We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011. Wow! What a great experience. We were on the top floor which are the stargazer rooms. We saw SOOO many stars at night. We would sit on our balcony every evening just to gaze at the stars and enjoy the darkness. We even slept with the balcony door open. It's wonderful too as you can just set up your tripod and take pictures at sunrise right in your room. Breakfast was OK in the dining room of the hotel and dinner was pretty good too. We'd definitely stay there again. It's a great base to visit other sites too. Unfortunately, you don't want to leave your room. There are also a couple of trails that you can hike from the hotel. The best one goes into the valley.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,116
    1,655
    407
    109
    35
See reviews for
1,534
2,784
129
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I never imagined we could experience such an in-house view of one of our National Parks at an affordable price and wonderful accommodations. We felt like we were in Heaven!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quackerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the View in October 2010 and had an experience of a lifetime. Our view was sensational from our room and we cherish the photos of dawn and dusk that we took from our balcony. This was a great way to find out more about Navajo culture and we had a wonderful Navajo guide who took us out for the day. The money we spent both on our tour and at the hotel was worth every penny and seeing all the Navajo people employed at this hotel was also another very positive aspect about staying there and immersing ourselves in this wonderful place and its people.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks over the buttes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had the calmest, quietest, most peaceful couple of days here. Monument Valley is one of the most unique places on earth (and we have seen and been to a lot of places) but there is a specialness to Monument Valley that is unparalleled. The View Hotel matches the location perfectly. Just sitting on your porch at sunset or at night takes you away from everything. Our view of The Mittens was terrific, with light and color changes at different times of the day or night. The stars, don't get me started.

The Hotel staff is great. It's the perfect location to access private Jeep Tours. The restaurant was fair-good but we did not mind. We were very happy campers here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel was new, clean and quiet. The staff was very accomodating. If you want an amazing memory, arise before sunrise and watch the sun come up over the the valley. It was spectacular! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the monuments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennsylvaniatravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Best choice to see and experience Monument Valley as well as a great hotel/staffs.

Try to drive here in something with a higher clearance than a normal car so you can drive around the Valley on the dirt road during the day at your own pace/stops without a guide or risk to your car with the bumps and ruts. Some persons were using an ordinary car but not recommended if you have any other option, but don't miss this part of the experience and go with a guide or drive it anyway...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illinois-Yokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here back in April 2011 on a 4 week trip around the American Southwest, and it was probably one of the highlights of our trip, enjoying both dinner in the restaurant watching the sunset light up the mittens, then seeing the sun rise behind them sitting on the balcony with my wife and two young kids the next day - priceless.
If you're going through Monument Valley, make sure you stay at least one night here. Unforgettable.

Room Tip: All rooms face Monument Valley, but if you're into photography, ask for a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument Valley
8.6 km away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
31.1 km away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
32.9 km away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 km away
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Hampton Inn Kayenta
#1 of 4 in Kayenta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
0.0 km away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: Indian Route 42 East, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is the only hotel inside the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Every guestroom has a private balcony with a view of the iconic formations of Monument Valley - so close that you feel like you can reach out and touch The Mittens! Guestrooms feature flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerator, microwave, and wireless Internet. Enjoy the panorama of Monument Valley while dining in The View restaurant with views to the rising sun and the sunset as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Hotel Monument Valley
The View Hotel Monument Valley, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing