We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catering to the masses requires more customer service”
Review of Becker Vineyards

Becker Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Stonewall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Texas Hill Country between Fredericksburg and Stonewall, Becker Vineyards was established in 1992 by Richard and Bunny Becker. We are open for wine tasting, tours, wine gift purchases and picnics. We also host many events throughout the year that we encourage you to attend.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Becker - This winery was crazy packed with cars and tour buses but smaller than I expected considering its presidential claim to fame. 2 of 10 F'burg winery reviews. The front of the building looked nice and to the left a small rustic 1890's homestead log cabin with scenic wind-vain and water tank. Walking thru the entrance, foyer to the main tasting room there were a large number of people lined up for wine tasting all around the one long bar. It isn't obvious to know what to do with so many people mulling around. We walked around until someone told us we're supposed to go to the front of the bar and get our 6 tickets(one ticket per wine) $20 for a tasting inc. wine glass, then find an opening anywhere around the bar and nudge our way in an open spot. From the ~25 different wines, we sampled 6 white and 6 red.

Plenty of different wines to taste and this winery did provide water to rinse glass, a wine waste bucket, and crackers. Also our server actually, for each tasting, swilled the glass with the new wine in the remnants of the old wine in the glass, poured that out and then poured the new wine in the same glass - a different way of removing the fragments of the previous wine from the glass - A+ simple but brilliant idea that i haven't seen any other winery do. As with the crowded & popular wineries, 'Becker' lacks customer service as they're shuffling herds of people thru and not focussing on selling/telling people about their wines.

Idea for Becker - other larger wineries actually have several bars to accommodate for large numbers of people and provide better sign-age for newcomers, or in the foyer have the front desk sell the tickets and then forward the people into the next room with the bar for the tasting.

1  Thank Tabzenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello! Thank you for sharing how to make improvements. We have added additional areas to sell tickets from as well as additional bars. And we have added more training for our staff. We appreciated the recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lavender fields"
in 28 reviews
"lavender products"
in 26 reviews
"tasting room"
in 69 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 98 reviews
"hill country"
in 45 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 13 reviews
"wine club"
in 26 reviews
"great wine"
in 24 reviews
"tasting tickets"
in 7 reviews
"free tour"
in 14 reviews
"grape stomp"
in 9 reviews
"crackers"
in 12 reviews
"my favorite"
in 12 reviews
"fredericksburg area"
in 12 reviews
"different wines"
in 16 reviews
"saturday afternoon"
in 9 reviews
"take home"
in 12 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 524 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I rode down on my motorcycle to the Hill Country for her birthday weekend celebration. On Saturday we went to visit Becker's Vineyard in Stonewall, TX. The inside tasting room got busy early but we bought some cheese and crackers then went outside on the Verandah. It was beautiful, there was an art class going on and we sat out in the sun and drank our wine. It was very relaxing and we enjoyed some excellent Texas wines. We're going to come back again with another couple to revisit soon.

Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

We are excited to hear you enjoyed your experience at our winery! Thank you for taking time to share your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

We must have picked the busiest Saturday of the year! There was a crowd, but we were still able to enjoy the wine tasting for $20, keep the glass, and get a free tour. Staff was very friendly. Music played on the patio and people spread over the lawn, patio, everywhere. The flowers in the back are beautiful.

Thank 546LiLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

We appreciate the positive feedback! Thank you for taking time to share!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018

Pretty nice vineyard. But, the wine is a little pricy. The grounds are beautiful, and a great spot for a kodak moment. That is about all I can say.

Thank txmmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for sharing feedback. We have some upcoming events we hope you'll join us for: Annual Chili Cook-off on July 4th as well as our Annual Grape Stomp Aug 25, 26, & Sept 1 & 2.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2018

The grounds and buildings were beautiful and interesting, but the place was packed and LOUD. Not relaxing at all. The tasting room was like a raging party. I don't know how anyone managed to actually discuss the wines they were tasting, they would have had to scream at each other.

There was zero direction for newcomers and no staff at the front desk/lobby area as we entered. We weren't sure where to go or who to talk to and there were no spaces at the counters or registers.

Overall we expected a special experience based on the reviews and we were excited because they allow dogs - but at least on the day we went there was a more commercialized, party atmosphere. We'll go elsewhere for a quiet tour & personal tasting.

Thank elephantastic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole B, Public Relations Manager at Becker Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience at Becker Vineyards. The weekend - especially Saturdays - are our busiest days with more guests visiting. In our Front Room we have a Concierge plus two Cashiers to help greet, answer questions, and ring up guests and then we have more staff in the Main Tasting Room and outside Verandah Bar to also help assist guests. If wanting to avoid the crowds, week days are quieter and not as busy. We are sorry you were disappointed but hope you will give us another opportunity. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Becker Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Becker Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing