We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood buffet while watching the sunset over the bay!”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed February 11, 2018

"Make sure you go to Louie's" our friends told us. We dined outside and watched the sunset on a February evening! The seafood buffet offered awesome shrimp dishes, crab, fried fish plus prime rib and BBQ ribs. All of these were topnotch. The ribs were superb. The salad bar was fresh with a great variety of greens and vegetables. The dressings were flavorful. We did not try to baked potatoes. The crab cakes and hush puppies were OK after sitting on the buffet.

Thank CalTiskilwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

We're glad that you guys stopped by to enjoy dinner and the sunset with us! It's great to hear that you guys really enjoyed the seafood buffet and that the ribs really hit the spot. Thanks for the support -- hope to serve you again next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2018

On the Island and feeling a little hungry so stopped by. Had a couple of drinks and some good wings. Sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the great view of the bay, birds and sunset. It was a nice stop and worth the money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Mike, we're glad you stopped by! It's awesome to hear that you really enjoyed the drinks, wings, and the view of the bay. Thanks for the stars, and we hope you'll come back and see us next time you're in the area again.

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Went there for lunch. The prime rib sandwich is to die for. Staff was pleasant.
It's sits right on the water we were there on a cloudy day but would have had a great view otherwise.

Thank jneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

We're thrilled that you're a fan of our prime rib sandwich! Thanks for the stars -- hope to have you join us again soon.

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Took the family out for dinner last night and the buffet was excellent. Our waitress Jessica was awesome. We had a great time. Thanks.

Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Matt, we're glad that you guys joined us for dinner! It's awesome to hear that y'all really enjoyed the buffet and that Jessica took great care of you guys. Thanks for the stars, and we hope to serve you guys again soon.

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Have been to Louis three times. Prime Rib early bird special is amazing. The fish and shrimp dinner was fantastic and the ribs delicious.

Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Janet, it's great to hear that you really enjoyed the fish and shrimp dinner! Thanks for the support -- come back and see us for more ribs again soon.

'Til next time,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing