We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

There is not much to choose from in Hanksville. But we had a very good stay at the Whispering Sands Motel. The room (cabin) was clean, convenient and quiet. We were even given a coupon for having a basic continental breakfast at Stan’s next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Bed was hard, pillows harder. No shower pressure, had to stand directly under shower head just to get wet. Heater was extremely loud. What was worse was that the door key only worked 1/4 of the time. It had to be jimmied to work. I do not recommend this motel and will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paysonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Not many choices in Hanksville- but the Whispering Sands Motel is a clean and conveniently located motel. Good for stopping enroute to or from Capitol Reef National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squintykoreantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I made a reservation there because the location was perfect on our itinary from scenic 95 to Goblin State Park and Capitol Reef National Park. I wasn't expecting much. But what a nice surprise we had. The motel looks good, the room was very nice and very clean. It was quiet. The price was good also. The free continental breakfast is taken in the restaurant next door. A very complete continental breakfast (much better than many other breakfast we had in other motels, even chain motels). The only thing to complain, we weren't greeted with a smile at our arrival, it was plain and serious... maybe the lady had a bad day, that happens.
NB: If you plan to visit Capitol Reef from east going west, do not stay in Torrey, stay around Hanksville, you will enter Capitol Reef from a nice perspective and won't have to go back again on the same route you came from.

Room Tip: Ask to be on first floor to save yourself the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This motel really surprised us.
Many people come to Hanksville to hike, so we expected the room do be a little dirty from the dirty hikers (like us). Our room was spotless and the carpet felt brand new on our bare feet.
The beds are comfy and the A/C works great. The rooms even smell good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsoezgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were able to get a room here in Hanksville after exploring 3 nearby national parks all day long. The room rate was very reasonable, the hotel was quiet despite being full. The room had a microwave and refrigerator and wi-fi was easy to connect. Very clean, really nice towels and a lot of them! We went next door to Tony's for a quick dinner, show your room key and get 10 percent off. We plan to stay again this winter when we backcountry ski the nearby Henry Mountains. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divecozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed one night and had repaided for the room. The furnishings were up to date and well done. You could tell the owner looked after the rooms. You receive free "continential" breakfast at the Stan's burger place just down the road. It was a great cold breakfast with juices, coffee/hot water for tea, cereals, toast/muffins/danishes. You also could use your room key to get a 10% discount on other meals at Stans.

Rememeber to arrive after 3 pm to get checked into your room as I arrived just before 3 and the office had a sign that it opned at 3pm and the door was locked until then.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range: $89 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing