We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent option”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at this motel while visiting Bryce Canyon. It is located about 10-15 minutes from Bryce, in a quiet town with scenic views. The rooms are (very) large and (very) clean, with large windows overviewing the surrounding mountains and fields. The beds are large and comfortable. The staff is friendly, the service is excellent, and the price was the lowest we could find. We highly recommend it for families, couples, and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    235
    87
    10
    5
See reviews for
145
264
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This motel is definitely not luxury accomodation, but it's a decent option if the places right outside of Bryce Canyon are booked. Cannonville is about 15-20 minutes away and is very small - this place is pretty much the only business there. Which means it's quiet, but also means you have to drive to nearby Tropic for restaurants. Luckily there's a (sparsely-stocked) market and gas station on site. The room itself was huge and clean though pretty old. The staff were very friendly. Free breakfast consisted of toast, coffee and sodas. The wifi didn't work in our room but was fine in the breakfast area. The price was a little higher than I'd expect for this kind of room, but less than places near the park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klipzlskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here while visiting Bryce Canyon. The rooms are spacious, quiet and clean. The price was about half the cost of staying right outside Bryce Canyon NP in one of the chain hotels. It was a short ride to Bryce Canyon along scenic Route 12 so worth it. The hotel is family run and not a chain so it is missing some things found in a traditional chain. Missing items (if you care): iron and ironing board, hair dryer, chest of drawers to put clothes in, coffee maker and elevator. It does have good internet wireless and refridge for your own sodas. Breakfast wasn't as extensive as some of the other free breakfasts offered at the chain restaurants. The owners run a small store and gas station attached to the property. The Grand Escalante Staircase National Monument visitor center is within walking distance to the hotel. Go over and get a list of hikes to do in this little visited national monument.

Suggestion to owners: add hook on back of bathroom door, add towel racks in bathroom and near sink for hand towels, add built in hairdryer. Add additional luggage rack or bureau.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambier, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The place is very very basic and the room we were shown was dingy, the hall way depressing. A one night only place unless you don't care about ambiance. None. No closet. Room was an adequate size but there was no furniture other than the beds and a nightstand. The manager refunded our deposit and was understanding. We went elsewhere and found a very small motel room that was somewhat cheerier. It is very close to Kodachrome State Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosepatch63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here after spending a day at Bryce Canyon. The rooms are huge and clean. It looks like the whole hotel has been recently renovated. It was very quiet, which made for good sleeping. Breakfast is toast and a drink from the store below the hotel. The owners were very friendly and helpful. While it is a few miles from Bryce Canyon (and Tropic, where the only restaurants in the area are located), it certainly wasn't a bad drive. I don't expect to get anywhere in the city in less than 20 minutes, which was about how long the drive was from Bryce Canyon to Cannonville. It was about 10 minutes from Tropic to Cannonville. One warning though, the police in the area aren't very friendly to non-locals, so make sure you obey the speed limit. Someone in the hotel was complaining about getting a ticket for 42 in a 40mph zone.

Room Tip: The third floor is quiet and has great views. Just be aware there is no elevator, so you'll hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdafjkdajfldsajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were very happy with our stay at Grand Staircase Inn. It's convenient to Bryce Canyon but
nicely away from the many groups and tourists who visit the beautiful Park.
Our room was HUGE, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The owners of the hotel are hospitable, hardworking folk who also run the little grocery store under the hotel. We had a decent cup of coffee and a simple breakfast before beginning our day. Thank you Trip Advisor for helping us find this place, we would certainly stay there again next time we
visit that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tekkyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Booked this based on what I read on Tripadvisor. We needed a room for the night before heading up to Yellowstone from Bryce. It was a little further from Bryce (about 15-20 minutes) than I expected and my passengers were complaining but we eventually got there. It's a pretty basic hotel in a very small town. Very big, clean room. We drove to Tropic for some pizza and then came back and walked around town. The people we encountered was very friendly and waved as they drove by. Down the road from the hotel there is a National Park visitor center that was closed at the time but which had a few outdoor displays and hummingbird feeders with lots of hummingbirds. There's a small playground that the kids enjoyed a little that's further down the street. Had a very quiet sleep and saw very few cars driving by in the morning. Free coffee and toast in the morning in a seating area in their store. We bought two breakfast sandwiches for about $3 as well as snacks for the drive to Yellowstone. They also have a couple of gas pumps if you need to fill your tank. The drive back towards Bryce in the morning was very scenic. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicRoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
14.8 km away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,618 reviews
14.7 km away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
6.5 km away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
7.6 km away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
35.8 km away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing