discounted rate (the first question we were asked on check-in was if we were military), this would be a perfectly fine choice for a home-away-from-home extended stay. But for the Hilton/ Hyatt/ Marriott-level price we paid, this property simply didn't measure up to the standard we expected.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Bare-bones, not-great state of repair, overpriced
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Two_Wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2004

This is a very nice clean hotel, and is perfect for business travelers and people who are relocating. All the rooms have full kitchens and vcrs. The price is affordable, too. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Round Rock hotels
2.9 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin Round Rock
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
#3 of 26 in Round Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
4.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Austin Round Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Austin Round Rock
2.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin / Round Rock
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Round Rock - Austin N
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock

Property: Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock
Address: 521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.At the Candlewood Suites Austin Round Rock Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are located on IH 35, near Dell Computers and close to restaurants, attractions and shopping centers. Downtown Austin, Austin City Limits, Southwestern University and the University of Texas are all within a 20 minute drive of the hotel. The Dell Diamond with Round Rock Express baseball is 5 minutes away. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel is conveniently located within 3 miles of Round Rock Hospital, and less than 5 miles from the new Round Rock Premium Outlet center. All guest rooms in the hotel feature full kitchens and one queen size bed. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel offers complimentary laundry facilities, a full fitness center, business desk in the lobby with Internet and both wired and wireless high speed Internet connections in guest rooms. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel is pet friendly. A non-refundable pet fee of $75 to $150 is required along with a signed pet agreement at check-in. Documentation specifying that all vaccinations are up to date must be available. Call hotel for a copy of the full pet policy.The maximum number of guests (including children) allowed per room is 2 in a room with one bed or 4 in a room with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Austin-Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Candlewood Round Rock
Round Rock Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing