We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whispering Sands Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noor Hotel(Torrey)
US$118
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
RodewayInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rim Rock Inn(Torrey)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanksville Inn(Hanksville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
174
196
54
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
196
54
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoblin valleysmall townlake powellcapitol reefburger placecontinental breakfastcabin roomsgas stationstan's burger shackan oasis in the desertconvenience storeremote locationplace to stayovernight stopworked finemicrowave and refrigeratorcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 439 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We came across this motel by chance, it was an excellent find, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanpan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Rooms were clean and the property was nice. The service was lacking. When we checked in at the desk, the staff was not very friendly or welcoming. They offer a free continental breakfast at the restaurant next door...which is located in a gas station, need I say more. There is nothing to do in Hanksville and it is not very scenic. Drive the extra half hour to stay in Torrey, UT where the people are friendlier, the accommodations nicer, and the views stunning. I would not stay here again as the unfriendly service turned me off right away.

Room Tip: The cabins are better than the motel rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 012512Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Long story short. A trustworthy and helpful host. Large and clean rooms. Clean and well maintained. Nothing to complain about. Opened for business even though there are only two rooms occupied. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

There is not much to choose from in Hanksville. But we had a very good stay at the Whispering Sands Motel. The room (cabin) was clean, convenient and quiet. We were even given a coupon for having a basic continental breakfast at Stan’s next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Bed was hard, pillows harder. No shower pressure, had to stand directly under shower head just to get wet. Heater was extremely loud. What was worse was that the door key only worked 1/4 of the time. It had to be jimmied to work. I do not recommend this motel and will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paysonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews