We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed for three nights and have no complaints. We stayed here on vacation It's close to Moody Gardens in Galveston and Houston. The staff is friendly and helpful. I didn't have any problems with condensation and never used the vending machines but everything seemed to be in perfect working condition.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amarillotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSTexasCIty, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for your recent stay here at Best Western Plus Mainland Inn & Suite. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for uploading your photos. We know that a bad review may hinder a potential guest decision to stay with us and we appreciate you for giving us the opportunity. We strive hard to make sure that each and every guest is HAPPY! Thank you again!!
LaKeysha Williams, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    26
    25
    12
See reviews for
72
44
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very clean, quite and affordable. The rooms were awesome very clean and a mix of traditional and modern look. It felt like a home away from home. Would love to be back in the same hotel if i am again in the area. Liked the Staff as well very polite, neat,professional and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSTexasCIty, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at Best Western Plus Mainland Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and strive hard to make sure that everyone’s stay feels like a home away from home. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you.
LaKeysha Williams, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. The front desk ladies were so very helpful with every request that we needed (from extra blankets to shopping and restaurant referrals). The pool was excellent and our grandchildren had a ball! The breakfast included waffles and even biscuits and gravy one morning as well as fresh fruit and muffins, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

I'll start with some pros to be fair: 1) this is one of the few places in the area where you can get two queen size beds (as opposed to two doubles) in a room; and 2) you do get a microwave and a fridge, which is pretty good at this price point. It's pretty much downhill from there. There was an absolutely overpowering smell of cleaning chemicals. The rooms, carpet, and furniture were dark, the sheets were damp, the bathroom was dingy, and the back entrance (a heavily traveled area) was constantly wet , slick, and moldy due to dripping condensate. The walls and floors did not provide acceptable sound isolation. While it's not fair to say that this property is run down, it certainly is getting there. My wife insisted that we leave after one night. If you do decide to stay here (or at the neighboring Hampton or Fairfield Inn), it is only 15-20 minutes to Galveston. Note that there isn't terribly much in the area other than the Mall of the Mainland, which is half dead anyway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaiseCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Hubby and I stayed here while visiting someone in the hospital down the street. The hotel looks very nice on the outside and in lobby. The hotel staff was nice while checking in as well.

When we got up to our room, it was a little stuffy inside, and the air conditioner unit made a loud rattling noise the entire time. It was hard to hear anything over the rattling. There was very minimal furniture inside the room - including not having the clothes bench that is usually near the closet.

We went down for breakfast at 7:00 AM, and the food had already been picked over.

Basically, even though we were only there for a few hours to get some shut-eye, we would probably find another Best Western to stay in for next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonestarbassclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Texas City hotels

maybird82
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel was 15 minutes from Galveston (however to get anywhere on the Island it is more like 30). The rooms were very clean and spacious and the staff wonderful. The only problem I had was that the cleaning staff was in the hall at 8 making quite a bit of noise. It might not seem like to early but we were on vacation and wanted to sleep late! Other than that the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybird82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

I wish I had checked reviews on this motel before my stay, this has to be the worst motel in the best western chain. I can't find one positive review, and trust me I've looked for one. I can't think of one good thing besides decent location & Don't bother complaining, the only answer any one on staff will give you is "I'm sorry, theres nothing I can do" Our non smoking room, not only smelled of smoke but had a 3 inch cigarette burn on the carpet beside the bed, that gave me a serious allery/sinus infection. The carpet was ripped up off the floor, with rolls of carpet laying in the lobby. The computer was unavailable due to a virus from "children playing on it" which if anyone could have answered a question I would have ask, who allowed the children to play on it? They served the continental breakfast, coffee & danish, but never turned the lights on the "dining area" which is the back of the lobby. During our stay the motel was full of evacuees, so it was some what noisy, tvs playing loud all night. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is, travelers BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luhv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Texas City hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
7.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#7 of 12 in Texas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texas City
1.0 km away
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
#6 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
Address: 10620 Emmett F Lowry Expy, Texas City, TX 77591-2658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites!A romantic stroll on Kemah Boardwalk is just what you need to get a trip started right, and it’s easy from our Texas City hotel.If you’re here for Space Center Houston, you’re in luck because it’s minutes away from our Texas City hotel. From Moody Gardens to the world famous barbeque nearby, there’s something for everyone when they stay with us. Schlitterbahn is in the neighborhood, and southern hospitality flows freely. Our friendly staff members are committed to making sure your trip is comfortable and memorable.Easy I-45 access makes commuting from our Best Western Texas City hotel simple. We’re close to Tanger® Outlet Mall, and many people come to town just to get great deals on fashion. However, an outdoor pool is also a siren’s call few guests can resist. Relaxing poolside, working in a few laps or simply getting bronzed are also great ways to kick-start your vacation.Enjoy a free breakfast and free Wi-Fi at our Texas City hotel. Start the morning with endless sizzling hot waffles, your favorite breakfast pastries, fruits and cereal or yogurt. The most important meal of the day is on us, and it ends with bottomless 100% Arabica coffee and juices.The Motorcycle Biker Rally is a favorite local event, and we’re happy to host bikers at our Texas City hotel. Close to Galveston Beach, beach bumming is an activity you can partake in year-round. Whether you want to take a surf lesson or just swim in the warm turquoise waters, it’s all possible and close to our property. Coast Guard service men and women as well as employees of Mainland Medical Center prefer our property for the location, value and service.Reserve your next stay at BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites today and enjoy a fantastic rate! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Texas City Best Western
Best Western Texas City
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing