We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, resort needs updating/upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royale Beach and Tennis Club
Killeen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, resort needs updating/upgrading”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Royale Beach and Tennis Club is a resort located in an ideal location.... Has 3 swimming pools which are spacious in size and pretty clean, a shuffleboard and 4 tennis courts. Beach access is right behind pools. Great view and location. However, appliances are old and some of the walls, closets, and doors are chipped, broke and kind of ghetto looking. Only one elevator worked and is very slow. Overall value was pretty good though.

Room Tip: Rooms with 6-8 occupant space need major upgrading/updating. Recommend 6 and under guests suites whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    13
    12
    17
See reviews for
38
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

An older property but it is well maintained. The one bedroom units are large and spacious. Our only complaint is the extra charges to get fresh towels and supplies between housekeeping scheduled days.
You also need to provide your own beach/pool towels as these are not provided.
Overall a great property with excellent tennis and pool facilities in a great location by the beach!

Room Tip: Best accomodation is the one bedroom unit as a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShepVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I'm just now getting around to adding a review of this hotel. We stayed back in September (2011). It was after school started so the island was at its BEST - deserted! I had read the reviews of this hotel long before we stayed and I had primed myself for a dismal stay. Overall though we had a great time. Yes the rooms are VERY outdated. The air conditioner clanged all night long and when we opened the unit door to see if was something we could fix - it was completely covered in rust - quickly closed the door and requested another room - which the front desk did for us very quickly. The kitchen was old (even in the 2nd room) and it seemed things were hanging on by a prayer. But this is south padre and having grown up there I know what these units go through with spring breakers. It is a prime location with easy access to the beach and the pools were very nice. Not the best place I have stayed at by far but not the worst either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr40210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flower mound, tx
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were there in September for a week. We had not been there for 3 years. The condos have definitely improved. They have completed remodeled the lobby area. Our 2-bedroom condo had updated kitchen and bathrooms. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Everything worked great and it was completely stocked with anything you needed. Of course, the view was amazing and the grounds were green, clean and very well kept. All 3 pools were very clean and the outside bar at the T-pool was open daily. This is a great location to stay, within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We love it there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oxford2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We loved the choice of 3 pools, beach access, beach showers, shaded areas, plenty of chairs, pretty courtyards.

Efficiency room was SMALL- pull out couch was only a twin. After 2 days we were able to upgrade to a one bedroom- huge difference. Kitchen was dramatically better- separate master room from couch, 2 TVs, washer and dryer- a necessity since there us no maid service provided.
We don't want to gripe about the service, you just have to know ahead of time- bring towels, shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc.
Kids loved bringing flashlights and a bucket to the beach after dark to catch (and release) sand crabs.
Rafts in pool are allowed and make it relaxing. The way the sun drops behind one of the buildings around 4:30 and provides tons of shade was awesome. A great time to play tennis too.
Other things that made our trip great were Sea Turtle Inc., Black Dragon pirate cruise, and great meals at Dirty Al's Loui's backyard and Cap'n Roys.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RowdyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Everything with the condo stay was good except that we were there for a family renion in which we had family with us. Though I liked the security provided for our safety we had a major problem getting back threw. The guard was a real pain and refused to let us back in. Because we took both of our cars and we were in the second car they made us park across the street and walk back threw an alley to get back to the hotel. That I feel put us all in danger so close to Mexico and all the problems they have there. He said the pass expired at midnight. That is crazy. A pass should expire in the morning so when you leave the condo there should never be a question about getting back in. We were paying for our stay and it was our car they refused to let in. Futher more, Your guard was very rude not wanting to open the gate when we walked back saying there was a walk threw. How are we suppose to know that when it was our first time there. The hotel should have stood behind their guest instead of telling us it was up to security . I can understand if the the hotel was full of guests and the parking was limited but it was definately not the case. THERE WAS PLENTY OF PARKING.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inqua007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

You need to be careful when you book your trip and not book the last week of July. The place is over run with Mexican High School kidsdrinking and screaming till 6 am. Their parents drop them off and leave them unsupervised and with lots of boze. They scream from one patio to the next all night into the morning. Good luck getting the management to do much. They say to call down and they will handle it. Nothing changes.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.5 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
1.0 km away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
249 reviews
5.5 km away
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
#11 of 35 in South Padre Island
109 reviews
3.3 km away
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
#4 of 35 in South Padre Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Beach and Tennis Club

Property: Royale Beach and Tennis Club
Address: 400 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6617
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royale Beach and Tennis Club 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royale Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Beach And Tennis Club Hotel South Padre Island
Royale Beach And Tennis Club South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing