We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying with your aunt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flaming Gorge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dutch John
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like staying with your aunt”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed in the condo area of the resort for a couple nights during a fly fishing trip on the Green River. The condos have one small bedroom (two beds), bathroom, living room with a love seat and hide-a-bed sofa, TV, kitchen, and a dining area with table. While the resort is very conveniently located for recreation activities around Flaming Gorge, it wasn't exactly a stay at the Marriott. It reminded me of staying with your grandma or aunt who is not particularly well-off -- the beds were old and kinda lumpy, the carpet was worn down, and all the furniture and other appointments could use replacement. However, we were out on the river all day anyway, and I was so tired at the end of the day I would have slept soundly in the bathtub. These are definitely no-frills accommodations, and not inexpensive -- we defrayed the room cost by getting a roll-away bed and cramming four guys in there.

Room Tip: No elevators -- might want to ask for a ground-floor room if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaddvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    34
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed a weekend on one bedroom with full kitchen and living room. If you want to have an idea what it looks like, a good comparison is an old apartment for just married college students near by an university.
Pros: It was convenient to have a full kitchen. Price was reasonable.
Cons: Definitely needs urgent repairs and remodeling. The bath tub was clogged and they did not take care while we were there. The front desk is not helpful. I read in the reviews here before and it is true. My good guess is that the people who works there are seasonal employers who does not know the area. A good training of the place would help.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room 205. Just in case they did not fix the bathtub yet... ask for a different room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanteDeViagens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dutch John hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We drove to Dutch John from Denver. What a delightful place to stay. On Saturday we took a 6 hour long fishing trip on the Green River. The Gorge is spectacular and the guide, Spencer, was really so helpful and good at finding the holes with the fish. My husband is the fisherman and he was thrilled with his catch (and release). Dinner both nights at the Resort Restaurant. They have a superb cook. The second night I had Copper River Salmon. Since we are from Alaska originally, that was a treat. The menu says "Friends staying with friends," and it is so true. Five stars for the Flaming Gorge Resort.

Room Tip: Any room is good -- all clean and comfortable
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pammath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Went on fly fishing trip with friends and stayed at Flaming Gorge Resort. I missed the first night of my reservation due to lost baggage. I had to stay in Salt Lake City and forgot to call. Donna actually called my home to see if everything was OK and did not charge me for the night! The suites are basic but clean and everything worked. Great heaters as it was 25 outside and we were comfortable. Food was very good and staff was warm and seemed happy to serve us.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robertrietkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Flaming Gorge Lodge is a great no-frills place. The room was clean, and the service excellent. You just have to be aware when you book here, that you are 40 miles from most corporate accommodations and it's a seasonal place, so the prices are little high for a very basic room. The buildings are fairly old. Most people are only there to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OgdenWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked Flaming Gorge Lodge off a website while still in New Zealand and for some reason we thought we were coming to a resort. When we arrived it felt more like a motel complex on the edge of a trailer park. We booked a studio unit which slept 6 but only had 1 bedroom with a queen bed and a single bed. It did have a sofa sleeper and a single pull out bed in the lounge. Our children are very young so when they go to bed we like to relax in the lounge so it wasn't really suitable having just the 1 bedroom however it was adequate for 1 night. The onsite restaurant is very good and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippersNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2010

It was our first time to Flaming Gorge Resort and we had a fabulous time. It is spring there and the grass is turning green and we were able to see a lot of wildlife. In fact there were deer just outside our window. We stayed in a Suite and it was nice and clean. The food at the restaurant was to die for and every time into the flyshop they were happy to help us. The only advice I can give is pack clothing for all type of weather. The first day we stayed was really warm and then it was much cooler the second day. We are excited to go back and we hope to go this summer so we can rent one of their rafts and float the Green River.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maytracy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flaming Gorge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaming Gorge Resort

Property: Flaming Gorge Resort
Address: 1100 E Flaming Gorge Resort, Dutch John, UT 84023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Dutch John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dutch John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flaming Gorge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flaming Gorge Resort offers the best options for Lodging and Accommodations around Flaming Gorge Reservoir, Green River Fly Fishing, Fly Fishing Guides, River Rafting and many more amazing activities in the local area surrounding Dutch John, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flaming Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flaming Gorge Hotel Dutch John
Flaming Gorge Lodge
Flaming Gorge Resort Utah/Dutch John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing