We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, frustrating water pressure and temp” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Waco University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Waco University
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Waco
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, frustrating water pressure and temp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Frankly, when in Waco I like to stay at the Hilton. That probably says something about me, but it's not that I'm a snob or need extreme luxuries; Waco is just dodgy when it comes to hotels, and I know the Hilton will be clean, comfortable and polite.

This La Quinta has seen better days, but given the limited options it's a good value and a great location. My recent stay (Feb '12) reminded me of a problem that I had experienced here before: extreme variations in pressure and temperature of the water. Your shower can turn scalding or freezing without warning. While this might be only an annoyance for someone mobile, I was placed in a ADA-fixtured room and I thought about the poor soul who might not be able to dodge the temperature changes so easily. Added to that, the very limited "free" breakfast (don't know the hours, but by the time I got there both mornings there was only coffee available), noisy environment (I-35 and all-night Denny's) and amateurish staff, I'll splurge on the Hilton from now on. The room was nice, with free wi-fi and decent linens and pillows, but I can get all that elsewhere without the liability of being scalded.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    87
    85
    47
    25
See reviews for
126
47
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
baytownbear
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We love staying here in Waco. It's an old motel type place with small rooms. The price is usually right and we like being on the edge of the Baylor campus. The breakfast is not great. We had connecting rooms, something you can't get in many places anymore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baytownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I chose this LaQuinta Inn because of its location on I35 and because it is pet friendly. I like the location because while close to I35, it is next to residential neighborhood. Denny's is right next door to the north. The Clay Pot Vietnamese restaurant is right next doorc to the south.

The entrance is inviting, reminiscent of a Spanish hacienda. The lobby is large, bright and very clean. The reception staff is friendly, helpful. The room is large, very clean, quiet and adequately supplied with traveler's essentials. This is an older facility, but a very good value. This is our second stay at this hotel. We will be staying here on our return trip.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Nice basic hotel easy to get to . we had 4 rooms checked in late and told desk clerk that we would be using another card upon check out. He said he would make a note this morning the girl had charged my card and was a little put out that she had to change it. This also happen last year when we stayed here. Other than that the rooms are clean and updated and the staff is friendly .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelers201168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a standard older LaQuinta Inn. It has been well maintained and is clean and quiet. Service was excellent with no problems with the reservation, check-in, the room, check-out or the public areas.

We made the reservation about 20 minutes before we arrived and they had the key and room ready.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainOzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This little motel is a great place to stay anytime you're in Waco on Baylor related business. I stayed for the football game against Iowa St. this year and was pleasantly surprised. My last stay was for orientation as an incomming freshman in 1996.

The room was nicely updated with new bed dressing, carpet etc. The flatscreen tv was very nice and the room was clean. I also like hotels of this caliber to have outside facing doors as opposed to interior halls. I have found that it makes the room less suceptible to late night noisy neighbors.

All in all I will be staying here again for gameday...unfortunately for my next trip they are booked.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside of the motel as it is the side closest to campus and farthest from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasjurisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a great hotel for people that have pets. They allow up to 2 pets per room as long as the pets are under 50 pounds and they don't charge extra. The hotel is very clean but dated. I would compare it to a motel 6 or 8. Our room had 2 full beds, TV, computer desk and the bathroom. The springs on the beds squeaked. The vanity area has hardwood floors and is fairly decent size so if you brought along a pet gate, you can leave your pets there. I believe the policy is you can leave your pets in the room if they are crated. I would think if your room is already cleaned up and the maid wasn't going to enter, you could possibly leave your pets in the vanity area gated up if they aren't huge barkers.

I think if you have rooms that face I-35 it can get noisy. Our room was on the backside but faced 9th street and it was a bit noisy. My dogs kept waking up because people were talking loudly while passing by. The hotel is right next to Baylor dorms and lots of food places off I-35.

Breakfast is from 6-9 on weekdays and 7-10 on weekends which was a bummer for us since we had to leave early in the morning. They had the waffle maker, toast, bananas, apples, broiled eggs, cereal, and various muffins and danishes. There was also fruit juice and coffee. They didn't offer any hot eggs or sausages but there was enough food.

Although dated, I gave this establishment a 4 start because of their pet policy, friendly hotel staff and good location. The staff was very accommodating and understanding.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street and freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climbinggirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waco hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
4.7 km away
Comfort Suites Waco North
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Near University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Courtyard Waco
Courtyard Waco
#11 of 30 in Waco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Waco
Residence Inn Waco
#8 of 30 in Waco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.7 km away
Hilton Waco
Hilton Waco
#7 of 30 in Waco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Waco University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Waco University

Property: La Quinta Inn Waco University
Address: 1110 S 9th St, Waco, TX 76706-2399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Waco University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Waco University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Waco
Waco La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing