We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
230
13
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
13
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house pedernales cellars texas hill country sunrise suite sun room the cottages lbj ranch lovely bed and breakfast carriage house tour of the property lavender suite sitting room johnson city sage cottage local wineries relaxing weekend fredericksburg area
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 268 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018

A truly beautiful B&B. Excellent customer service. We arrived late, well after the small plates and wine were served. Everything was waiting for us when we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and the view from the porch is outstanding. Love the fact that you walk two minutes next door to Pedernales vineyard. Highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albrightdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHMInnkeeper, General Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review...Your kind words and support are greatly appreciated.

From the sounds of it, we exceeded all expectations and your stay was memorable.

Thanks again for the review and please know the door is always open for you.

Chris, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Stay here for quite a few years. Always welcoming, comfortable inn. Beautiful vista from decks outside cottages. Rolling lawn to distant views to north. Winery next door and grazing areage all around. Close to attractions but great place to relax

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Z2164EMrobertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHMInnkeeper, General Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you so much for your review....Myself and the staff really appreciate the kind words. Your review is spot-on and reflects the environment and atmosphere we attempt to create.

Until your next visit and thank you again.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Rose Hill Manor - we stayed two nights to enjoy shopping and eating in Fredericksburg. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, and a tour of the property. Don't let the "small plate" evening reception fool you - it's usually a lot of food. I wouldn't suggest making a dinner reservation right after, unless you don't plan on eating much (which is hard to do because the food is wonderful).

Breakfast was equally amazing, and they excellently catered to my gluten-free diet. Both days we left breakfast INCREDIBLY full and satisfied. You can also get breakfast delivered to your room for a small fee.

Our room was very spacious, with a large bathroom, living area and bedroom. It was very quiet and peaceful.

Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHMInnkeeper, General Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Kate,
Thank you for your review and kind words. I am so glad to hear you loved everything about your stay, including not only the quantity of food we serve, but the quality!

Know the door is always open for you and please hurry back!

Thanks again,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

My girlfriend and I spend a lot of time in the Fredericksburg area and have stayed at many B&Bs. Rose Hill is head and shoulders the creme of the crop. Its now our go-to place!

This the first time we've stayed at Rose Hill. It won't be the last.

Lets start with the staff. Christopher is an incredible host, really attentive, very personable, and he really is interested in everyone having a memorable stay. In fact, the weekend AFTER we stayed at Rose Hill we were at the winery next door and just decided to walk around the Rose HIll grounds (which are gorgeous). We say Christopher and he immediately came over and greeted us even though we weren't staying there that weekend. He's awesome.

The food. There are snacks (amazing iced tea, cookies, etc) available 24x7 but the breakfasts are divine. We stayed 2 nights - first morning was french toast and sausage, and it was incredible. Second morning was eggs benedict and ham which I really enjoyed even though I'm not an "egg person". Top notch.

The location. Its literally a few hundred yards to the Pedernales Winery. Can you say "convenient"? It also has an amazing view from the front porch as well as some of the cabins. Its a few miles off of 290 so you don't have the noise of some other places. Could be the most peaceful setting in the Hill Country.

The room(s). We stayed in the Green Suite in the main building. We also got the Library Loft for my girlfriend's daughter and husband. Both rooms were romantic, clean, spacious, and decorated perfectly. Our room (Green Suite) had a large sunroom with a beautiful view, a bathroom with two sinks (yay!) and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. PS be sure to us the robes, they are wonderful! The Library Loft was equally awesome and included a jacuzzi. Next time, on Christopher's recommendation, we are going to stay in the Sunset room which is in the main building and has a nice upstairs porch. We both enjoyed being in the main building - including some quite time with a glass of wine on the main porch around midnight.

The price. It isn't cheap, but compared to what the other places in Fredericksburg charge, its a bargain. You really get value for your money, and you will NOT regret it.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. Luckily we only live 90 minutes away so heading out there for a weekend is easy peasy for us - and when we do, this is where we will be staying!

Room tip: Green Suite is wonderful but I think you won't go wrong with ANY of the rooms.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 330cic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHMInnkeeper, General Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

WOW....what a review! Thank you so much, your comments are sincerely appreciated.

My staff and I strive to make each stay memorable, and from what I can tell - we accomplished our goal!

Your comment about price is spot-on, and I appreciate your candor. Agreed, we may not be the 'least expensive' lodging option in the area, but for what you get, the high level of service and the wonderful memories/experience - We feel staying at Rose Hill Manor is priceless.

Thank you again for the wonderful review and I'll keep the Sunset Suite available!

Chris
Innkeeper/Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

My husband and I had the privilege of staying at Rose Hill Manor in Stonewall near Fredericksburg, Texas during March 2018. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and the staff at Rose Hill Manor made our anniversary magical. It was peaceful, romantic, & very charming. The Manor is absolutely stunning. We stayed in the main house in the Sunrise Suite. This included a huge bedroom, private bathroom, enclosed sun room with a fridge and sink, as well as access to the gorgeous upstairs 65 foot long veranda. The view from the veranda was spectacular. The attention to detail is amazing as everything is spotless and the grounds are well manicured. We also had access to the dining area, bar, library, and outside porch seating. Inn Keepers Chris and Patty went above and beyond to accommodate our vegan diet. They specially made vegan muffins along with fresh fruit and even a vegan entrée for each breakfast. Breakfast entrees included potato, mushroom, spinach hash as well as avocado toast with asparagus and pesto. The venue also offers what they call “small plates” in the evening. They custom made us delicious small plates that included an Asian salad, hearts of palm salad, bruschetta, & couscous with mushrooms. They also included wine & desserts of dark chocolate dipped strawberries & caramelized bananas drizzled with dark chocolate & coconut. There is also a lovely winery called Pedernales Cellars that you can stroll to within 5 minutes on the adjacent property. One of the best highlights for us was being able to spend time with the Inn Keeper’s dogs Samantha and Buddy, as well as meet the resident pony and two gentle llamas. The entire experience was perfect.

Room tip: Rooms in the main manor like Sunrise Suite and Sunset Suite offer a fantastic upstairs veranda for relaxing.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UnknownHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHMInnkeeper, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear Unknown,
WOW! Thank you so much for the wonderful (and detailed) review. Your words/comments are greatly appreciated.
All of us here at Rose Hill Manor, strive to make each and every guests stay memorable and sometimes that means going 'a little above and beyond' to accommodate our guests needs. I am so glad to hear you not only appreciated, but enjoyed your vegan options. I am also so happy to read you noticed our attention to details, spotless cleanliness and well manicured grounds.
I look forward to hosting you again, and remember to bring the Corvette next time!

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Rose Hill Manor.

Chris, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews