We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Not realizing it was spring break we booked our trip. Spring breakers were obnoxious and dropping F bombs. Fighting. Plus they screwed up my credit card twice. Manager said come see him before 8am to fix it but he left early, I got there at 6:30am but he was gone. Front desk called him he said he'd call to fix it funds would be released today. Three days later my card still has the charge. Beds hard as rock. Worse stay ever.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank borednightowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARSHAN P, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Good day

First of all I would like to apologize for your accommodation, and glad you understood in regards to Spring Break, in regards to your credit card we had informed that release on card does take a couple days to be returned to cardholder, we addressed this matter with your credit card but they informed that money would be returned during the following days rest assure you will get that money back as it was an authorization on card only. My Name is Christopher Gonzalez at your service please contact me for any issues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Is property is fairly clean everything, it has a good outdoor swimming
pool with a good outdoor. I stayed here twice in the room I stayed in was updated in fairly clean comfortable. My main problem with this train is there breakfast it's definitely nothing to write home about. Really I don't even like the coffee times I stayed it was just about $32 per night going out to breakfast was not a biggie

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank kcpetcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARSHAN P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Good day

Thank you for taking time to review property as we are trying to see what many ways we can exceed our service and your review is going to help us a lot to make changes necessary for upcoming guest.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We are a choice privliges member and enjoy staying at Comfort Suites. Decided to go with econo lodge so we could get 2 side by side rooms for the same price. What a mistake! People in the room next to us were up partying half the night, went outside to smoke a cigarette and someone was peeing 10 ft from our door, disgusting! We called the front desk and they did nothing! This was at 1am. Was forced to turn up tv and put head under pillow to drown out the noise instead of making a scene with the party goers next door. Spoke to the front desk this morning and they basically called us liars without directly saying it. They offered a discount to stay again. I stated i wouldnt stay there again for free! If you read this please AVOID THIS HOTEL, saving a few bucks is not worth it. Rooms were also very disappointing compared to other choice priviledge hotels. So upset considering never staying at a choice hotel brand ever again!

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

For under $30 I was very skeptical about staying in this hotel. Normally you get what you pay for in life. The room and beds were clean and it is a good value in the off season. We moved after the second night because the pool and Jacuzzi were not maintained at all. I didn't mind for the price but for an additional $5 we found the Super 8 which had an outdoor Jacuzzi and some elliptical and tread mills in their somewhat gym. You can't go wrong in South Padre Island in November. The prices mimic Mexico.

Room Tip: Typical Motel set up
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

This was so much better than we expected. We were prepared for a genuine economic experience with bugs and just a bed. The staff was friendly though, the room was decent, the bathroom was clean and the pool was fun. I was surprised that the cheapest room even had a kitchenette. The breakfast is small, basically just cereal and oatmeal but again, for the price it was fine. It's about priorities. If you'd rather spend your money on a nice hotel, don't stay here. If you'd rather spend your money on activities and experiencing the island, this is a great economic way to stay.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

The long list of why you should avoid this place is hard to start. I guess I'll start with the grounds themselves. The parking lot is full of potholes and trash is littered about the place. There are bags of trash left in the walkways and swampy pools of water everywhere from leaking pipes. The ice machine is always out and the rooms smell off. They don't clean the rooms until maybe five or six at night and the hotel is constantly noisy with kids running up the stairs till midnight and shouting from the pool area. The wifi never worked for more than five minutes at a time and the rooms are dim and uncomfortable. The free breakfast is a box of cereal and a gallon of milk left on the counter in the office. That's what I get for trying Priceline's express deal!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

First off the rooms are dirty. The pool had so much chlorine in it, it was like pouring hot sauce in your eyes! So after our few minutes in the pool we got out and used the 3 towels that were in our 4 person room. I walked to the front desk to ask for more towels and was informed I could walk to the laundry and ask for them, then when I did I was told I had to bring my dirty towels first so I walked back to the room got those brought them back to exchange asked for a 4th towel since there were 4 people in our room and was told no there's only 3 towels allowed per room! The service was horrible the room was dirty and the pool was terrible I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me to!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
3  Thank cheermom0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 km away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
279 reviews
1.6 km away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
245 reviews
2.1 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
135 reviews
2.1 km away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
227 reviews
2.4 km away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3913 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7229 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range: $50 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Days Hotel South Padre Island
Days Inn South Padre Island
Econo Lodge South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing