We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A great experience in a beautiful spot.

We had a fantastic time with Jared. My wife and I did a full day trip through a tight and somewhat... read more

Reviewed June 10, 2024
Josh T
,
Herschberg Germany
Great class

Advanced class May 2024. Jared is a professional with a great sense of humor and patient teacher... read more

Reviewed June 10, 2024
Harrison S
Read all 125 reviews
  
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
124
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
124
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews advanced class canyoneering experience learn how training course practice skills skill level slot canyon excellent training feel confident meal plan learning how real world guided trip own pace rescue rappelling crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 125 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2024

We had a fantastic time with Jared. My wife and I did a full day trip through a tight and somewhat challenging canyon and Jared took good care of us the entire time. His instruction, time estimates and difficulty ratings were spot on. We never felt unsafe or rushed and it made for a fun and exciting day! We would definitely recommend North Wash Outfitters and are excited to go again.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthWashOutfitters, Owner at North Wash Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2024

Josh, it was super fun hiking with you guys through Leprechaun canyon. Thank you for choosing a trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2024

Advanced class May 2024. Jared is a professional with a great sense of humor and patient teacher. There's no substitute for hands on training. The other advanced courses I looked at were only 2 days, so you can't beat the value he offers.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Harrison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthWashOutfitters, Owner at North Wash Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2024

Harrison,
Thank you for the review and for participating in the course. It was a pleasure to watch you jump into learning the techniques and practicing them over and over wanting to understand and know them. Your enthusiasm was awesome and I look forward to following your Canyoneering journey for years to come as you use the techniques and knowledge you gained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2024

If you’re serious about learning the specialized skills necessary for canyoneering then this is the place for you. Jared is a great instructor with years of experience in canyoneering and teaching how to do it correctly and safely.
In his basic class I learned robe work, rigging, anchor types and quality, basic equipment and proper use, the Techinical Canyon Rating System, rappelling, ascending, basic rescue techniques, problem solving for canyoneering, teamwork. I completed the course with a solid framework from which I could build upon in my canyoneering future.
Jared and his crew were very patient, friendly, and knowledgeable. They kept a watchful eye on us students to ensure we did things correctly and safely. I really appreciated the attention that the staff bestowed upon us.
I strongly recommend this company.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Sonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthWashOutfitters, Owner at North Wash Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2024

Sonny, Your a superstar and you did not hesitate to jump in and learn and that's what a great student is. It takes great student in order for there to be great instructors. You were fantastic and enthusiastic and we enjoyed having you there asking questions and sincerely wanting to learn. We look forward to our future adventures with you (as I know you have already booked more). See you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2024

Have you ever made a mistake setting up your ropes in a canyon? Have you ever come across another group in trouble? Have you ever wondered how you would get out of a bad situation? This course teaches you how to mitigate mistakes and rescue yourself and others in the backcountry. This is a must if you are serious about canyoneering. Jared and his team have extensive knowledge and experience teaching canyoneering techniques, from basic to advanced to rescue. They’re also a lot of fun to hang out with. This course is all hands on, in the field, with lots of scenarios and opportunities to practice. You will leave feeling confident in your newly learned abilities to build rope haul systems, piggy backs, lowering systems, pick offs, and problem solving with the gear you have. I highly recommend North Wash Outfitters for their knowledge, passion, and ability to teach these crucial skills.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthWashOutfitters, Owner at North Wash Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2024

Chris you were simply awesome jumping in and working the scenarios and challenges. Trying different techniques and working through the problems coming up with solutions. It was fun watching the "Ah Ha" moments and seeing the techniques taught come to life and work for the scenarios. I look forward to keeping in touch with you in the future and watching you progress in the sport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2024

North Wash Outfitters provided a five-star adventure through the West Fork of Blarney Canyon that exceeded all expectations. From the moment we booked, Jared and Matt's professionalism and passion for canyoneering were evident. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable about the canyon and prioritized our safety. This was a refresher for our group who had taken the North Wash Intro course last year (which was amazing). It was exactly what we need to feel safe and confident to strike our on our own the next day.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthWashOutfitters, Owner at North Wash Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2024

Tom, you guys were amazing and a blast to have back in the canyons with. It was fun and exciting watching you conquer a few fears and be able to push yourself through some of those uneasy spots. Everyone has different comfort levels and it was awesome to see you stretch yours out and have an amazing day. It's awesome to hear that you guys did fantastic the next day after being with us and doing the training. I look forward to seeing you back again for the Advanced course. Keep on thriving man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews