We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Almost unreal.”
Review of Slot Canyons Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Slot Canyons Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on a guided hiking trip.

A real home away from home. It was purpose built as a small inn. Joette is a vary warm and gracious host.

Fantastic location between Zion park and Escalante. 160 acres of ranch land with cattle. Great views.

Comfy lounge with reading material.Lots of balcony apace to chill out.Large rooms with nice bathrooms.

Coffee, toast yoghourt and cereals available from 7, hot breakfast served at 8.

They also serve dinner. The pizza is recommended.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2015

The room (Calf Creek) was pretty large room and the bed was very comfortable! There was an outside entrance which was nice when we came back late. The deck overlooks the field with horses, cows and sheep. The breakfasts were amazing! Plenty of very tasty food and Joette Marie was so nice to have a vegetarian hot meal for me. She also made something glutten free for my husband even though we had not told her about his preference ahead of time.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The rooms were beautiful and extremely comfortable. The guests were so friendly, it was like staying with family. The hostess, Jo, cooks up a wonderful breakfast daily. The inn was convenient to both the Escalante attractions and to Bryce Canyon. Would stay there again in a heart beat and recommend it to everyone looking for a unique, special, beautiful little B&B.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful but some guests discover favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

The Inn sits in a dramatic setting with big sky above. Service is warm and gracious and the room we stayed in was large and nicely appointed (I think the pictures on the website do not do the rooms justice - they're much nicer in reality)! The Inn has really welcoming areas to sit and read and the interior spaces are bright, sunny and immaculate. Breakfast was hearty AND healthy. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank biku-ilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Slot Canyons Inn is in a remote location about 4 miles from the town of Escalante. Let me start with the positive, this is a well designed bed & breakfast with quality furnishings. It appears as a high-end Bed & Breakfast as is reflected in the price of US$ 187 per night but does not not deliver on a number of aspects. First, as this is in a remote location their website states there is an on-site restaurant though when we arrived we were advised that it was closed down until May. Second, a very poor breakfast selection considering the price per night and no service which ended up with a pile of lukewarm wraps one morning with a sad selection of fresh fruit. A minor detail, but no kettle for tea drinkers. Considering the remoteness of the location, there was very little information on the area. The library of DVD and VHS was sparse considering that the TV did not work in our room either.

In a nutshell, Slot Canyons is steeply overpriced and needs some considerable upgrade in their deliverables to justify the nightly rate. If the restaurant is closed for the season, the advertising of an on-site restaurant should be removed from the website or a discount of the nightly rate to guests should be provided considering the remoteness of the location.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 2013Leslie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We spent one night here while touring the Utah National Parks. Located south of the town of Escalante, this inn provided a quiet haven away from the tourist busses and more crowded park areas. We were greeted by host Joette. She is very friendly and informative, yet low-key and unintrusive. She showed us around the inn and helped us with our bags. Our room was upstairs and quite super clean, spacious and comfortable. The decor was unique and modern and reflected the area's geology and history. We had a super comfortable memory foam bed and we enjoyed the in-room jacuzzi. Also enjoyed the view from the deck we shared with the room next door. We took a drive a ways up the dirt road by the inn and discovered a beaver lodge, and then sighted an interesting paper wasp next hanging from a tree. Also took a walk up to the "dig" area where a university team discovered the oldest evidence of life in the entire Colorado Plateau, and saw the rock art left by Native Americans and pioneers. Joette's family history in the area is quite interesting as well. Breakfast was a varied buffet with something for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

My extended family of 9 stayed in three rooms at the Slot Canyons Inn. The place was wonderful!!! The innkeeper, Joette was an absolute doll. She was extemely accomodating... We had to be on a tour early in the morning and she got up early to make certain we had a hardy breakfast before we went on our way!! The food was quite tasty and she even went out of her way to accommodate our two relatives with celiac's disease. The property was quite peaceful and fun to explore as well. Loved the animals and my son especially loved the cats that followed him all around the property. We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone!!!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Valparker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
8.1 km away
Canyon Country Lodge
Canyon Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Escalante
12 reviews
39.7 km away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
567 reviews
7.3 km away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
6.7 km away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
8.1 km away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slot Canyons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slot Canyons Inn

Address: 3680 W State Highway 12, Escalante, UT 84726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Slot Canyons Hotel Escalante
Slot Canyons Inn Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing