We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Becker Vineyards

Becker Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Stonewall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Texas Hill Country between Fredericksburg and Stonewall, Becker Vineyards was established in 1992 by Richard and Bunny Becker. We are open for wine tasting, tours, wine gift purchases and picnics. We also host many events throughout the year that we encourage you to attend.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We were touring the wine country and met a couple that recommended visiting Becker. I believe it was our server that may have damped the experience. He was serving various clients but at one point went into the back and poured himself a glass of wine (that he proceeded to drink). The wines were okay but not worth buying based on what he suggested. Overall kind of a let down.

Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Amanda,
We are sorry to hear one of our staff put a damper on your experience and that you did not enjoy the wines. When staff members have finished for the day, they are allowed have a glass of wine. We are sorry to hear they did not finish assisting guests visiting the winery. Thank you for letting us know there was an issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lavender fields"
in 28 reviews
"lavender products"
in 26 reviews
"tasting room"
in 69 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 98 reviews
"hill country"
in 45 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 13 reviews
"wine club"
in 26 reviews
"great wine"
in 24 reviews
"tasting tickets"
in 7 reviews
"free tour"
in 14 reviews
"grape stomp"
in 9 reviews
"crackers"
in 12 reviews
"my favorite"
in 12 reviews
"fredericksburg area"
in 12 reviews
"different wines"
in 16 reviews
"saturday afternoon"
in 9 reviews
"take home"
in 12 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 524 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by to check out the lavender fields that was fairly neat. We tried a wine tasting Wasent impressed with the tasting esp for the money.

Thank txpackerfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy the wine tasting. We charge $20 for 6 wine samples and includes the souvenir Riedel glass. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Six tastings here are $20.00. If you become a member they are free. Our favorite was the red, "Spring." They have a delightful gift store and nice grounds outside. I would suggest you pick up cheese and crackers, purchase a bottle of wine and sit outside and enjoy the property. During the week they are not that crowded. With a nice tip, you are sure to get a few extra pours!

1  Thank multimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the wines! The "Spring/Primavera" has been popular - one of Dr. Becker's favorites! Thank you for coming out to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We enjoyed a fun time here tasting wines without doing a tour. The cost is $20 for 6 tastings. There were three of us and we split two tastings since we were going on to tastings at other wineries that afternoon. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Cheese, meats and crackers/breads are available to purchase and snack on during your tasting. Lovely outdoor area to sit.

Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

We are glad you had a fun wine tasting! Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

This place is obviously set up for huge amounts of people, we asked and they said that they are three deep around the center tasting rum on the weekends and that busy times. But we went mid-week and there were only two to three couples at the bar at any one time. We like that we were able to choose their own wines, and we were able to share a flight for $20. The people that were serving us were friendly, not terribly informative about the wines. But once we started asking questions, they were extremely friendly and we found very helpful. The place itself is beautiful, to get outside and walk around a little bit.

Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds and the wines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Becker Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Becker Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing