We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe better during spring break”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

My friend so excited to come here as he has been here before during spring break. We went there a week ago and it was kind of uneventful. I found the big open space to feel awkward. I think this would be a better stop during spring break when it’s busier with bands and such.

Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Rachel, thanks for stopping by. We're sorry to hear that we could've impressed you a bit more. If you're looking for a more lively vibe, we suggest joining us on weekend evenings or around spring break. Hoping you'll be back our way again soon.

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal with a fabulous waitress named Raquel on Feb 10, 2018. The specials were all delicious. Highly recommend to anyone!

Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Steve, thanks for joining us! It's great to hear that you really enjoyed Raquel's service. We appreciate the support and look forward to serving you again next time around.

All the best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

"Make sure you go to Louie's" our friends told us. We dined outside and watched the sunset on a February evening! The seafood buffet offered awesome shrimp dishes, crab, fried fish plus prime rib and BBQ ribs. All of these were topnotch. The ribs were superb. The salad bar was fresh with a great variety of greens and vegetables. The dressings were flavorful. We did not try to baked potatoes. The crab cakes and hush puppies were OK after sitting on the buffet.

Thank CalTiskilwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

We're glad that you guys stopped by to enjoy dinner and the sunset with us! It's great to hear that you guys really enjoyed the seafood buffet and that the ribs really hit the spot. Thanks for the support -- hope to serve you again next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

On the Island and feeling a little hungry so stopped by. Had a couple of drinks and some good wings. Sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the great view of the bay, birds and sunset. It was a nice stop and worth the money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Mike, we're glad you stopped by! It's awesome to hear that you really enjoyed the drinks, wings, and the view of the bay. Thanks for the stars, and we hope you'll come back and see us next time you're in the area again.

Cheers,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Went there for lunch. The prime rib sandwich is to die for. Staff was pleasant.
It's sits right on the water we were there on a cloudy day but would have had a great view otherwise.

Thank jneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

We're thrilled that you're a fan of our prime rib sandwich! Thanks for the stars -- hope to have you join us again soon.

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing