We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
230
13
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
13
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house pedernales cellars texas hill country sunrise suite sun room the cottages lbj ranch lovely bed and breakfast carriage house tour of the property lavender suite sitting room johnson city sage cottage local wineries relaxing weekend fredericksburg area
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 268 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having been to Sonoma, The Texas Hill Country is getting close. Rose Hill is a class act and next to a winery.How convenient. Their wine pairing is spot on and the food plentiful and delicious. Thanks to all who made our stay most enjoyable.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karentcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, General Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for the lovely compliments! We are grateful every day to be in the beautiful
Texas Hill Country, which does have similarities to Sonoma California as you say. It was our
pleasure to have you as our guests and hope you will come see us again! Best wishes to you from Patti and Bob, and all the staff of Rose Hill Manor.


Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary at Rose Hill Manor in June and came back to celebrate my birthday in August. It is so peaceful and quiet here, and the view from our porch (we stayed in the Hilltop Cottage both times) was beautiful and serene. The cottage was cozy and immaculately clean, and included a coffee maker, fridge, plenty of towels, bathrobes, toiletries, etc. (in other words, everything you could need for a pleasant stay). Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, and we did the wine pairings, which worked perfectly with the meal. Everyone at Rose Hill Manor is friendly and helpful. This is our favorite place for a romantic getaway and we will definitely be back again.

Room tip: Try to stay in one of the private cottages - it's like a little home away from home.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAVAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you so much! It is such a compliment to us that you chose to spend two very special
recent occasions at Rose Hill Manor. We know how hard it can be to get away, and we are
so pleased that you enjoyed your visits! Thank you again for taking the time to write -- it means a a lot to us. We hope you will have the opportunity to come again soon. Til then, very best wishes
from Patti and Bob, and the staff of Rose Hill Manor.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Looking for peace and quiet? Here it is. With sweeping views of the hill country and lovely accomodations, Rose Hill delivers a unique experience. The staff is friendly and attentive. It all adds up to a memorable "get away."

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bloomingsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We truly appreciate your comments and are so happy you had the restful and memorable
getaway you describe! Very best wishes to you and many thanks from all of us at Rose Hill
Manor. We hope you'll come see us again!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith, Innkeeper
Adam Ehmer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Rose Hill. A wonderful setting, with amazing food and excellent staff. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. A different menu was prepared for us for one night and we had the wine pairings on both occasions......Adam, the sommelier, offered some amazing wines, he is an asset to the whole dining experience. Breakfast is very filling, but oh so good and after 3 courses lunch isn't really needed. Shopping in Fredericksburg is a must, parking is free and there is plenty of shade. Make time for wine tasting at the winery next door, especially as no driving is involved and allow time for cocktails on the porch before dinner, together with the humming birds, as this is the perfect start to the evening.
A weekend to remember.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Angela,

Its heart-warming to hear that we helped make your 30th Anniversary experience so memorable. I love the challenge of finding different wines to match up to Chef Joseph's splendid dishes, so of course I love to hear that dinner and wine pairings were a remarkable part of your stay. We hope to see you back here again for your 31st Anniversary... or for a random weekday getaway the next time you have the urge to relax in the Hill Country! Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Adam Ehmer
Sommelier/Innkeeper
Rose Hill Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I were given a one night stay as a wedding gift. We waited until our first anniversary to use the gift certificate. Our suite, Sunrise Suite, was so big, beautiful and comfortable. The staff had filtered water and glasses on the table waiting for us in our room along with a Happy Anniversary card. We arrived a couple of hours before dinner which is served at 7pm, we needed a snack and received a wonderful fruit and cheese plate in our room. After dressing for dinner, we had cocktails on the front porch and were taken into the dining room to be seated. The four course meal with wine parings was amazing. Our dessert came with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate! So special! The 3 course breakfast is absolutely over the top. We definitely plan to go there again next anniversary. The only downfall is the road leading up to the manor. it is a caliche road and very, very bumpy. If you plan to visit Rose Hill Manor, you would probably want to get most of your running around done before settling in for the evening. We hated going up and down that road.

Room tip: There are cabins, which have jacuzzis, and there are suites upstairs in the main building. I would definitely stay in the upstairs suites. The Sunrise suite and the Sunset suite share a private veranda. They are quiet, comfortable, great air conditioning, and the view is amazing.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron_and_Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

We are especially delighted to have been a part of your very special first anniversary!!! Thank you
so much for the wonderful descriptions of your stay as well. After heavy rains, the road up to Rose Hill does require attention each time and is done as soon as possible. (We were thrilled to have
just had a 5.7inch rain!) Some of our longtime guests have told us that even though it might
seem slow to get up the hill to us -- it's the beginning of the relaxation they had been looking
for and the view is a welcome reward -- and we surely hope so! Looking forward to seeing you
two next year for that second anniversary, and anytime in between if the opportunity arises. Very best wishes and many thanks from the owners and staff of Rose HIll Manor.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
and Adam Ehmer, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews