We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of units not updated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver King Hotel
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beware of units not updated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

When we reserved our unit at the Silver King 6 weeks in advance, we asked for an upgraded unit and were told that they would do their best, but no guarantees. When we checked in on March 3, we were shocked that they would even rent a unit in the condition of our non-upgraded unit. The initial appearance of unit 411 was depressing, but when one of our group got in the shower, the shower door fell off- there was no track at the bottom. This happened repeatedly when we tried to put the door back. There was mold around the top of the shower in the other bathroom. Many of the electrical outlets didn't work. The TVs were vintage models with fuzzy pictures to match. The list goes on, but suffice it to say, the experience was miserable. After complaining, they offered to move us to another facility they operate with no change in price. The proposed facility was further from the slopes, did not have a fitness center, indoor pool or courtesy van. I checked rental prices and it normally rents for about $150 less per night. They ulitmately put us in two efficiencies (now we didn't have a living room, so our group sat around with part of us sitting on the bed), which had been upgraded. We lost the better of one day of our vacation dealing with the change. What is most frustrating is that it was clear from the comments of the staff that they regularly get complaints about the unit we were in and continued to rent it. I asked (repeatedly) to speak to a manager, but he has still not contacted me and we left over a week ago. Unless they are renting you a guaranteed updated unit, do NOT stay here. You will feel ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHVManager, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
I am so sorry that your experience was not what we expect at Silver King. Each of our units is individually owned and furnished according to the owner's preferences. The owner of this particular unit has made a commitment to upgrade their unit.

I'm very sorry that I did not receive the message to contact this guest sooner. We have already spoken on the phone this morning and a refund for the inconveniences experienced has been processed.

Please know that guest satisfaction is our #1 goal at Silver King and something that we take very seriously. If any of our guests experience any situation that doesn't sit right with them they are welcome to speak with me so that we can resolve it. If I am not available please leave me a message and I would be more than happy to do what I can to accommodate you and your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    80
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
114
97
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Silver King Hotel partially because of the reviews on Tripadvisor! Always a great source.

We stayed in a studio in the front corner of the hotel. Unfortunately, it's right on the street and that was pretty noisy. I requested something different but was told they were "booked solid". Strange since we saw very few people! But that didn't really take away from what was inside. Very pretty unit, well maintained, comfortable. There really isn't anything I'd add to this unit to make it better! The washer/dryer is a wonderful perk!

We found the location ideal. The free bus stops right out front and we took it everywhere! No rental car was a great cost saver and it allowed us to have more fun. The Park City ski resort is right out back! How much fun is that?!

Room Tip: Be firm about wanting a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlee876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's well appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Third time to the Silver KIng Hotel in the past three years. Can't beat this lodging for value for the price, convenient location within a couple hundred yards of the Park City Mountain Resort base ski lifts,and friendly and helpful staff. The studio unit in this cozy little hotel came with a full kitchen, washer & dryer, and a fire place to warm up after a long day of hitting the slopes. Training gym, indoor / outdoor heated pool, sauna, and the best part, a heated whirlpool. Daily housekeeping service while you're out, and nice clean rooms. As an added benefit, the hotel has a shuttle service (free except for tipping) to the Main Street area and nearby grocery and liquor outlets, and they'll even pick you up if you call the hotel. If you want to take the free city bus, its right outside the entrance, sooooo convenient. Pack you skis or board, and the bus system will take you right to Deer Valley or the Canyons. Not a skier or snow boarder and wanna sight see or shop? The bus system will take you out to the shopping outlet and mall at the Junction too.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay again. Thanks to the "A" team Annette, Amanda, Anne, Randy the night guy, and Timmy the shuttle driver, and of course, housekeeping. We'll be back!

The Tamanahas from Hawaii

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianSkiGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
I'm happy to hear how much you thoroughly enjoyed staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Best place to stay in Park City - bar none! After experimenting with accommodations elsewhere in PC for a couple of years we landed at Silver King and now wouldn't consider going elsewhere. CONVENIENCE: how can you beat walking distance to the slopes with grocery and downtown PC shopping nearby? COMFORT: Just like home - only better (can you say Housekeeping?) - with fully-equipped kitchen complete with granite countertops (we never needed to pay for a meal out), big screen HDTV, two full baths, comfy beds for the whole family, a washer/dryer if you need it and a fireplace! HOSPITALITY: the front desk staff couldn't be more pleasant! AMENNITIES: Workout room with TV, Indoor/outdoor pool, and best of all - a very hot, hot tub for apres ski enjoyment. There are even some units with a private hot tub right in your room - we stayed in one last year. But this January we stayed in #404 and LOVED it.

Room Tip: 4th floor - access to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! I greatly appreciate it! I'm so glad you had such a great experience staying with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I arrived at @ 12 noon from JFK. We were looking to ski until checking time, Annette offered to see if our studio room was ready and it was! When we had a problem with our room being to close to the pool, she got us moved to a different room.NO HASSLES WHAT SO EVER! Wether it was lift tickets a shuttle ride or a good place to eat Annette and Anne gave us great service with a great attitude.My wife and I have been to many hotels etc. and never have we been treated so well! See ya next ski trip mcsrf5

Room Tip: Try to stay away from pool unless you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcsrf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
I'm so happy to hear how well you were taken care of and enjoyed staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you come and stay with again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our 5th year staying at the Silver King Hotel - BEST place in town! The hotel is conveniently located across the parking lot from the Park City ski lifts. Over the years, we have stayed in several different units (all of which are wonderful!). This year we stayed in Unit #404, it was a warm, spacious, and beautiful one bedroom with an additional bunk bed and pull out couch. The full kitchen was well equipped for cooking meals for my hungry skiers! After a long day of skiing, the pool and jacuzzi was a great way to relax our tired (burning) thigh muscles. The hotel staff was very friendly and provided great service. I also liked the underground parking to keep the car out of the weather. It is convenient to the grocery store and the Center of town.

Room Tip: Unit 404 is beautiful and well equipped, bunk bed was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest! That is so wonderful you have stayed with us so many times and continue to do so. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoy staying with us. Thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and really liked it. Our studio was quite spacious and the full kitchen was great for breakfast before hitting the slopes. It's just a short walk to the Park City Mountain Resort. Although Silver King is quite a long walk into town and its many restaurants and shops, the hotel shuttle made it easy to get there and back. Timmy, the driver was charming and informative. The town bus stops right at the hotel when the shuttle isn't available. The hotel decor is a little dated, but it was extremely clean and the maintenance staff was great. Our only complaint was that the lighting made reading difficult.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. My staff and I greatly appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 km away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.3 km away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.4 km away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#19 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#9 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 km away
Chateau Apres Lodge
Chateau Apres Lodge
#32 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 km away
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
#31 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Property: Silver King Hotel
Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas.

Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing