We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfert hotel for two plus two pups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfert hotel for two plus two pups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Right on the beach, excellent beach access/walkway, great beachside cafe/full bar, nice staff, plenty of parking, heated pool, allowed our puppies to vacation with us....what more could you want? It's just a warm, welcoming place to stay, hangout for a few days, and meet some nice folks. The room was very clean and had the best layout with a little kitchen, table and chairs for meals in on the front, bedroom towards the back where it was quiet with ceiling fan, and nice bath with large step in shower. Good sleeping room. We had coffee on our balcony in the mornings looking at the beach. Restaraunt has great food and they even cooked our catch from a bay fishing trip. The ONLY downer was slow service at the cafe and internet connection was intermittent (from OUR room) so had to work outside from cafe. Yes, it's a tough life. This is truly a special little hotel and one of the nicest overall stays I've had. A real gem.

We will be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliarrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    55
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
88
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I love coming to the Island and enjoy staying at the Palms. This is my second stay here and will most likely return. It's small but the staff is friendly and they have a really great restaurant in the back right on the beach. The rooms are on the smaller side but overall are comfortable and for me the most important thing is that they are clean! I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed 4 nights as a couple. In our late 30s, down to earth and appreciate simple pleasures so Palms Resort was a good place for us. Here are the details.

Positives combined with drawbacks:

VIEW FROM ROOM - Definitely recommend 2nd floor, as close to end as possible, otherwise you really don't get much of a view. View was, of course, angled, but surprisingly great from our (single large motel) window - we did wish we could open to air it out and not depend on AC all the time. Too bad.

KITCHENETTE AREA- Good (small knee-high fridge worked great, tiny slot freezer was enough). However, we were left wanting at least a small burner to cook a quick stir fry ... If you stay for a few days you want a night in. Hotel did provide plenty of coffee for two people for every day. Also provided one free 2 person DELICIOUS breakfast (bacon, eggs, pancakes, hash browns...) for those staying 3+ nights. NOTE: kitchenette comes with microwave, coffee maker and coffee, fridge, 2 cups and 2 glasses - that's it!

BEDROOM AREA -Plenty of room but were EXPECTING A QUEEN size bed -it's a FULL instead ... MATTRESS NOT FIRM. So, if you need a firm mattress like me, brace yourself for back pain every morning. Not the best bed ever quality-wise either but still ok if you do prefer softer style mattresses.

TV IS FOR BOTH AREAS - on a swivel to view from bed or couch. (TV held by a strap...) Both angles are fine. They reeeeally need to upgrade to flatscreen at least . Picture was just ok sometimes but they offer plenty of cable channels. Couch VERY COMFY by the way.

POOL: Quite small, but good!
LOCATION:Excellent! Right on the beach, couldn't be better!
CAFE: Excellent! Couldn't be better! Not cheap but it's worth the money.
VIBE/AMBIENCE: Great!
SERVICE:Couldn't be better- highly professional!

: ) Have a great time

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quietstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

My wife and I went to South Padre Island this past weekend, and we stayed at The Palms Resort. It's an older property, but well-maintained, surrounded by more modern properties that tower over it. That's OK with me, it has a funky feel to it that makes it interesting.

In case it matters to you, the layout is more like a "motel" than a "hotel," in that the doors to the rooms all face the outdoors. We stayed in a queen suite, which was quite nice, although small for a suite. The living space has a small refrigerator, microwave, and a sleeper sofa. We stayed in suite 216, which has a nice view of the beach. The room had a flat-screen HD TV that is situated so it can be watched from both the bedroom and the living area.

The management and staff were very nice. We booked on Expedia, and I called afterward to find out about beach accommodations, since the resort is located right on the beach. (You can rent a beach setup, which I assume is a set of chairs and an umbrella, for $25 per day.) Without even asking them, the resort offered to move us to suite 216, which has a much better view. Nice touch!

We ate nearly every meal in the Cafe. It gets great reviews here on TripAdvisor, and they are well-earned. The meals were on the slightly-expensive side, but not out of line for a hotel. The seafood was very fresh, and the migas I had for breakfast was wonderful. The little bar in the cafe was very active all day and everyone seemed to be having a great time. There's a small heated pool next to the cafe with the same beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico.

The only complaint I have is that there are no balconies or patios to sit on and gaze out toward the beach. It rained on one of the days we were there, and I would love to have whiled away the day on a balcony with a book. That's not really an option here, although, since we had a nice view from the room to where they had moved us, we were able to see the Gulf from our living room area.

I have no problem recommending this resort, and I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Last night of the stay at the motel there was no city water and we had to drive home to San Antonio without showering. Wrote both a letter and sent an email requesting $40 refund for 1/2 night stay (see letter below). Never received a response! Once they have your money don't expect to hear from them again!
======================================================================
San Antonio, TX 78240

Dear Palms Resort Administration:

My husband and I stayed at your motel the nights of October 24th and 25th. We stayed in the room at the south end over the restaurant. We found the accommodations excellent, and enjoyed our stay with the exception of the night of the 25th when the water went out.

At the time we did not ask for a refund, but after watching the news about the Carnival Cruise ship that lost power off the coast of Mexico it occurred to me that we should have.

Since the room was satisfactory for 50% of the last day we are only asking for a 50% refund. Please refund $40.00 as the lodgings were not satisfactory for half of one day. Our receipt is enclosed. Please send the refund to the address above. If additional information is needed, feel free to call me at 210-xxx-xxxx. Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
We love to get feedback from our Guests, even those that might be disappointed with some aspect of their stay with us. I remember this water problem quite well. The entire Island, and a portion of the mainland across the bridge, was impacted by sporadic water outages - compliments of a massive fiber-optic cable installation project on the Island. Construction equipment located miles away from our hotel broke a water main. The entire Island was without water for several hours. We made every effort to make our guests comfortable. We delivered gallons of bottled water to the rooms. Many of our guests took advantage of our beach-side heated pool to refresh themselves before checking out. All of our guests were given the opportunity to check-out early, but they all, including this couple, decided to stay. Everyone understood we couldn't control the situation, and most guests made light of the situation - spending time on the beach and sunbathing at our pool. All of our other hotel services were functioning - electricity, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, and heated pool.

We did respond to the guest on December 1st (shortly after we received their letter to us). We never received an email from them, and we didn't get a call or response to the letter we sent. We heard nothing until we read their posting in Trip Advisor. We're sorry that their stay on South Padre Island wasn't perfect. We will always try to delight every guest that chooses to stay with us. We try hard to make sure they have a wonderful experience - even when things happen that we can't control.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback. We do appreciate it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Great little hotel right on the beach. Friendly and very helpful staff. A little overprized (as compared to other options in the island) but it is for sure worth it considering its on the beach, the staff, cleanliness, nice and warm pool and overall great restaurant... I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed it. We were looking for something chill, budget friendly, on the beach, and pet friendly. The Palms was perfect. The room was simple but clean. Everyone on staff was laid back, very friendly and very accommodating. It was awesome to hang out at the pool with a view of the ocean and the food at the cafe was really good (better than some of the restaurants that we visited). Plus they get extra points for having free wi-fi!! We got more than our money's worth and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXbeachbum76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
2.4 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.2 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 3616 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Palms Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island
The Palms Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing