We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic!

I've taken several of Jared's courses and they are all fantastic. I would highly recommend for... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Andrew S
Great Canyoneering experience.

I had an" awesome experience" with NWO. J. Hillhouse is a walking encyclopedia of information... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
mesascott4
,
Denver CO
Read all 116 reviews
  
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
115
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
115
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews advanced class canyoneering experience learn how training course practice skills skill level slot canyon excellent training feel confident meal plan learning how real world guided trip own pace rescue rappelling crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 116 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2022

Excellent basic canyoneering course. I had very limited experience and this is exactly what a "newbie" needs. The first classroom day makes sure that students have the background and basics. The second day on the wall allows for LOTS of hands-on practice with anchors/knots/blocks and basic rescue techniques of lowering and ascending. The final fun day in the canyon provides real world application of the skills we learned and practiced, as well as beautiful views and adventure to share with new friends.

Jared and his crew (Tammy and Lisa for our class) are knowledgeable and patient and entertaining - can't recommend this class enough. Looking forward to the advanced class after practicing my skills.

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank 950deidref
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 31, 2022

The three day class was a very solid progression. Day one was classroom, with a thorough explanation of equipment, anchors and canyoneering concepts. Day two was at a cliff face. We had lots of time to practice skills and become comfortable with setting anchors, rapelling, belaying, lowering and ascending. Day three pulled everything together, by running a nearby canyon.

Throughout the process, the instructors were great. They answered questions thoroughly. They gave students the ability to progress at their own pace and comfort level. They also were constantly vigilant for safety, while allowing students to do as much as they were ready for.

Highly recommended! Jared, Tammy, Lisa, Jeff and Hilary were all wonderful. Can't wait to get some more experience and take the Advanced Class.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank A287FOmichaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 29, 2022

A really awesome canyoneering course! North Wash Outfitters came recommended to me by some friends and I'm so glad I did it. I feel so much more comfortable with the skills and techniques I learned, the instructors are super knowledgeable and experienced. Great class, great experience, great people. I look forward to taking an advanced class when I'm ready 🤙

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank jeanloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 22, 2022

Yet another great course led by a very competent and experienced instructor...and very affordable. Anyone spending significant time in canyons, recreationally or as a guide, should consider taking this course.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank F1603FCmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 4, 2022

I have taken both the beginner and advanced class from Jared and his crew. Their knowledge and teaching methods are superior. They not only teach the techniques in a way that anyone can learn, but they are also patient and make sure you understand. Going through the trainings and the canyons with them you can tell that safety is definitely a value. I would recommend that anyone interested in canyoneering take these courses. There is a course for any skill level. Definitely worth the time. GREAT group of instructors and memories that will last a lifetime.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank K853FRprestonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews