We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT OFF THE BEATEN PATH HIDEAWAY!”
Review of Shady Glade Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uncertain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Glade Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Uncertain B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2015

During a road trip last fall, my daughter and I marked UNCERTAIN, TEXAS on the map just because of the interesting name. Shady Glade was where we ended up and really pleased with the entire resort. The husband/wife owners were so accommodating and everything unrushed. Our cabin was very clean, except for the carpet, and we appreciated the frig and microwave. They even had a washer/dryer hut which we really needed as we'd been camping for several days. Walking around the area was fun. It was fall and the bayou was so beautiful. We saw a sign that said, UNCERTAIN...QUAINT DRINKING VILLAGE WITH A BIG FISHING PROBLEM. We learned the town got this name because back in the old days this was the end of the line for the barges that brought supplies and mail but it was uncertain if their orders, etc, would come because sometimes the barges couldn't go all the way and had to turn back. When we left, I forget to take my iPad cord....the owners kindly mailed it to me!

Room Tip: All cabins are good.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Shady Glade Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

While I wouldn't call this a resort, it is indeed a great fishing camp in a beautiful setting. We stayed in one of the small cabins. The beds are small but not uncomfortable. The A/C worked very well. Wish we had known they don't supply bar soap. At least they provided enough shampoo to use as a body wash and hand soap! The owners are very nice. We left early because it was too hot!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joyzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The room was clean with all the amenities that the website offered. We must have went at the wrong time of year though because the weather was 103-105, no breeze on the water, oh and the café next to our cabin was closed on Mondays & Tuesdays-which made us have to drive back to Marshal to find something to eat. We booked for 3 days but only stayed the minimum 2 days. The owners were very understanding of us not staying the 3rd. day. I will say however, after the first day on the water, I had seen all I wanted to see. I did get some great photos though. It was a place we had never been to or seen in the past. Now we have.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

As all the reviews mention, David, Sarah (owners) and the rest of the Shady Glade residents is the reason this place holds such memories for us. Not to mention the most beautiful scenery and fun fishing I have ever experienced. We were there for two months and cannot wait to return for even a longer stay. When we arrived, David helped us get the Dish TV going...have never known another site owner to offer such. No matter what we were doing there was someone to come and offer assistance. Truly treated like family!! We miss all of you!!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We wanted to stay on Caddo Lake so we could enjoy lots of fishing. Shady Glade provided the perfect access. The place wasn't brand new, but it was very clean, fully stocked for cooking, and very roomy. We relaxed in the comfy recliners in the evening after long days of fishing. It was great!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseBarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

The Smiths were friendly and helpful, and the room was comfy and clean. The perfect place I was looking for to spend three restful nights. The scenery was spectacular around the nearby lakes. Very good home style cooking in the cafe across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frugalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and the owners put on a potluck Thanksgiving Dinner which was a very nice touch. We stayed in Lakeview #2 and it has a "lake view". The cabins are very basic, no kitchen and two double beds. Double beds are very small for two people when you are used to a king, so we just pushed the two beds together. This is a great place to kick back and relax if you are a nature nut. There is plenty to do in the area, hiking, boating and antiquing etc. The resort is not a Hilton/Westin/Sheraton so if you are looking for that level of refinement go elsewhere. If you are looking for a quaint, friendly get away, come here. They do accept dogs, which is a huge bonus since we do not like leaving the pups at home. The dogs thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncertain
22.2 km away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
339 reviews
21.7 km away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
21.9 km away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Glade Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Glade Resort

Address: 449 Cypress Dr, Uncertain, TX 75661-2017
Region: United States > Texas > Uncertain
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Uncertain
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing