We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Wichita Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wichita Star Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Wichita Falls
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I had such a wonderful stay at the Lexington. From the moment I checked in, I was greeted with the most friendly staff which continued through out my stay. The rooms were much bigger than most hotels I have stayed in and were very clean. The breakfast tasted as if I were eating at a restaurant....very good food. Lexington will be the only hotel i stay when returning to WF.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear TimM,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our hotel. Our staff work very hard to make sure each guest feels at home and I am glad to hear they exceeded your expectations! Next time you are in the area, call directly and we will have a complementary upgraded waiting for you!

In the spirit of hospitality,
Kaggan Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

This place was great. It was really clean besides the raggity old carpets. Breakfast was ok but I'd stay away from the cheese and salsa since they left it in the buffet area over night uncovered. I was impressed by the room size. Stayed four nights for 250$ the microwave and living area in the room came in handy since most of my time was spent in the hotel. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatzVid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you KatzVid for your review! I am very glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you made use of the microwave and refrigerator in the room. The carpets are in the processed of being updated, so I hope you will get to see them on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kaggan Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Lexington Suites is below average in most areas in my book for the following reasons:
*carpets looked old and worn in the hallways and lobby
*front desk was less than friendly. Not rude, but not friendly
*mold in the bathroom shower
*tiny soaps and shampoos were offered and 3 out of 4 of mine had already been opened with the seal broken
*therebwas a brown stain on one of our towels
*blow dryer and iron were broken
*beds and pillows were ok, not good not horrible
*free wi-fi was sloooow on my iPad and iPhone use
*loud unidentified noises all night
* breakfast was disappointing in selection and taste (baaaad coffee too)
*the fresh cookies were also all gone, which I have to admit bummed me out too...lol.
*decor looks really dated
*overall cheap feel, especially whee compared to other reasonably priced hotel chains.
While none of these issues were really cause to run from the place screaming, I would not return and certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to others. If ever staying in Witchita Falls again, I highly recommend the Holiday INN express.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AF123FunkyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkerx2, General Manager at Wichita Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Mr. Funkytown,

I am disappointed to hear that you had so many issues during your stay. I agree that the carpets need to be replaced and we are working towards making that happen. However the tile in the lobby is new and in good condition. The front Desk staff have been made aware of your review and have promised to make sure they NEVER leave a guest with this impression again. The tiny shampoos should not have been broken. If you would have notified the Front Desk we would have been happy to replace them for you, as well as your towel. I have had the Maintenance Engineer check every one of the Hair dryers and Irons. We have not had to replace any. The complementary breakfast and coffee are a special treat we provide to delight our guest. I am sorry that you do not feel it met your needs. Please call me at 940-692-7900 to discus some form of reimbursement.

Kaggan Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My only complaint is that the air didn't seem to work properly; it only blew lightly and wasn't very cold. The room was rather large and appeared as advertised.

Room Tip: There was construction in one building so you might want to make sure you get a room on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickyGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkerx2, General Manager at Wichita Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Alwayselegant,

I really dislike hearing that the air conditioning was not working properly. If you would have brought this to our attention, we would have moved you into a different room. No one wants to stay the night in a hot room. Please call me at 940-692-7900 next time you are in town. I would like another opportunity to gain your service.

Sincerely,
Kaggan Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here again - the common area carpets are very worn - really need to be replaced.

Had a week stay - unfortunately, the last 2 days - my room was skipped by the daily cleaning/maid service. They reduced my rate for those 2 days - but I would have preferred to have a clean room. I had reported this after the first day, yet...they skipped it again the next day as well.

Not sure I would stay again...probably better choices and more consistent customer service.

Room Tip: Make sure they clean your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samjax777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkerx2, General Manager at Wichita Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Mr. Samjax,

Please allow us another chance to prove that your stay was not normal of our Lexington. I am happy to hear that your housekeeping issues handled, however that does not make up for a dirty room. Please call me at 940- 692-7900.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,
Kaggan Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

No sleep! Can we get a refund? The manager and staff were nice and cordial. I usually don't complain but the noise was awful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkerx2, General Manager at Wichita Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

I am extremely sorry to hear that you had issues with your refrigerator during your stay. We have tracked down the room your where in and replaced the refrigerator!

Please give us another chance to gain your loyalty. I would like to offer you a 40 percent discount when you book directly through me. Again, I am extremely sorry your stay was not as nice as your hoped.

Sincerely,
Kaggan Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Called to confirm room booking and was politely told that it was ready and waiting

Arrived around 7pm and staff & families were having Christmas party - I walked in and said hello and said "I'd like to check in"

The front desk clerk literally jumped up and ran to the front desk, and checked me in - there was a cute small dog behind the desk.

I parked car and took bags up elevator - on way to room, same staff member had raced up the stairs to attend to some guests room - they are BIG on service here. She said "stairs are faster" - get the picture?

Value was good for money & breakfast was super duper - yes I love a good breakfast. No bacon or sausage tho - just biscuits and gravy - but it was super good. We also grabbed 3 english muffins for the road which the kitchen staff saw but did not comment on.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CndNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wichita Falls hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Suites
8.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Wichita Falls
349 reviews
2.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wichita Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wichita Falls
Days Inn & Suites Wichita Falls
#6 of 25 in Wichita Falls
514 reviews
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita Falls - MSU Area
0.8 km away
Homewood Suites Wichita Falls
Homewood Suites Wichita Falls
#1 of 25 in Wichita Falls
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wichita Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wichita Star Hotel

Address: 1917 Elmwood Ave N, Wichita Falls, TX 76308 (Formerly Mainstay Suites of Wichita Falls)
Region: United States > Texas > Wichita Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Wichita Falls
Price Range: $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wichita Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wichita Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Suites Of Wichita Falls Hotel Wichita Falls
Hawthorn Suites Wichita Falls
Wichita Falls Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing