We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whispering Sands Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hanksville Inn(Hanksville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noor Hotel(Torrey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
172
192
54
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
192
54
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoblin valleysmall townlake powellcapitol reefburger placecontinental breakfastcabin roomsgas stationstan's burger shackan oasis in the desertconvenience storeremote locationplace to stayovernight stopworked finemicrowave and refrigeratorcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Long story short. A trustworthy and helpful host. Large and clean rooms. Clean and well maintained. Nothing to complain about. Opened for business even though there are only two rooms occupied. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

There is not much to choose from in Hanksville. But we had a very good stay at the Whispering Sands Motel. The room (cabin) was clean, convenient and quiet. We were even given a coupon for having a basic continental breakfast at Stan’s next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Bed was hard, pillows harder. No shower pressure, had to stand directly under shower head just to get wet. Heater was extremely loud. What was worse was that the door key only worked 1/4 of the time. It had to be jimmied to work. I do not recommend this motel and will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paysonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Not many choices in Hanksville- but the Whispering Sands Motel is a clean and conveniently located motel. Good for stopping enroute to or from Capitol Reef National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squintykoreantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I made a reservation there because the location was perfect on our itinary from scenic 95 to Goblin State Park and Capitol Reef National Park. I wasn't expecting much. But what a nice surprise we had. The motel looks good, the room was very nice and very clean. It was quiet. The price was good also. The free continental breakfast is taken in the restaurant next door. A very complete continental breakfast (much better than many other breakfast we had in other motels, even chain motels). The only thing to complain, we weren't greeted with a smile at our arrival, it was plain and serious... maybe the lady had a bad day, that happens.
NB: If you plan to visit Capitol Reef from east going west, do not stay in Torrey, stay around Hanksville, you will enter Capitol Reef from a nice perspective and won't have to go back again on the same route you came from.

Room Tip: Ask to be on first floor to save yourself the stairs...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews