We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bad, bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suntide II Resort Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad, bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband, my son and his girlfriend and I made a reservation at the Suntide II condos after researching many other condos in the area. From what I read, and after talking to Aurora, the onsite manager on the phone, I decided this was the place for our Monday - Thursday beach vacation. When we checked in we were informed that starting on Weds at 10 am painters would be working on property. I was upset because nobody told me that when making the reservation. Guess what? On Tuesday (and not Wednesday) I was woken up at 8 am by drilling and hammering outside our window. Painters were preparing the walls, caulking, and drilling. We chose our condo because we liked the idea of having a ground floor condo and throughout the day not only did we hear all the drilling, etc but workers took over our patio, moved chairs away and worked on our patio all day. Our quiet and relaxed view became a dust cloud. The next day the workers moved to another unit, we got our patio back but no peace and quiet as they continued working. I complained several times and talked to Aurora, the onsite manager, which she was non responsive. She gave me $60 discount when I checked out and I feel she should have paid me for staying there. I planned my trip, save my money and was looking forward to escape the "rat race" of Dallas for some days of relaxation instead I felt I should have packed a hard hat instead of a swimming suit. I was mislead, I was lied because I was never told about the remodeling that would be taking place. If I had known, I would have never stayed there. The condo? Old but nice with the exception that the kitchen was bare, no necessities, like basics, salt, sugar, etc. Only pots and pans. I need to know who owns Suntide II so I can contact them direct. They should have scheduled maintenance renovation when the condos are empty or close down as many others do.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorearmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

The Suntide II is in a great location with beachfront access and a nice pool and hot tub. The condo is average in terms of upkeep and cleanliness. There is a coin washer and dryer on the 2nd and 4th floors. It costs $1 for each load to wash and $1 to dry. We stayed in Condo number 406. If the laundry room was not on our floor, I imagine I would not have used it, as it would be a pain to go back and forth.
The condo was recently redone with new countertops and cabinets. I'm not sure what else was done to it. There is tile floor but the kitchen utensils, plates etc...are sparce. We wanted to grill one night and the condo didn't have a lighter or matches. We went to the management office and they couldn't help us either. We ended up borrowing a lighter from a neighbor. There are no games, books or even a DVD player in the unit. There were not enough rugs in the unit. I personally do not like to walk on all tile floor at a beach setting where sand gets tracked in and has no place to settle.
I feel like for the price, we could have done better. If it was less expensive we would probably stay there again.
The Suntide II is right next to a public beach access. This is a good thing because there is sparce parking and it is necessary to use the parking in the beach access lot. It is a bad thing because come Friday, all the locals come and play at the beach, making the beach very crowded. It would be nice to stay at a place that has a private beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acmooretx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

unit # 401,while checking into condo the maintainence man came to install the 2nd bathroom shower door wich had fallen into bathtub.he then advised us to use the masterbath room shower since he was unable to repair the shower door ( missing roller).with 3 adults and 2 children it was very inconvenient to say the least.also the master and 2nd bathroom sink was plugged up.i was able to plunge the master sink free. no response from maintanence.kitchen dirty,desk staff where nice .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greattech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

amallen23
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

We traveled to South Padre Island in May of 2009 and stayed in unit 103 for 3 nights and had to move to unit 104 on the 4th night due to a change in booking on our part. When we arrived, the outside looked descent, although I know it is hard to keep exteriors looking pristine near a beach. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered our condo. It was large, looked clean and well furnished and exchanging linens was easy to do. We were told there were beach chair and umbrellas for us to use, and that was not the case. There were a few umbrellas and chairs put out as late a 10 am, but beware! If you use these you will owe a 3rd party a $20 rental fee. There is no signage and the info given to us was misleading. On another note, although the place seemed clean, we did find a roach in the drawer with our clothes - yuk!
When we moved to the unit next door, although it looked like it had more expensive decor, it smelled really bad. I felt like I was at my grandparents and was so ready to leave.
Overall it was not awful, and we have been renting condo units in Destin for years! It was good for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amallen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Ok
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Our visit to Suntide II in South Padre Island was relaxing and enjoyable. Aurora in the office was accommodating and knowledgeable.
We stayed in 103 on the ground floor. It was clean and looked like it had recently been redone. The lovely master bedroom had a new handicapped walk in shower. Each condo is individually owned, so there are differences. Unit 103 has easy access to the beach and pool and a great view. It has two bedrooms. All very comfortable!!
Next time we are going to stay in 301. This unit is larger and has 3 beautiful bedrooms with easy access to the beach and fantastic view as well.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoAndDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

As long as you plan to be outside more than inside on your vacation to South Padre, then Suntide II may be alright for you. However, you may want to bring your own linens, as ours were gritty and marginally clean. The entire condo, although reasonably well furnished and updated, was pretty dirty. Our boys would play around, sit on the floor, etc. and stand up covered with fuzz and other people's hair. Gross.

The kitchen had plenty of dishes and silverware, but if you want to do something as simple as cook a frozen pizza or some canned biscuits, you would be lucky to find a clean pan or baking sheet.

Also, the tub in the second bathroom did not hold water, so our little kids were sent to the master bathroom for their baths, which left all four of us sharing one bathroom every evening while cleaning up for dinner.

The location of the condo was great, the beach was nice, and it was very quiet and not at all crowded. However, because of the nasty conditions inside our unit, we will definitely not be back.

  • Liked — location, very quiet
  • Disliked — very, very dirty
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXgaviota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

My sister & I stayed here for our "sister vacation"> We are 60 & 62 yrs. old and like both activites and relaxation. Our condo was right on the beach witha beautiful ocean view. It had a covered patio. The patio furniture was uncomfortable. The pool was just a few steps away. It was clean & large, also with an ocean view. Adjacent to the pool area is a "tiki" deck with thatched roof tables and lounge chairs. Very nice. The furnishings in our condo was a bit outdated, but clean & comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The condo is centrally located and is close to restaurants and island attractions. We checked in at l:00 pm , a little early, with no problems. The service was okay. Stormy the mgr. could have been a little friendlier, but Ben the handyman made up for him. We enjoyed our 10-day stay here and are returning this Sept, 2008 for a 2-week stay.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank grammypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
1.7 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#14 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
3.9 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide II Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide II Resort Condominiums

Property: Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Address: 4400 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7316
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suntide II Resort Condominiums is perfect for a Family Vacation, or Couples Getaway. Relax on the pristine beaches, take a sandcastle lesson, kiteboard, go on a dolphin tour, or just kick back at our heated outdoor pool w/jacuzzi and separate sun deck. All Suntide II Resort Condominiums have a panoramic unobstructed view of South Padre's Beaches from a large private balcony where you can enjoy your morning cup of coffee while watching the amazing sunrises! Suntide II 2BD/2BA, 3BD/2BA, 3BD/3BA Condos are tastefully decorated with fully-stocked Kitchens w/Breakfast Bar, Dining area, Living Area and are 30 yds from the most beautiful beach, the South Padre Island Gulf Coast. Our on-site Office Staff is available to make certain you have the BEST Beach Vacation ever! We also offer On-site Daily Linen/Towel exchange. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suntide Ii Resort Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island
Suntide II Resort Condominiums South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing